• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bios will not boot from SSD

Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Connecticut
Processor AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.2ghz)
Motherboard Abit KV7
Cooling Stock
Memory 1x512mb 2x256mb
Video Card(s) Radeon X850pro
Storage Western Digital 250gb sata
Display(s) EPI EnVision 19" CRT
Case Red Dragon Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller
Power Supply 400w
Software windows xp Professional
#1
So it's been a LONG time since ive been on these forums, but I ran into a little problem that's got me stumped.

I just bought a 240GB PATRIOT Pyro SD to put my OS on.
So I backed up all my important info to an External HDD. Formatted my current 1TB WD Caviar Black that I had my current Windows 7 on. And went ahead and installed Windows 7 on my new SSD.
All was fine and dandy till I began installing drivers on Win7 and would need to reboot, it would come up with a message to Reboot and select proper boot device. So I went I to my boot options set my DVD drive as 1st boot and my SSD as 2nd boot, same message came up.
So just for laughs I only set 1 boot device as my DVD and had my Win7 install disc in the drive, it would come up with the message to press any key to boot from the DVD drive. But I waited it out, and for some reason it would boot straight into windows. Problem Solved? No
I just recently had to restart again, and now it won't boot into Windows anymore. I tried setting the SSD as first boot, nothing. Tried the DVD drive as first and the SSD as second, nothing. I just can't figure this mess out.
I'm running an ASUS M4A78-E mobo, and trying to get my 240GB Patriot Pyro SD to boot. Just so confused as why it worked, and now it doesn't.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,032 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Did you have your external drive or the 1 Tb hooked up when you installed the OS? If windows 7 sees a boot sector on another drive guess what. It install the MBR there

That may be whats going on

When installing windows 7. Disconnect all other drives
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Connecticut
Processor AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.2ghz)
Motherboard Abit KV7
Cooling Stock
Memory 1x512mb 2x256mb
Video Card(s) Radeon X850pro
Storage Western Digital 250gb sata
Display(s) EPI EnVision 19" CRT
Case Red Dragon Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller
Power Supply 400w
Software windows xp Professional
#3
The External wasn't hooked up but my 1TB was, which I formatted that clean (I thought) right before the Install
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
252 (0.11/day)
Likes
55
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8H61-M LX (B3)
Cooling Intel stock HSF
Memory 2x 4GB Kingston DDR3 @ 1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 6750 OC
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
Display(s) HP W2072a 20"
Case Cooler Master Elite 430 Black
Audio Device(s) Integrated (Realtek ALC887)
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#4
The External wasn't hooked up but my 1TB was, which I formatted that clean (I thought) right before the Install
That may be the culprit. Try disconnecting the drive, and clean install the Windows back.

Hope it works. :)
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Connecticut
Processor AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.2ghz)
Motherboard Abit KV7
Cooling Stock
Memory 1x512mb 2x256mb
Video Card(s) Radeon X850pro
Storage Western Digital 250gb sata
Display(s) EPI EnVision 19" CRT
Case Red Dragon Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller
Power Supply 400w
Software windows xp Professional
#5
Alright, I guess I have no choice but to try than, thanks, hope it works
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,175
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#6
Always have just the drive hooked up that you're installing to, unplug all the other suckers, a lesson I learned the hard way too :banghead:
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Connecticut
Processor AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.2ghz)
Motherboard Abit KV7
Cooling Stock
Memory 1x512mb 2x256mb
Video Card(s) Radeon X850pro
Storage Western Digital 250gb sata
Display(s) EPI EnVision 19" CRT
Case Red Dragon Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller
Power Supply 400w
Software windows xp Professional
#7
That may be the culprit. Try disconnecting the drive, and clean install the Windows back.

Hope it works. :)
Well, I think it worked, thank you for he advice.

Always have just the drive hooked up that you're installing to, unplug all the other suckers, a lesson I learned the hard way too :banghead:
Never knew that would cause a problem, ill make sure to keep that in mind next time
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#8
Well, I think it worked, thank you for he advice.


Never knew that would cause a problem, ill make sure to keep that in mind next time
Its because with other drives installed, windows wants to install some of the boot windows file to the other drive so you will get a dual boot menu and shit before entering windows, and you wont be able to format the other drive later on as it has nesessary files on it.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,595 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#9
Yep, I was burned by this Windows 7 "feature" the first time I installed it, since then I always unplug everything but the boot drive.