• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios update for GTX 1070

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,230 (2.84/day)
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme/ Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 Ti/ EVGA 1080 CLASSIFIED
Storage Samsung 970/960/850/840 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Lian Li PC-V3000/Cougar Panzer MaxLian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
586 (0.29/day)
Processor ryzen 5 1600x
Motherboard b450m pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory teem group xtreem
Video Card(s) xfx rx580 8gb
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
i can assure you that was not what he meant. the term "ram" = "random access memory" in English. you wont find ram used as an insult in english speaking nations. there is a cross language mix up going on here.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,457 (5.42/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Gentlemen I did not know that the MSI GTX 1070 has many versions.
There are 13 versions of the card on the MSI site, not including any Ti models.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,584 (1.83/day)
Enough of the language misunderstanding posts.
It is over and does not need futher discussion in the thread... take it to PM/conversation.
Back on topic, please.

Thank You.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,553 (6.40/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I understood that he called me a ram = idiot. Here in Poland there is a saying idiot = ram. :kookoo: Gentlemen I did not know that the MSI GTX 1070 has many versions.
No I'm not Polish, when i said ram it is short for random access memory
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,584 (1.83/day)
Last call.
It is Over.
Take it to PMs.

Back to the topic.
 

hr22

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
11 (0.03/day)
All right. I have a final question. You all have not updated the vBios in yours graphics cards? Do you have the first vBios?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,111 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
All right. I have a final question. You all have not updated the vBios in yours graphics cards? Do you have the first vBios?
I do yes, personally I only flash my Bios if I have stability issues or if I get a rare card that can be flashed with say a higher model cards bios to unlock extra performance (HD6950 >> HD6970 springs to mind).
I have modded Bioses in the past for things like voltage changes but again those were to improve stability...…. my current 1070 works flawlessly, silent and overclocks well so why would I want to risk that?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,553 (6.40/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
All right. I have a final question. You all have not updated the vBios in yours graphics cards? Do you have the first vBios?
Mine is default too.

Only flash if the manufacturer tells you to do so with the correct file, which normally is level 2 support giving the files and tools. Never flash a random bios as it will screw up the card, save yourself the headache.

For your information when wanting to flash with manufacturers discretion you need to give them the model, serial number and if it has a stock keeping unit number give that too.

If you have ram info provide it, the more you give the manufacturer the better, also be honest with them.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
964 (0.45/day)
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
the only reason(s) i have ever flashed my vbios is/was To remove a tdp limit on a gtx 780 which i had water cooled so i could fully overclock it.
and to change the card id on a r9 270x to a 7870 so it would boot on a m91p that had a white list..

As mentioned if your card is running fine then you don't need to flash the bios.
apart from removing the tdp limit i dont see any reason to flash a bios for overclocking/under-clocking as you can do it with software like msi afterburner.
And having to flash to change the card id is a very rare occurrence and probably wouldnt work for most situations any way.

So just keep the bios at stock.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
61 (0.11/day)
Sorry to jump on this thread but I have an Gigabyte 1070GTX with Micron memory and the GPU itself it overclocks (manually or boost 3.0) nicely but the ram is very hard to overclock. I can only oc it to +150 in MSI Afterburner ... giving me this results:



Very dissapointed with Micron and these cards that have it ... I was getting much higher ram speed on my RX580 8GB with Hynix memory ...

P.S. Actually I've heard that there were problems with ram stability when switching power states in the early vbioses of 1070 cards especially with Micron memory is this true ?

My card is Windforce OC rev 2.0 and I think these should have been fixed since the card was manufactured in 2017 sometime.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,553 (6.40/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sorry to jump on this thread but I have an Gigabyte 1070GTX with Micron memory and the GPU itself it overclocks (manually or boost 3.0) nicely but the ram is very hard to overclock. I can only oc it to +150 in MSI Afterburner ... giving me this results:



Very dissapointed with Micron and these cards that have it ... I was getting much higher ram speed on my RX580 8GB with Hynix memory ...

P.S. Actually I've heard that there were problems with ram stability when switching power states in the early vbioses of 1070 cards especially with Micron memory is this true ?

