1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios Sapphire HD 7770 1G DDR5

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Saviucciu, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. Saviucciu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    after flashing my vga with this rom

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/116151/Sapphire.HD7770.1024.120130.html

    the vga doesn't work anymore...

    and i forget to make a backup from the original rom ( stupid stupid stupid ).

    Someone have the same card ??
    can give me the rom please ?

    i try the other rom from the website with no result...

    thanks a lot !!!
    PLEASE SAVE MY HD 7770
     
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,114 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    I always ask this. Why did you flash it in the first place?
     
    chaosmassive says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Saviucciu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I flash because i've got a problem with the ATI driver.

    No problem in game, but when i look a film, i've got the death blue screen, and reboot...
     
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,114 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    If it was a BIOS issue with the card Sapphire would put one out to fix it. Flashing it with another BIOS that happens to be the same model is never a good idea

    . Cards go thru minor revisions thru out there lives. Changes in voltages/timings etc. because of things as simple as using some slightly different RAM. That is why you see multiple BIOS for the "same" Card

    But of course you broke the first rule of course which was not backing up your BIOS. ;)

    Would you have a link to your actual card? There are a few different Sapphire 7770's
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Saviucciu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,361 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,570
  7. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,114 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    Okay so it would be THiIS one I guess then? I already checked to see if they "maybe" had a BIIOS available they did not.

    THAT is the first place you look for support for your card ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,114 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Saviucciu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot W1zzard !!!

    the first rom is working !!!
    I flash the bios and the computer boot again with the card !

    Thanks a lot again !!

    and thanks also to INSTG8R for your help !
     
  10. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,114 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    Just thank the W1zzard for coming to your rescue :D

    Lucky to have him. :lovetpu:

    Now first thing you do iis put that BIOS in a Safa Place in case you decide to don something crazy again ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. alexkaf New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    After the firmware HD 7770 1024 MB 2012-05-02 02:13:00 1100 / 1300 black screen. How I fixed the problem with the help of usb flash drive and the second vga card (I had a nvidia pci/e to her plugged the monitor, can be any), perhaps someone will help. Download the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool and MS-DOS to boot. Connect the usb flash drive, run the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool and place a checkmark Quick Format, and Create a Dos startup disk, in the window - using the DOS system files located at: specify the contents of the folder MS-DOS and press START. Usb flash drive boot team, now copy files to it ATIFlash 3.99 and Firware xxx.rom. Turn on the computer with the Usb flash drive, the selected boot from the usb. In the console screen prescribes с:\atiflash.exe - i, i is the number of the video card 0 or 1. If nome 0 write c:\atiflash.exe -f -p 0 sapphi~1.rom. So I fixed the problem on my Sapphire HD 7770 only through MsDos, winflash not deal with the problem. Well прошился - Firmware 2012-03-01 00:50:00 1150 / 1250, shoots that would not use the program for acceleration, was 1000 / 1125 became 1150 / 1250.

    MSDOS
    HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool

    Please forgive me for my English.
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    Read through this topic here.

     
    alexkaf says thanks.
  13. alexkaf New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm sorry if that is not the case. Just wanted to help. May be someone will help.
     
  14. Cheeaz

    Cheeaz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanx alexkaf
    just flashed my Sapphire Ghz Ed. with that particular bios (2012-03-01 00:50:00 1150 / 1250). Works better overall.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012
  15. CHRIS_666 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. b-man

    b-man

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    P-Town
    Sorry for bumping this quite old thread, but I hope that I could get some answers without creating a new one. I have HD 7770 1G GHz Edition. Physically it looks excatly like this, with 2 DP ports: http://www.sapphiretech.com/productdetial.asp?pid=E526513F-4894-495A-8859-972F2F488D42&lang=eng
    I have encoutered some problems, like ATI/AMD grey bars freeze when the card reaches as high as around 60 degrees Celsius, on 45-50% fan speed. I have tried to solve the issue with some other compatible BIOS. I have managed to make it work on 1000/1125 clock on 55% fan speed without freezes/crashes.

