• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS reset when active XMP

Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
Hello, now in January I bought a new PC, but I have a problem, when raising the frequency or activating XMP, a few days later the BIOS is reset.
I did stress tests with AIDA and I had no problem. My memory is Samsung B-die.

I configured the timings manually and I also had the same problem.

The BIOS is updated to the latest version (2.90). I put the memories in slots A2-B2.

My setup:
AMD Ryzen 5 3600X | Asrock B450M Steel Legend | Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz | MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX | Corsair CX-430W | DeepCool Gammaxx GTE



can you help me?

Sorry for my poor English.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
are you aware that you run the ram at cl14 as to specs its a cl16 kit?
i dont think so because of the voltage used?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
are you aware that you run the ram at cl14 as to specs its a cl16 kit?
i dont think so because of the voltage used?
Yes, I was unable to go up with CL14, I used the same frequencies as XMP 16-18-18-38, but the problem of resetting the BIOS also happens.
Voltage 1.35.
(I didn't use the Dram Calculator frequencies, sorry, I updated the image.)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
did ya try with lower frequenzy at 2933mhz?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
did ya try with lower frequenzy at 2933mhz?
I did this yesterday, activated the XMP and lowered the frequency to 2933.
Now it's a few days to wait.
But I find that strange, because my memories are Samsung B-die and are theoretically good for OC.

Yesterday when I went to turn off the PC, it took about 2 minutes to turn it off, and when I went to turn it on again about 2 hours later the BIOS had been reset.

Is it a problem with my memories? or compatibility with the motherboard?

Very sad = /
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
you have b-die with the newer layout A2 thats more friendly to high mhz then tight timings
i think on your mainboard everything above 2933 is overclocking so no guarantee
but if ya get 2933 with cl14 i would not call it so bad
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
you have b-die with the newer layout A2 thats more friendly to high mhz then tight timings
i think on your mainboard everything above 2933 is overclocking so no guarantee
but if ya get 2933 with cl14 i would not call it so bad
It is running at 2933, I will test it for a few days, if the problem doesn't come back again, for me it's great.

Minimum loss of 3000.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
what i forgot to say is that not all B-die is the same and 3000mhz cl16-18-18 is considered a lower bin so maybe ya have to give them more volts for your goal.(thats why ya pay more for 3200cl14 sticks)
up to 1,40volts should be no prob.
and loosening up the 2nd +3rd timing can help too like 14-15-15 or 14-16-16 with minimum performance loss.

for E.x I have 3200c16-16-16 dual rank sticks and they need around 1,40+volt for 3200cl14 which i only use for benchmarks.
daily i run them at 2666mhz cl12 at 1,30volt
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
what i forgot to say is that not all B-die is the same and 3000mhz cl16-18-18 is considered a lower bin so maybe ya have to give them more volts for your goal.(thats why ya pay more for 3200cl14 sticks)
up to 1,40volts should be no prob.
and loosening up the 2nd +3rd timing can help too like 14-15-15 or 14-16-16 with minimum performance loss.

for E.x I have 3200c16-16-16 dual rank sticks and they need around 1,40+volt for 3200cl14 which i only use for benchmarks.
daily i run them at 2666mhz cl12 at 1,30volt
Understand.
I bought a new battery (CR2032) and I'm going to change it today. And I will increase the voltage to 1.40V.
Do you think 3000mhz with 16-18-18-38 is a problem?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,265 (1.97/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
yes good sir P4-630 will do !

normal timings should run with normal voltage so 1,35 or 1,36 but yes you can try more too
2933 cl14 or 15 should be equal or better to 3000 cl16 but sometimes if 3000 does not boot try 3200.-but dont start with 3200mhz cl14 but with your norm timings.

first we have to look that your system is stable + does not take so much time to reboot .
if ya can get 2933 with 16-18-18 try using it for a few days,then try 16-16-16 and then we go from this onward-you know the drill now.

but i hope someone with more knowledge on new amd systems could chime in and help please
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
yes good sir P4-630 will do !

normal timings should run with normal voltage so 1,35 or 1,36 but yes you can try more too
2933 cl14 or 15 should be equal or better to 3000 cl16 but sometimes if 3000 does not boot try 3200.-but dont start with 3200mhz cl14 but with your norm timings.

first we have to look that your system is stable + does not take so much time to reboot .
if ya can get 2933 with 16-18-18 try using it for a few days,then try 16-16-16 and then we go from this onward-you know the drill now.

but i hope someone with more knowledge on new amd systems could chime in and help please
Okay, I’m going to do all those tests you said and I’ll be back to give you feedback.
Thank you for your help. :toast:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
no prob hope it helps-if ya got questions just ask

i dont like to run stress test instead i just play a game i like.

Q: you wrote:when raising the frequency or activating XMP, a few days later the BIOS is reset.
does it say reset because of overclocking failed or just resets? new batterie is good+cheap idea
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
no prob hope it helps-if ya got questions just ask

i dont like to run stress test instead i just play a game i like.

Q: you wrote:when raising the frequency or activating XMP, a few days later the BIOS is reset.
does it say reset because of overclocking failed or just resets? new batterie is good+cheap idea
Just resets.

I had increased the frequency to 3000mhz and the bios reset 4 days later. = /

I can activate XMP or increase the frequency.
The PC turns on normally, I can play games, do stress tests without problems.

But a few days later, the BIOS inexplicably resets.

Perhaps the problem is not even the XMP or frequency increase.

But I already bought a new battery and I'm going to change it today.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
then try 2933 with 16-18-18 1,35 volt and see if it fails again after bios batterie change.

plz look after your SoC voltage too-some xmp can boost this to high levels

good read: page 12 is about soc volt

and this if ya want to look deeper in memory:


a quote from this guide:
All of the tested samples illustrated negative scaling (i.e. more errors or failures to train) when higher than 1.150V SoC was used. In all cases the maximum memory frequency was achieved at =< 1.100V SoC voltage.
~ The Stilt

3000 15-16-16 is a tighter bin than 3200 16-18-18. This means that a kit rated for 3000 15-16-16 will probably be able to do 3200 16-18-18 but a kit rated for 3200 16-18-18 might not be able to do 3000 15-16-16.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
@basco
Hello friend, on Tuesday I changed the battery and activated the XMP for 3000 with 16-18-18.
And last night (two days later) reset again.
Sad = /

Do you think I should leave XMP off for a few days to test?
Or do I increase the voltage to 1.4V?

is it a defect on my motherboard?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,176 (0.92/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
For crying out loud, it's not that hard to set the memory settings manually.
XMP doesn't seem to work well in some cases on Ryzen, so it's easier to do it manually and there are no problems.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
For crying out loud, it's not that hard to set the memory settings manually.
XMP doesn't seem to work well in some cases on Ryzen, so it's easier to do it manually and there are no problems.
I had already set the timings (16-18-18-36) and the frequency manually to 3000. And it also reset after a few days.

Bios is up to date (2.90) and I gave a clear cmos as well.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,176 (0.92/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I had already set the timings (16-18-18-36) and the frequency manually to 3000. And it also reset after a few days.

Bios is up to date (2.90) and I gave a clear cmos as well.
That suggests that there's something wrong with your board, as you've replaced the CMOS battery and tried every option under the sun. Updating the UEFI normally means a reset of the settings. RMA the board.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
can ya plz tell me what soc volts ya have during load ?

and ya can try with just a little bit more volts like 1,370

and if all fails try 2933mhz
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
can ya plz tell me what soc volts ya have during load ?

and ya can try with just a little bit more volts like 1,370

and if all fails try 2933mhz
Soc Voltage: 1.025
I can't set 1.37, it automatically goes up to 1.40
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.29/day)
Location
austria
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Display(s) 120hz
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
puuh thats some overvolt- so we know that the volt is not the problem. 1,37 should be enough for further testing
is soc volt on auto or did ya set it ? if not auto try 1,10 or 1,125-keep care if your are not on high performance mode in windows some voltages go down with energy saving so plz look at the volts only at load

we are going to find that sweet spot for your ram

could ya post a pic with your ram timings and plz with the subtimings if its possible
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,285 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
I have just read a review on that memory, XMP @ 3000mhz would not boot even though it was to spec, they had to either manually input timings with XMP disabled or run XMP but with 1.4V in order for it to work at 3000mhz.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
24 (0.29/day)
System Name Desktop AMD Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Adata XPG Spectrix D41 TUF 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1050 AERO ITX
Storage Sandisk SSD PLUS 240GB
Case Gamemax Shine G517
Power Supply Corsair CX-430W
puuh thats some overvolt- so we know that the volt is not the problem. 1,37 should be enough for further testing
is soc volt on auto or did ya set it ? if not auto try 1,10 or 1,125-keep care if your are not on high performance mode in windows some voltages go down with energy saving so plz look at the volts only at load

we are going to find that sweet spot for your ram

could ya post a pic with your ram timings and plz with the subtimings if its possible
Okay, tonight I'm sending you a full photo of the timings.

I have just read a review on that memory, XMP @ 3000mhz would not boot even though it was to spec, they had to either manually input timings with XMP disabled or run XMP but with 1.4V in order for it to work at 3000mhz.
Last night after the bios reset, I activated the XMP again and increased the voltage to 1.4V. Now it's waiting again = /
 
Top