• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BioShock has 2 installs.

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.78/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#1
So you legit copy buys have 2 installs on one hardware machine/system.. than so they make more $$ to combat the pirates.. you have to BUY another copy.. what a friggn joke of a company if you ask me disgusting.

http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5527

check out page 5 too.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#2
How does one make a customer angry...

They're also killing their product to be used as a benchmark and such since those are run on countless systems. And being used as a benchmark helps sales too.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.24/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
That's disgraceful....I never intended to buy it anyway (doesn't interest me) but this is pathetic.

Well just wait until they crack it and remove the protection (that's what I do, even if I own the game).
 

average..

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
London
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200 (939) @2.5 38.c idle 55.c max
Motherboard Foxconn NF4SK8AA
Cooling (AC-FRZ-64P) Freezer64 Pro, (exhaust) hiper 120 fan, 1 pci exhaust fan
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB (2x512MB) PC4000 + kingston value ram, 2x512mb
Video Card(s) Point Of View 7600GT 256mb (PCI-E) 620/820
Storage Seagate 200GB SATAII/300 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Display(s) LG FLATRON M1917A (19" 1280x1024)
Case still wants a black p182 :/
Audio Device(s) onboard AC'97
Power Supply Corsair HX Series 520W
Software Vista x32 / Gentoo AMD64
#4
yea that really sucks.. buy and install the game a couple weeks later you get the money for them 8800GT's you wanted but now you cant play the game cos it complains of hardware change.
It's a shame the way they use technology, If i have two pc's why should I be forced to buy the game twice just to have the freedom of choice in my own home tow hich PC i feel like playing on.

*reading the other forums claims you get two installs. even if you install it on a dual boot system, with xp and vista that still counts as two installs meaning the plastic you just paid for is usless reinstall windows and you are left with nothing. just the options to re buy the game get a cracked copy or pay the same cost as the game in phone bills rining customer support.

i was not planing on buying the game in the first place, but its safe to say i will be avoiding this at all cost... I genrally avoid any game that uses securom. and this move im sure will only increase the pirate copies and hurt their sales.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,164 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,132
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
that doesnt combat piracy .. it actually helps them .. people will download the cracked game and not have any of those issues
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
does this still apply if i buy it on steam,which uses no disc?
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#7
that doesnt combat piracy .. it actually helps them .. people will download the cracked game and not have any of those issues
true, cracked versions usually doesn't have all those bullshit to "prevent" piracy
 

average..

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
London
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200 (939) @2.5 38.c idle 55.c max
Motherboard Foxconn NF4SK8AA
Cooling (AC-FRZ-64P) Freezer64 Pro, (exhaust) hiper 120 fan, 1 pci exhaust fan
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB (2x512MB) PC4000 + kingston value ram, 2x512mb
Video Card(s) Point Of View 7600GT 256mb (PCI-E) 620/820
Storage Seagate 200GB SATAII/300 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Display(s) LG FLATRON M1917A (19" 1280x1024)
Case still wants a black p182 :/
Audio Device(s) onboard AC'97
Power Supply Corsair HX Series 520W
Software Vista x32 / Gentoo AMD64
#8
im not sure about steam, they still use securom but i think its used in a different way.

I just read this on "digg" i think its called.

Despite buying legal copies on the scheduled day of release, PC owners are unable to play Bioshock because the SecuROM activation servers have not been turned on by 2k.
which is just more BS created by anti-piracy software. I think this games manafacture has reached a new low on many levels with this release...

followed by my favourite quote
This is why I am waiting for the pirated version... Pirated software just works....
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
does this still apply if i buy it on steam,which uses no disc?
someone on the 2k forum said they installed the steam version 3 times and its worked perfectly fine.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.24/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Steam games are tied to your user account NOT your hardware or setup. So even though you can install on another PC, you won't be able to play it without your account details.

There is no other copy-protection on Steam games except for that.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#11
I love it.

They get a bombshell of a game.


And put it in a wheelchair before it even gets a chance.

GFG.

GJ 2k, your anti-piracy tactics just raped your wallet.

Not buying your shit game now. Securom can bite me.

They just lost money. I'm pirating this one.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#12
Man Im sure glad I went with the Steam version...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
That does suck, but don't most games that use SecuRom usually release a patch a few months down the road to remove it? I thought even the company behind SecuRom recommended game companies do that since copy protection is usually only effective in slowing down piracy in roughly the first month of the game release.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.81/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#14
It's really funny how this will affect the game. Many people will buy the game not knowing about that, once they install it twice they are just going to pirate it and stick it up 2k's ass.

You are right about that, pirated software always just works. You may have to set it up a certain way but you can always get it going.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#15
You may have to set it up a certain way but you can always get it going.
And a lot of time it works better than the legit version. :roll:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.81/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#16
Yep, theres no steam activation, no securom, no nothing. Hell you don't even need to find your disk to play!

Hell every game I do buy I download the iso's for it also. I hate digging for game cd's.
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#17
hey guys,

first, let me say this. you DO NOT NEED TO USE THE INTERNET EVERY TIME YOU PLAY THIS GAME. it is only the first time.

second, you can uninstall and reinstall this game, and if, by chance, you have 2 computers you want to simultaneously play this game on, you also can do that.

if by some chance you are reinstalling this game without uninstalling it first, a lot, there is a chance you may have to call securom and get a key, or deactivate some older installations.

but if you upgrade your hardware next week, you'll still be able to play the game. if you revamp your system and need to reinstall bioshock, just uninstall it before you go through the overhaul, and then do your reinstall.

calling it "hardware fingerprinting" is a bit alarmist. we do not transmit any of your data to any companies.

really, the only people who will be concerned about any of these security measures are those who are rapidly putting bioshock on many pcs... if you use the game as you normally do, you won't notice this at all.
That's on page 12 of the thread linked in the first post, and posted by an admin on the forum...

So... it seems to imply that when you uninstall the game, you get 1 more opportunity to reinstall?


[edit]
Looks like Steam is screwing people over too...

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=589874&page=2
[/edit]
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#18
That's on page 12 of the thread linked in the first post, and posted by an admin on the forum...

So... it seems to imply that when you uninstall the game, you get 1 more opportunity to reinstall?


[edit]
Looks like Steam is screwing people over too...

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=589874&page=2
[/edit]
Screw that.

I don't want to have to call anyone.

I don't do it with windows, and I'm sure as hell not doing it with a game.

What if I'm in iraq? do they accept long distance calls?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton Alberta Canada
System Name Neo2
Processor Intel Core i7 CPU 920
Motherboard ASUS X58 Sabertooth
Cooling Water cooled
Memory HyperX blu 8GB DDR3-1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 4GB) x 3
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5850 1024m x2
Storage 1x 60g Corsair CSSD-F60GB2, 1 x 1000g WD Black 2x 500g SATA2, 1x 320g SATA2
Display(s) x3 HP 2210ms
Case Thermaltake Armor VA800BWS
Audio Device(s) PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series on Z-5000 Digtal speakers
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast Series TX850 V2
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#19
Yep steam and normal PC version limited to 2 activation. No more, at this point. 2K has not made any offical anousments about this and much to my scagim i all ready bought the PC version.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#20
Yep steam and normal PC version limited to 2 activation. No more, at this point. 2K has not made any offical anousments about this and much to my scagim i all ready bought the PC version.
Yep.

People are lashing back hard on this one.

Wonder if 2k could sue for losses? :roll::roll::roll:
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton Alberta Canada
System Name Neo2
Processor Intel Core i7 CPU 920
Motherboard ASUS X58 Sabertooth
Cooling Water cooled
Memory HyperX blu 8GB DDR3-1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 4GB) x 3
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5850 1024m x2
Storage 1x 60g Corsair CSSD-F60GB2, 1 x 1000g WD Black 2x 500g SATA2, 1x 320g SATA2
Display(s) x3 HP 2210ms
Case Thermaltake Armor VA800BWS
Audio Device(s) PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series on Z-5000 Digtal speakers
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast Series TX850 V2
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#21
Quote from: Administrator 2K Elizabeth from 2K games.

hey guys,

first, let me say this. you DO NOT NEED TO USE THE INTERNET EVERY TIME YOU PLAY THIS GAME. it is only the first time.

second, you can uninstall and reinstall this game, and if, by chance, you have 2 computers you want to simultaneously play this game on, you also can do that.

if by some chance you are reinstalling this game without uninstalling it first, a lot, there is a chance you may have to call securom and get a key, or deactivate some older installations.

but if you upgrade your hardware next week, you'll still be able to play the game. if you revamp your system and need to reinstall bioshock, just uninstall it before you go through the overhaul, and then do your reinstall.

calling it "hardware fingerprinting" is a bit alarmist. we do not transmit any of your data to any companies.

really, the only people who will be concerned about any of these security measures are those who are rapidly putting bioshock on many pcs... if you use the game as you normally do, you won't notice this at all.

Link to post http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5527&page=12 look at the bottom.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#22
Quote from: Administrator 2K Elizabeth from 2K games.

hey guys,

first, let me say this. you DO NOT NEED TO USE THE INTERNET EVERY TIME YOU PLAY THIS GAME. it is only the first time.

Almost decent damage control.

Too bad it doesn't cover the issues that people are concerned about.

2kgames is gonna burn for this one.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#23
*sniff sniff* I smell bullshit. I was mildly curious about Bioshock, now it can just kiss my arse.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
744 (0.19/day)
Likes
78
System Name Tiberius / Aulus
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.6 / i7 4500U 2.4
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / Haswell ULT
Cooling Corsair H80i / Internal Fans
Memory 32Gb Crucial Ballistix / 8Gb Integrated
Video Card(s) eVGA 1080FTW / Intel 4400 HD
Storage 850EVO 500GB + Assorted 8TB / Samsung 512 mSATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 2560x1440 / 13" WLED 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake S71 / XPS13
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD / Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX750W / 9 cell Battery
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Win 8.1 Pro / Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Suggestions.
#24
And i am so happy i did not buy the game yet....
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#25
I think i'll be buying it on dvd then, its cheaper than the steam one (online), and easier to crack if necessary, though i imagine worst case scenario you would just have to call/email them to reactivate