    My question are:
    1. Did this graphic card have 1000/1125 or 1100/1250 clock with its original BIOS? On the official page (link I have provided above) stands 1100/1250, but I thought it's just for an OC version... On Sapphire's new web page is no distinction between OC and non OC versions... And what was the version of the original BIOS for it?
    2. Recently I flashed it to 015.017.000.000.000000 (1100/1250) https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/123702/sapphire-hd7770-1024-120301 BIOS, which causes me those grey bar crashes after some time of playing on 55% fan speed, temperature not higher than 60 Celsius, and clocks higher than approx. 1025/1150. Do you suggest me going back to 015.016.000.001.000000 (1000/1125) https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/119921/sapphire-hd7770-1024-120219 eventhough this card is not a FleX model? Or to keep it on 015.017.000.000.000000 with manual underclock on 1000/1125?
    Just to mention, there's no dust etc...
     
  17. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4,584 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,451
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Did you try looking in the GPU bios database here on tech power up?

    Here
    https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/

    If you already have sorry I couldn't be more help
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  18. b-man

    b-man

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    P-Town
    I did, all those links I've posted are from the database. Thanks anyways. Hopefully somebody will show up with more precise answers.
     
    jboydgolfer says thanks.
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    What's your system specs to include make-model- rating of power supply, motherboard, ram, cpu, number of hdd/sdd/optical drives, number of fans, other pci/pcie cards or USB devices?

    Take a picture of the white labels on the card itself and upload them here. You may need to replace thermal compound or pads on gpu, ram,vrms. Clean all fans out.

    Contact Sapphiretech/PCPartner for additional help with higher level tech support.

    Also on another note, read my signature.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
    b-man and dorsetknob say thanks.
  20. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4,584 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,451
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Sorry the first post was of no help. If I was in your position I would keep doing what you're doing now, but I would also reach out to the manufacturer. I've gotten biosis from power color, xfx, and a couple others that I don't recall. More often than not if you're polite they can be pretty amicable

    That way you'll have two possibilities instead of just the one outlet
     
    b-man and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  21. b-man

    b-man

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    P-Town
    I have Corsair CX500 PSU, AMD Athlon X2 7750 BE CPU, ASUS M3A78 mobo and 6GB DDR2 RAM. Heh, yeah I read you're signature, good advice if everything is working well. Well I haven't done any harm to the card with that flashing except I have forgotten to backup its stock VBIOS (which could be one of those in the database though...).
    It's this card I have: https://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/sapphire-radeon-hd-7770-ghz-edition-11201-00-20g-a736918.html A non OC version, with 2x mini DP and 1000/1125 clock. Its model number is: 11201-00-20G
    In the techpowerUP database there're only OC and FleX VBIOS versions. It's working stable with 015.016.000.001.000000 (1000/1125) on that clock and 55% fan speed in-game which is listed as corresponding VBIOS for the FleX one (model
    11201-12-20G). I assume that that model is just a latter model of the card I have since both have similar model numbers, same specs, and are marked as non OC. More or less it's working stable on 1000/1125 clock and 55% fan speed under moderate/heavy load. The only thing I'm still looking for is some clarification of what was its stock VBIOS and if there's any newer which is recommended. I have opened a ticket on official manufacturer's site. Let's see what they say.

    Nothing to be sorry for man. I have opened the ticket on manufacturer's web site. Well I'm quite a diplomate in such correspondences so I hope they'll be helpful.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  22. b-man

    b-man

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    P-Town
    Update: I got a reply from Sapphire support and received new BIOS version from them. It's 015.017.000.000.000000 version (which is in fact BIOS for HD7770 OC graphic card version; It's been around in techpowerUP BIOS db as well).
    If I downclock it to 1000/1125 it works good on 55% fan speed under load (in games). If I use its stock OC clock 1100/1250 it gets grey stripes crash on 55-60% fan speed under load, while the temperature is around 57-62 degrees of celsius. I guess it can't bear higher temperatures than 60, 60 and something degrees of celsius. I thought that this card will be more tolerant to temperature.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414

    Box of Chocolates- Some clock better than others, only other thing you can try is removing the HSF and putting fresh thermal compound on the GPU and thermal pads or thermal interface material on the ram/VRMs.

    Otherwise a Aftermarket Cooler would be necessary.

    @cdawall, @fullinfusion, any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
    b-man says thanks.
  24. b-man

    b-man

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    P-Town
    Thank you for your suggestion eidairaman1. I'll keep that in mind. For now I'll leave it like this on 1000/1125 clock. Technically 1100/1250 would be an overclock for a non OC version, which it obviously can't handle. However it's funny to see some NVIDIA equivalents to this graphic cards running on older mobos on as high as 70+ degrees of celsius without crashes unlike this card of mine.
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414

    You are comparing apples to oranges...

    What do you feel @cdawall
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)