• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bios won't detect my SSD

Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
217 (0.06/day)
Likes
9
Location
England!
System Name Core i7
Processor i7 920 @ 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory Corsair XMS-3 18GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Unlocked and overclocked XFX ATi HD6950 2GB
Storage Main Drive - OCZ Vertex 2 120gb; storage -WD Caviar Blue 640Gb, 4Tb Seagate and 240gb Crucial mx100
Display(s) 27" LG Black Full HD Widescreen 3dtv, 1920x1080.
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 650w
Software Windows 7
#1
i bought myself a new OCZ 120gb SSD today for my b'day present, and i cannot for the love of god get the bios to pick it up!

ive plugged it in almost all the sockets from Sata 2 to G-sata 2 and still no sucess, im at my wits end and thinking of taking it back.

any ideas on what i can do?

my specs are on the left.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#2
Wow this feels like a deja-vue. I think I remember someone asking exactly the same.

Does it show up nowehere in the BIOS? The boot select menu, the HDD menu, anywhere?
Is it displayed at POST?
Is it discovered by the device manager?
Is it discovered by the disc manager?
...does it even have power to it?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#3
it is dead, i had plenty of HDDs come to me like that, MRCL has the best advice
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#4
Try:
1. Turning the power off and un-plugging the psu from the wall.
2. Remove the CMOS battery.
3. After about, 10+ seconds, re-install the battery.
4. Plug in and turn on the psu.
5. Boot up and check your bios settings(as, they may be back at the defaults you my need to set any custom setting you had)
6. See if it sees it now.

If that does not do it, then test it in another PC(system)... if possible.

Also, try a different SATA cable and power connector(from the PSU).

Edit:
I remember a thread somewhere about this, but I can't remember where I saw it.
It had something to do with, either, the drives firmware or the motherboard bios.
I'll try to find it, if I can, and post the link for you.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
217 (0.06/day)
Likes
9
Location
England!
System Name Core i7
Processor i7 920 @ 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory Corsair XMS-3 18GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Unlocked and overclocked XFX ATi HD6950 2GB
Storage Main Drive - OCZ Vertex 2 120gb; storage -WD Caviar Blue 640Gb, 4Tb Seagate and 240gb Crucial mx100
Display(s) 27" LG Black Full HD Widescreen 3dtv, 1920x1080.
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 650w
Software Windows 7
#5
i fixed it, i don't think the power cable was shoved on all the way, my own silly mistake.

thanks for the replys guys!

But Damn these things are quick!!
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#6
Yeah the thing with non moving parts is that you can't really tell if they're powered on or not:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,899 (0.63/day)
Likes
633
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor i7 6800k 4.2ghz @1.28v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X99 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62 with CableMod
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX @3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe | Crucial MX300 750GB
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Acer XB270H Abprz 27" G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO and Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W with CableMod
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10
#7
enable AHCI?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#8
i fixed it, i don't think the power cable was shoved on all the way, my own silly mistake.

thanks for the replys guys!

But Damn these things are quick!!
You are welcome and glad you got it fixed.:)

Also, try a different SATA cable and power connector(from the PSU).
Self-gratification... :toast: