• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOSTAR Formally Enables PCIe Gen 4 on its AMD 400-series Motherboards

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
39,463 (8.42/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
BIOSTAR formally (officially) enabled PCI-Express gen 4.0 support for four of its socket AM4 motherboard models based on the AMD X470 and B450 chipsets, through BIOS updates. The updated BIOS lets you use PCI-Express gen 4.0 graphics cards on the topmost PCI-Express x16 slot, and the M.2 NVMe slot that's directly wired to the AM4 SoC. The expansion slots that are wired to the chipset are still restricted to PCIe gen 2.0. You will need a 3rd generation Ryzen "Matisse" processor for PCI-Express gen 4.0. Among the motherboards that receive PCIe gen 4.0 support through BIOS updates are the AB45C-M4S (B450MH), the AB35G-M4S (B45M2), the AX47A-A4T (X470GT8), and the AX47A-I4S (X470GTN). The links lead to the BIOS image files on BIOSTAR website, which you use at your own risk.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
1,616 (0.79/day)
System Name Suffering from random access memory loss.
Processor Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.42 GHz (when becnching op to 4.77 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler with 3 x noctua nf-f12 industrialppc-3000 pwm 120 MM fans
Memory 12 GB DDR3 CORSAIR 1600 MHz TIMMINGS 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
Storage 2 x Samsung 950 PRO 256 GB M.2 NVME SSD, Crucial MX300 2 TB SSD, WD RED 4 TB + WD AV-GP 2 TB HDD.
Display(s) 24" SAMSUNG
Case ANTEC TWELVE HUNDRED
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD realtek sound card.
Power Supply THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER 1500 WATT
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Keyboard LOGITECH G19s
Software WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BITS
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13514527 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2333033
Great for the motherboard owners, but i dont think amd is to happy about this as they stated pcie gen 4 cut not work on 400 series chipsæt/boards. As far i understand gen 4 support is limited to one pci espress slot and one m.2 slot. At least that seems to be the case with asus boards as only the cpu has pcie gen 4 lanes and thats why only those two things can run gen 4 while the rest will still only run pcie gen 3.

And with al ready Asus and Biostar out with boards that can do it. I think it's just a matter of time before we see other manufactores join's in on it. Unless amd active goes out and say, this is not alright and maybe it would have some sort of a punishment like amd cut stop working with a manufactor or something like it.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,406 (1.11/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I wonder what AMD will say about this...
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
1,616 (0.79/day)
System Name Suffering from random access memory loss.
Processor Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.42 GHz (when becnching op to 4.77 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler with 3 x noctua nf-f12 industrialppc-3000 pwm 120 MM fans
Memory 12 GB DDR3 CORSAIR 1600 MHz TIMMINGS 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
Storage 2 x Samsung 950 PRO 256 GB M.2 NVME SSD, Crucial MX300 2 TB SSD, WD RED 4 TB + WD AV-GP 2 TB HDD.
Display(s) 24" SAMSUNG
Case ANTEC TWELVE HUNDRED
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD realtek sound card.
Power Supply THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER 1500 WATT
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Keyboard LOGITECH G19s
Software WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BITS
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13514527 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2333033
Great for the motherboard owners, but i dont think amd is to happy about this as they stated pcie gen 4 cut not work on 400 series chipsæt/boards. As far i understand gen 4 support is limited to one pci espress slot and one m.2 slot. At least that seems to be the case with asus boards as only the cpu has pcie gen 4 lanes and thats why only those two things can run gen 4 while the rest will still only run pcie gen 3.

And with al ready Asus and Biostar out with boards that can do it. I think it's just a matter of time before we see other manufactores join's in on it. Unless amd active goes out and say, this is not alright and maybe it would have some sort of a punishment like amd cut stop working with a manufactor or something like it.
Edit: after reading deeper in the news i see that limit also goes for biostar, so that properly goes for all motherboards then that can run pcie gen 4 stable.

I wonder what AMD will say about this...
Me two. I dont think they are to happy about it. It seems like amd doing an intel this time. Meaning intel said the 9000 series cpu cut not work on older chipsæt motherboards and yet some people got them to work by modifying bios and now amd pulling a stunt with pcie gen 4 on 400 series motherboards al throw it's only limited support.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,406 (1.11/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
AMD never promised it would work on older boards.
Besides, this could cause data loss if the board is a borderline case.
I think this was a responsible thing to do, as devices have to pass certification for PCIe. If you don't meet the strict standards, then you don't pass, there are no borderline cases.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
44 (0.09/day)
I have to say all of this (BIOS ROM limitations, new MAX motherboards with larger chips, CPU's not being supported anymore, RAID support going and then coming back, PCIEx-4 only on X570 then also on older mobos) is very confusion and I feel it shows a lack of communication between AMD and their partners - or even worse, some incompetence in planning all of this.

