• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOSTAR M700 512 GB PCIe NVMe SSD

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,006 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
With just $50 for the tested 512 GB model, the BIOSTAR M700 M.2 NVMe SSD is the most affordable SSD we ever reviewed, even cheaper than most 2.5" SATA drives. Thanks to its fast PCIe x4 3.0 interface paired with an SMI controller, performance is good, too. Is there any reason left to buy a 2.5" SATA SSD?

Show full review
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,227 (0.33/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
That really is an amazing product for the price!
Just to be clear: it doesn't use any system DRAM for caching lookup tables like iirc some other DRAMless drives appear to do?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,743 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Spend the extra for random speed.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,947 (2.00/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
If you don't have a spare M2 slot. On a serious note though this is a great deal considering the price/performance ratio. Hopefully these will be available in Canada without too much of a cost premium.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,006 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Just to be clear: it doesn't use any system DRAM for caching lookup tables like iirc some other DRAMless drives appear to do?
Host-memory-buffer? I just double-checked, it supports 32 - 64 MB HMB
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,227 (0.33/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Host-memory-buffer? I just double-checked, it supports 32 - 64 MB HMB
Thanks! was wondering just in case it used a not-insignificant amount of system ram, and just because it's interesting from a technological point of view.

Seems like they did a great job finding their sweet-spot whilst balancing many factors.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,006 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Thanks! was wondering just in case it used a not-insignificant amount of system ram, and just because it's interesting from a technological point of view.

Seems like they did a great job finding their sweet-spot whilst balancing many factors.
64 MB is nothing for today's systems, almost a rounding error
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,227 (0.33/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
64 MB is nothing for today's systems, almost a rounding error
Indeed, cannot think of any scenario where it wouldn't be worth the trade-off, even in very low-cost systems where RAM is tight.
Even in hardware where the OS is so RAM starved its using this disk a lot as a swap file the 64MB HMB would probably do way more good boosting iops than it would do as 64MB of generic system RAM.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,006 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
would probably do way more good boosting iops than it would do as 64MB of generic system RAM.
absolutely, I almost wish HMB sizes would be bigger
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,227 (0.33/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
absolutely, I almost wish HMB sizes would be bigger
Would make for an interesting review if at some point you had a drive with a good controller, decent NAND flash, no RAM and a configurable size of HMB :D.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,335 (0.43/day)
Location
United Kingdom
The lack of TBW spec is a little worrying, but it's Intel flash so it's not like it's low-quality rejects like you find in the no-name-brand Chinese drives. I'm really surprised that Biostar is able to price this drive so low, especially considering it's using 64L NAND which AFAIK is more expensive. (In fact I didn't even know Intel was still making 64L, I thought they'd transitioned fully to 96L.)

It would be pretty cool to be able to configure HMB - IMO it should be a per-device no-reboot-needed SSD control panel thing. After all, if I have 32GB, I can afford to give 1GB of that to my SSD.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
3,146 (2.40/day)
Is this even a real product? Can you buy one?
Alibaba is the only seller I could find (200+ items per order).
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,523 (3.94/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Wow. That's a lot of SSD for a very reasonable price. That's a good little budget SSD.
Spend the extra for random speed.
I would replace my 4x1TB WD Black RAID-5 with a RAID-5 of these on one of those 4x M.2 expansion cards in a heartbeat if I had a machine that could do the PCIe aggregation magic to make that work. For $95 a pop for the 1TB model, that's really not too bad considering a 1TB WD Black is about $75.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2019
Messages
54 (0.52/day)
Location
NYC, NY
#1 The problem with M.2 NVME SSD is that most motherboards only have room for one. This isn't true for laptops - typically - which have room for 2 + 1 laptop HDD, but for a desktop user, space is everything.

#2 So you can only have one M.2 NVME SSD...you're gonna want to install the OS on it which takes up whatever space it takes - let's say 50GB for the OS + connected files like Windows Onedrive cloud storage.

#3 If you're a gamer, you won't want to have your games on sata SSD if you can help it. You'll want your most played games on the M.2 since the loading is faster while your old games collect dust on your slow HDD.

The only logical choice is to either use a small M.2 and then put your games on Sata SSD... or SPEND MORE AND GET A LARGER M.2.

You can get M.2 SSD for $199 in 2TB capacity...

I personally think the industry needs to focus squarely on 1TB and 2TB models.


However...lets say you do want a 500GB SSD... most gamers are gonna end up buying a Samsung Pro model.

I pretty much do everything on SSD due to the sheer speed, quiet and efficiency of it. The only HDD I keep around is for dumping large video files.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
258 (0.22/day)
Location
NJ, USA
#1 The problem with M.2 NVME SSD is that most motherboards only have room for one. This isn't true for laptops - typically - which have room for 2 + 1 laptop HDD, but for a desktop user, space is everything.

#2 So you can only have one M.2 NVME SSD...you're gonna want to install the OS on it which takes up whatever space it takes - let's say 50GB for the OS + connected files like Windows Onedrive cloud storage.

#3 If you're a gamer, you won't want to have your games on sata SSD if you can help it. You'll want your most played games on the M.2 since the loading is faster while your old games collect dust on your slow HDD.

The only logical choice is to either use a small M.2 and then put your games on Sata SSD... or SPEND MORE AND GET A LARGER M.2.

You can get M.2 SSD for $199 in 2TB capacity...

I personally think the industry needs to focus squarely on 1TB and 2TB models.


However...lets say you do want a 500GB SSD... most gamers are gonna end up buying a Samsung Pro model.

I pretty much do everything on SSD due to the sheer speed, quiet and efficiency of it. The only HDD I keep around is for dumping large video files.
A lack of m.2 slots is what a $15 PCIe x4 to m.2 adapters is made for... And have you checked SSD prices lately... I just picked up a 2TB HP EX950 m.2 drive (3500/3000 r/w) for $240 and you can find many 1TB models for under a $100...theyre basically the same price as Sata SSDs at this point so there's no reason to buy Sata.

Wow. That's a lot of SSD for a very reasonable price. That's a good little budget SSD.

I would replace my 4x1TB WD Black RAID-5 with a RAID-5 of these on one of those 4x M.2 expansion cards in a heartbeat if I had a machine that could do the PCIe aggregation magic to make that work. For $95 a pop for the 1TB model, that's really not too bad considering a 1TB WD Black is about $75.
It's called PCIe bifurcation. There are more expensive nvme raid adapters that have hardware level raid (unlike those simple 4x m.2 adapter by Asrock, Asus, gigabyte, etc) like my Highpoint Storage SSD7103... try looking into one of these
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
756 (2.21/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Most motherboards these days definitely have more than one M.2 slot... :rolleyes:

Games are rarely benefited by a super fast M.2 drive. I've only ever seen my games load at around 400 MBps, regardless of which SSD I am storing them on. I'll most likely end up grabbing a couple of large drives in the future, but for my current needs... pointless.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,719 (1.10/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Uncore @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L with Arctic MonoPlus and Yate Loon D14BH-12 Fan
Storage OS Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Games Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, HDD WD Black 4TB WD4005FZBX, 2xWD10EZEX
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Razer Naga Chroma '14, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
Most motherboards these days definitely have more than one M.2 slot... :rolleyes:

Games are rarely benefited by a super fast M.2 drive. I've only ever seen my games load at around 400 MBps, regardless of which SSD I am storing them on. I'll most likely end up grabbing a couple of large drives in the future, but for my current needs... pointless.
Unfortunately you lose SATA ports on some configurations.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
756 (2.21/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
If your storage is on M.2 ... who cares? You typically only lose two out of the six on average anyway.
 
Top