My card is Windforce OC rev 2.0 and I think these should have been fixed since the card was manufactured in 2017 sometime.
Dont put a random bios on the card, only flash that card under the direction of Gigabyte, they need specific info from that card.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
61 (0.11/day)
Dont put a random bios on the card, only flash that card under the direction of Gigabyte, they need specific info from that card.
Gigabyte has no updates for the card at this moment sadly ... maybe Micron on my card is just crap because most of the cards in reviews and on the internet overclock vram from +300 to +500
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,553 (6.40/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Gigabyte has no updates for the card at this moment sadly ... maybe Micron on my card is just crap because most of the cards in reviews and on the internet overclock vram from +300 to +500
Ymmv, boxochocolates, be happy the card works under the intended parameters. If not happy save up for a 1080ti.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,343 (1.30/day)
Location
Long Island
I have seen a lot of internet "non-truths" over the years .. worse being "more than 1.5V for DDR3 will void ya warranty" and "more than 1.2V for DDR4 will void ya warranty" . These persisted despite Intels XMP compatabity listings listing dozens and dozens or "certified sets" at those voltages. While people were OK with overclocking CPUs, never quite seemd to grasp that XMP was "overclocked RAM" and that was just fine with Intel, But I understood where they were coming from.

I have however been at a loss to understand why changing the BIOS on a GFX card ever became a "thing" that was thought of as a good idea (outside of the mining community anyways). Im all ears as to how this might have came about.
 

Agomo94

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
hey guys so i got an msi gtx 1070 gaming x , Currentl having issues whereas games keep crashing and recently just been doing research on how to fix it . i have updated the GPU as shown in picture .. any suggestion where i can get the latest bios update ??
 

Attachments

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,111 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
hey guys so i got an msi gtx 1070 gaming x , Currentl having issues whereas games keep crashing and recently just been doing research on how to fix it . i have updated the GPU as shown in picture .. any suggestion where i can get the latest bios update ??
This one is from our GPU Bios database, it's the most recent but at least it's a couple of years newer than your current one...……...

 

Agomo94

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
This one is from our GPU Bios database, it's the most recent but at least it's a couple of years newer than your current one...……...

Thank you, also one more question regarding this graphics card, would you suggest using a large pc case with extra fans because I would get better airflow to reduce high temps. Tried benchmarking superposition on 1080 high settings, and its freeze 10 - 15 seconds into the test. But plays longer in medium settings.? I'm not techy I buy and use but unfortunately I bought a graphics card with issues such as the whole micron chip issue ⚠
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,111 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Yeah, when I bought my 1070 I researched to find what models had high quality quiet coolers and that came with Samsung memory which overclocks really well, Micron as I think you are finding is much more limited, if it is any consolation, memory overclocking brings much smaller performance gains than overclocking the GPU.
To answer your question, airflow is often overlooked and is an important factor when you look at whole system performance, suffice to say, heat is never anyone's friend. Bigger cases tend to have more options in terms of airflow but there may be ways of improving what you already have, maybe investing in better quieter fans with improved CFM, making sure for example that you have extraction at the back of the case and decent airflow into the case, wherever depending on your current case you can position your fans.
 

Agomo94

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
Yeah, when I bought my 1070 I researched to find what models had high quality quiet coolers and that came with Samsung memory which overclocks really well, Micron as I think you are finding is much more limited, if it is any consolation, memory overclocking brings much smaller performance gains than overclocking the GPU.
To answer your question, airflow is often overlooked and is an important factor when you look at whole system performance, suffice to say, heat is never anyone's friend. Bigger cases tend to have more options in terms of airflow but there may be ways of improving what you already have, maybe investing in better quieter fans with improved CFM, making sure for example that you have extraction at the back of the case and decent airflow into the case, wherever depending on your current case you can position your fans.
Thank you for the quick response :) will have to invest in extra fans, change thermo paste on CPU and graphics card and see how it performs.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
200 (1.34/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
If you're changing thermal paste go with arctic mx4 or noctua nth1 or nth2, good performance and easy to use.
 
Top