THAT BEING SAID, it is nice to see AMD and partners trying to give existing users the best they can. For so many years Intel could not be bothered and just changed the chipset at every generation - that's easier, no need to plan, no need to communicate.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
747 (0.91/day)
Location
London, UK
This is very good news, it means others will likely follow if not then they will lose sales to biostar ehhe
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
90 (0.13/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard AsRock X570M Pro4
Cooling Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 4 x 16 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT red 3000C15 @ 3800C16 Micron rev E
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 mini
Storage Corsair MP510 1.92TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J592UQU 31.5" UHD + Fujitsu P19-2 19" 1280x1024
Case Jonsbo U3 mATX
Audio Device(s) ATH-M50
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600W SFX [currently RMAed]
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard QPAD MK-50 mechanical
Software Win10Edu_64
"i dont think amd is to happy about this as they stated pcie gen 4 cut not work on 400 series chipsæt/boards "
They never said that. They said they couldn't guarantuee PCIe 4.0 running on every older chipset out there and didn't want the confusion of some motherboard supporting it on B450 while another B450 or even X470 not supporting it. These half-truths are how fake news get spawned.

AMD as quoted by Anandtech:
"Pre-X570 boards will not support PCIe Gen 4. There's no guarantee that older motherboards can reliably run the more stringent signaling requirements of Gen4, and we simply cannot have a mix of "yes, no, maybe" in the market for all the older motherboards. The potential for confusion is too high. When final BIOSes are released for 3rd Gen Ryzen (AGESA 1000+), Gen4 will not be an option anymore. We wish we could've enabled this backwards, but the risk is too great."

Edit: And AMDs response so far has been (roughly) "we will remove this feature from future AGESA versions, so unless you want to stick with the outdated AGESA, you won't get PCIe 4.0 on old generation chipsets". We'll see who ultimately wins this battle.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
748 (0.76/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech N-70FX
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point in HD 4600
PCI-e 4 need updated hardware which cannot be obtained by mere software update. Or you can really download updated PCI-e like RAM.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
92 (0.12/day)
PCI-e 4 need updated hardware which cannot be obtained by mere software update. Or you can really download updated PCI-e like RAM.
Yes, the updated hardware is the Ryzen 3000 CPU. That's why only slots directly connected to it can get PCIe 4.0 and not others which go through the chipset.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
298 (0.59/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC to 4000 mhz (Ivy Brigde)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 9 Socket 1155 LGA
Cooling 240 mm water
Memory 16 gb 2600 mhz ddr3
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage Ssd ´s in raid.
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z
Case corsair obsidian 650d
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 Speaker
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550w
Mouse G900
Keyboard Hyper x
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M Time : 9,265 sec CPU-Z scores Version 2017.1 (x64) S-T 395 M-T 1945
Hmm, i was like 570x is a dealbraker in price, this kinda puts it back in play for me to get AMD.
i would be satisfied with 1 lane pcie-4.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
748 (0.76/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech N-70FX
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point in HD 4600
Yes, the updated hardware is the Ryzen 3000 CPU. That's why only slots directly connected to it can get PCIe 4.0 and not others which go through the chipset.
PCI-e 4.0 needs new wiring, which cannot be obtained simply by updating firmware.
The GPU's support new standard, then why we need new cable for new Display Port or HDMI standard?? Cause new standard has new requirement that old cable dont support. Like this new PCI-e need new wiring in PCB, old wiring were designed PCI-e 3.0 in mind not PCI-e 4.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
44 (0.09/day)
PCI-e 4.0 needs new wiring, which cannot be obtained simply by updating firmware.
The GPU's support new standard, then why we need new cable for new Display Port or HDMI standard?? Cause new saandard has new requirement that old cable dont support. Like this new PCI-e need new wiring in PCB, old wiring were designed PCI-e 3.0 in mind not PCI-e 4.
Absolutely. But Biostar make motherboards. If they decided to support PCI-ex 4 on their end, I would like to think that their engineering department evaluated the subject and approved it. Some standards can be compatible, we don't necessarily need new hardware for each new different standard.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2011
Messages
676 (0.20/day)
Location
Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
Will be interesting to see what AMD says about this. Seems the mobo makers are throwing up a big middle finger at AMD over this. :p
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.17/day)
I like options for PCIe4 that don't require active cooling.
I think situation will be more like, enabled in SW PCIe 4, like that you can read in your HW info that your mobo has PCIe 4. On paper.

In reality, it wont achieve bandwith, simply cause its physically impossible. And also for real bandwith of PCIe 4 it would require heavy cooling (cause older process used for chipsets).

