• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BIOS voltage does not match RAM voltage - what to do?

Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.18/day)
Likes
534
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#1
Written on my RAM modules is 1.65 V. But my default BIOS setting adjusts just 1.5 V.

Should i set the voltage to 1.65 V, as written on RAM or leave 1.5 V?

Logicaly thinking i probably should set the voltage to 1.65 V, even though my bios thinks it is an overclock in the risk zone, yes?

Answer fast please.:respect:!!!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Lower voltages are always better if it's stable.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#3
Sandy Bridge? If you want answers come with more details - mobo, CPU and RAM.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.18/day)
Likes
534
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#4
Motherboard: Gigabyte 890GX 2.1
Motherboard: Gigabyte 890GX, version 2.1
CPU: Phenom II X6 1075T, stepping 0 (no OC)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.18/day)
Likes
534
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#5
I just found a RAM manual where it says that in order to keep timings at 7-7-7-20 instead of 9-9-9-24, one has to increase voltage from 1.5 V at 1.65 V

It is clear now.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Increasing the voltage will not change the timings. You can increase the voltage, but the timings need set in a separate section of the bios.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.18/day)
Likes
534
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#7
Increasing the voltage will not change the timings. You can increase the voltage, but the timings need set in a separate section of the bios.
I obvioulsy know that. What i did not know is that you have to increase voltage in order to keep lower timings. I always thought that you have to increase votlage only when overclocking raw MHz, not lowering CL.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#8
I obvioulsy know that. What i did not know is that you have to increase voltage in order to keep lower timings. I always thought that you have to increase votlage only when overclocking raw MHz, not lowering CL.
Increasing voltage, increases the signal. Or more specifically the peaks of the Sine wave. This not only applies to RAM but also the CPU and anything else that has a frequency.

At any rate, you need to increase voltage to your RAM when you want to increase frequency (MHz), tighten timings, or when overclocking your CPU-NB frequency. However, try not to exceed 1.65v as that's what the integrated memory controller (IMC) is rated for. Overvolting the IMC will lead to degradation over time. Also bear in mind that AMD only rates their IMC to handle 1333MHz RAM. ANYTHING over that is considered an overclock. I'm not 100% positive if that applies to the Thuban's, x6 CPU's, and possibly the 960T, I know for a fact that it does apply to Athlon II's and the Deneb core Phenom II's.

To answer your other question about timings (from the other thread), a good rule of thumb to follow for setting your timings is this:
CAS# Latency (CL) + RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD) + RAS# Precharge (tRP) = Cycle Time (tRAS)

then (this part only applies to AMD's)

RAS# Precharge (tRP) + Cycle Time (tRAS) = Bank cycle time (tRC).

Then simply follow the equation through.

For instance if you wanted CAS 7 RAM you could try timings such as 7-7-7-21-28, or if that is not fully stable you could try loosening the RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) and your timings would then be 7-8-7-22-29. I've found when overclocking my Phenom II x3 720, that equation helped me get my RAM very stable.

Now overclocking your RAM will net you some performance gains, however, you will net A LOT MORE performance from overclocking the CPU-NB frequency. That is the actual lane between the CPU and the RAM, so obviously the faster it is, the better the performance. And the Thuban's (x6 CPUs') can overclock this frequency like crazy. It's not at all unheard of increasing the CPU-NB on those to well over 3000MHz (2000 is stock).

Hope that helps. Good luck! :toast:
 
Last edited: