• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOSTAR Releases 3rd Gen Ryzen Support BIOS Updates for AM4 Motherboards

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,830 (8.67/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
BIOSTAR,a leading manufacturer of motherboards, graphics cards, and storage devices offers piece of mind for its customers, announcing the BIOSTAR AMD AM4 300-series and 400-series motherboardswill be compatible with upcoming 3rd Gen AMD RYZEN CPUs. BIOSTAR's engineering team have been working relentlessly prior to the availability of the upcoming CPUs to ensure BIOSTAR products keep their promise of ensuring customers get the best value without worrying about future upgrades.

Among the motherboard models eligible for BIOS update are: B350ET2, B350GT3, B350GT5, B350GTN, B450GT3, X370GT3, X370GT5, X370GT7, X370GTN, X470GT8, X470GTN, A320MD PRO, A320MH PRO, TA320-BTC, TB350-BTC, A320MY-Q7, A320MH, B45M2, B450MHC, B450MH, and Hi-Fi B350S1. You should be able to find the BIOS updates in the downloads section of the product pages of these motherboards on the BIOSTAR website.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
345 (0.42/day)
So as far as I understand, it is possible to get the A320 compatible with 3000 series CPUs. That's enough. Thank you again AMD for providing the same socket for at least 3-4 years.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2011
Messages
638 (0.21/day)
Location
Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
So as far as I understand, it is possible to get the A320 compatible with 3000 series CPUs. That's enough. Thank you again AMD for providing the same socket for at least 3-4 years.
This actually true though? I believe it was MSI or Gigabyte (ASRock maybe?) that mentioned their A320 boards would only support the 3rd Gen APUs (and not the CPUs) with these new BIOS updates.
 
Last edited:

tony359

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
14 (0.24/day)
Indeed but there is no mention on any limitations on Biostar’s statement. So finger crossed.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (4.27/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Indeed but there is no mention on any limitations on Biostar’s statement. So finger crossed.
It will depend on the power delivery capabilities of the board, I wouldn't recommend a high end chip on a crap board.
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,554 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
It will depend on the power delivery capabilities of the board, I wouldn't recommend a high end chip on a crap board.
Agreed!

Indeed but there is no mention on any limitations on Biostar’s statement. So finger crossed.
Do you honestly expect to be able to run a 16c / 32t or whatever highest core count chip AMD has planned for AM4 socket on an A320 board?

That said, i fully expect these boards to run up to 8c / 16t Zen 2 CPUs, just like with Zen + CPUs.
 

tony359

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
14 (0.24/day)
Do you honestly expect to be able to run a 16c / 32t or whatever highest core count chip AMD has planned for AM4 socket on an A320 board?

That said, i fully expect these boards to run up to 8c / 16t Zen 2 CPUs, just like with Zen + CPUs.
I fail to see the validity of your point here.
The A320 can accept the same 1st and 2nd gen CPUs the bigger brothers can. What makes you think that the A320 was designed with some limitations in mind?

All the contributions I’ve seen on this forum about why the A320 should not support gen 3 ryzen is ‘its cheap, it’s ok that does not support new CPUs’. Sorry but that doesn’t make any technical sense.

Also, it’s not only R9 being released. If the R9 or the bigger R7 are a problem, they could just easily make the A320 compatible with all the other models.
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,554 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
I fail to see the validity of your point here.
The A320 can accept the same 1st and 2nd gen CPUs the bigger brothers can. What makes you think that the A320 was designed with some limitations in mind?

All the contributions I’ve seen on this forum about why the A320 should not support gen 3 ryzen is ‘its cheap, it’s ok that does not support new CPUs’. Sorry but that doesn’t make any technical sense.

Also, it’s not only R9 being released. If the R9 or the bigger R7 are a problem, they could just easily make the A320 compatible with all the other models.
As i said in my previous reply, i'm expecting these boards to support up to 8c / 16t Zen 2 CPUs but i seriously doubt they will support higher core count Zen 2 CPUs.

Take a look @ the following pics:

AMD-Chipset-spec-768x485.jpg AMD-Socket-AM4-Chipset-Features-201803-600x338.jpg

As can be seen, though you can place an 8c / 16t CPU (Zen or Zen +) in A320 board, you lose quite a bit doing so because it's not available by design. These boards are designed with R3 Zen / Zen + CPUs in mind (and now Zen 2 CPUs as well, supposedly) and, though you can place a higher end CPU in these boards, you lose some of it's features.

I can give you my own example: i have a 2600X CPU in a X370 board. As a result, i don't have precision boost override nor XFR2 enhanced, which i would have if my board had X470 / B450 chipset.
 

tony359

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
14 (0.24/day)
I wasn’t aware of that - interesting. But still If a Ryzen 7 series 1 or 2 are supported, I really don’t see why series 3 shouldn’t. Following your logic, then series 2 should have not been supported either.

Don’t get me wrong, I get your point. What I cannot accept is that people agree that the A320 should not support series 3 because ‘it’s cheap’. That’s not a sound reason in my opinion.
 
Top