Only thing that will happen is that line in best case scenario will run on physical limit, worst case, it just burns out.
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
848 (0.45/day)
Location
Los Altos, CA
In reality, it wont achieve bandwith, simply cause its physically impossible. And also for real bandwith of PCIe 4 it would require heavy cooling (cause older process used for chipsets).
It's only physically impossible sometimes though. If the trace lengths on the motherboard are short enough and properly laid out than Gen4 bandwidth would work from the CPU. It wasn't about having a special chipset to enable Gen4, it was about signal integrity over the currently available board designs. Some vendors fit the bill, some didn't. Biostar apparently tested and says their boards fit the requirements.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,406 (1.11/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I think situation will be more like, enabled in SW PCIe 4, like that you can read in your HW info that your mobo has PCIe 4. On paper.

In reality, it wont achieve bandwith, simply cause its physically impossible. And also for real bandwith of PCIe 4 it would require heavy cooling (cause older process used for chipsets).

Only thing that will happen is that line in best case scenario will run on physical limit, worst case, it just burns out.
Sorry, but you're mixing things up here. This has nothing to do with the chipset or cooling.
As pointed out above, this is about trace length, but in addition to that, also about signal integrity and noise.
Regardless, even if these three are met, the older boards won't reach full PCIe 4.0 speed, based on what I know. They come close, but not close enough.
As there's not PCIe 3.8 standard... Well, they simply won't pass certification and can thus, not be sold as PCIe 4.0 compatible.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,240 (2.79/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
PCI-e 4 need updated hardware which cannot be obtained by mere software update. Or you can really download updated PCI-e like RAM.
Yeah, it requires a CPU if you did not notice...

PCI-e 4.0 needs new wiring, which cannot be obtained simply by updating firmware.
Explain the firmware then. It's our and generally works.

It doesn't need new wiring. It's best to cert the wiring for the new standard though, or you may have... intermittent issues. With an SSD could be really worrisome.

PCI-e 4.0 needs new wiring, which cannot be obtained simply by updating firmware.
Explain the firmware then. It's our and generally works.

It doesn't need new wiring. It's best to cert the wiring for the new standard though, or you may have... intermittent issues. With an SSD could be really worrisome.

They come close, but not close enough.
They probably are transmitting at full speed, but dropping some data. PCIe error checking will fight this, but can only do so much.

Crappy risers in mining did similar things.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
39 (0.02/day)
Hmm, i was like 570x is a dealbraker in price, this kinda puts it back in play for me to get AMD.
i would be satisfied with 1 lane pcie-4.
Given the massive overclocking potential of the 3000 series I see your point
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
298 (0.59/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC to 4000 mhz (Ivy Brigde)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 9 Socket 1155 LGA
Cooling 240 mm water
Memory 16 gb 2600 mhz ddr3
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage Ssd ´s in raid.
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z
Case corsair obsidian 650d
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 Speaker
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550w
Mouse G900
Keyboard Hyper x
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M Time : 9,265 sec CPU-Z scores Version 2017.1 (x64) S-T 395 M-T 1945
Given the massive overclocking potential of the 3000 series I see your point
I felt the same in the beginning, then i kinda reckognized the workhorse it is.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,122 (0.49/day)
System Name Budget AMD System
Processor Threadripper 1900X @ 4.025Ghz (100x40.25 @ 1.325V)
Motherboard Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling EKWB X399 Monoblock
Memory 4x8GB GSkill TridentZ RGB 14-14-14-34 CR1 @ 2933
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX Vega₆⁴ Liquid @ 1,800Mhz Core, 1100 HBM2
Storage 1x ADATA SX8200 NVMe, 1x Segate 2.5" FireCuda 2TB SATA, 1x 500GB HGST SATA
Display(s) Vizio 22" 1080p 60hz TV (Samsung Panel)
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 850W KM3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
PCI-e 4.0 needs new wiring, which cannot be obtained simply by updating firmware.
The GPU's support new standard, then why we need new cable for new Display Port or HDMI standard?? Cause new standard has new requirement that old cable dont support. Like this new PCI-e need new wiring in PCB, old wiring were designed PCI-e 3.0 in mind not PCI-e 4.
It has nothing to due with wiring. It has all to do with signal integrity. I don't see why AMD won't just let the motherboard vendors work it out on their own? Just keep it enabled as an option but only officially support it on X570 and thats that. It costs AMD nothing.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,406 (1.11/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
It has nothing to due with wiring. It has all to do with signal integrity. I don't see why AMD won't just let the motherboard vendors work it out on their own? Just keep it enabled as an option but only officially support it on X570 and thats that. It costs AMD nothing.
Because it can cause serious problems. Users will blame AMD. Why is this so hard to understand?
 
Top