• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bitcoin mining with three 6990s?

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#1
A friend of mine who I bit coin mine with for fun has three 6990's and he has them in a GA-890FXA-UD7 board. He's running Ubuntu with the linux 11.6 driver and wants to be able to mine with all 6 gpu's

Only 4 are showing up, and I figured that was either a hardware or driver limitation. Is there any way to utilize all 6 gpu's independently?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#2
That is an interesting question. Does he see all 3 cards (6gpus) in device manager assuming he is running windows?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#3
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#4
Oops. This is what happens when you open a window, get distracted and come back and write a response ;)

I've never heard of anyone trying to run 6 video cards in one system. I'm genuinely curious if 4 is the limit.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#5
Well 6 gpu's, 3 cards. I've heard that the driver limits to 4 gpu's. I am just curious if there's a way around that to utilize all 6 gpu's independently...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#6
4 is the crossfire/sli limit I'm sure you can run more as independant units.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Enforcer
Processor i5 2500K @ 4,5 Hz
Motherboard MSI P65A-GD65 B3
Cooling stock
Memory Corsair 4Gb XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 1Gb
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 (1TB/SATA-II)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster BX2235 2ms
Case CM Enforcer
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX950w
Software Windows 7 64bit
#7
just wondering what on earth you need 3x 6990's for... i am mesmerized by that idea..
talk about overkill...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#8
just wondering what on earth you need 3x 6990's for... i am mesmerized by that idea..
talk about overkill...


Bitcoin mining, clues in title dude XD
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#9
He's not running them in crossfire. They are all running independently. He has 4 gpu's successfully mining at once, but he can't get it to acknowledge the 3rd card...
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Enforcer
Processor i5 2500K @ 4,5 Hz
Motherboard MSI P65A-GD65 B3
Cooling stock
Memory Corsair 4Gb XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 1Gb
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 (1TB/SATA-II)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster BX2235 2ms
Case CM Enforcer
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX950w
Software Windows 7 64bit
#10
Damn just read to fast... just read three 6990's..but still, i dont know anybody who has A hd 6990 let alone 3 :respect: .... but anyways my bad...;)
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
131 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
System Name FrosTByTe*
Processor AMD Athlon II X2 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI 880GM-E35
Cooling Rocketfish Universal CPU cooler. Push/Pull
Memory G. Skill Rip. 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) PNY GTS450 850/1850-
Storage WD 250GB
Display(s) Acer 20" LED
Case Dell Dimension 2400 Mod
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard HD audio
Power Supply 600w OCZ w. Custom LED fan
Software Win7 Home Premium 64bit
#11
More like stop mining and wasting your money. Well I guess if you have three 6990's you have enough dough. You could attempt CFX'ing the two cards and making a dummy plug for the third. Idea..
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#12
did you hear there was a website that was hidden and you could exchange bitcoins for drugs? you can also exchange bitcoins for real dollars i think

EDIT: I didnt know you couldnt crossfire 3x dual gpu cards?
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#13
Maybe you are better off looking for assistance in the Bitcoin thread? There are a few people on this forum that are addicted (for better or for worse) to BTC Mining.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#14
More like stop mining and wasting your money. Well I guess if you have three 6990's you have enough dough. You could attempt CFX'ing the two cards and making a dummy plug for the third. Idea..
It seems like almost no one reads the original post. I am not mining for money. This is a friend of mine who is asking if it's possible to utilize 3 6990's.

To no one in general: Just because someone has expensive things you can't afford doesn't mean they are stupid. Jealous anger is powerful. My friend has the money to do stuff like this for fun because he works hard every day. We're not rich spoiled brats. We're grown men with careers and businesses.

MilkyWay: Yeah i've heard of that. When that hit the news the price of bitcoins shot up.

I just follow the bitcoin market for fun. I am in the web hosting business. I make money off of leasing servers to people who bitcoin mine, etc. If you can't understand that I am sorry.

I didn't put this in a bitcoin thread because this is also a general AMD question. I want to know if you can utilize 3 6990's at once independently, that's all.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,102 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#15
have you tried running the folding client for linux and seeing how many gpu's that pulled up? Linux is pretty open and I don't think a specific limit would exist unless it were with the bitcoin client software itself. this is especially true if you're not crossfiring them.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#16
Yeah we pulled them up in linux and it would only physically show 2 of them. When I can I'll get him to get a hardware reading at command line and see if it even sees the 3rd one. I don't think it does at all.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
482 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#17
i just use dummy adapter or (putting the display cable on each graphic card and running the miner). seriously he bought 3x6990 for just mining i dont think it would be an easy way to get back his money assuming difficulty increasing pretty fast
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#18
So you're gonna pay like 2000 EUR in hardware to generate a worthless currency. There are better ways to throw money away. Like drugs and alcohol lol...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#20
So you're gonna pay like 2000 EUR in hardware to generate a worthless currency. There are better ways to throw money away. Like drugs and alcohol lol...


A whole bunch of people on this forum ( and other places) have got US dollars in exchange for their bit-coins, an amount which exceeded their electrical costs.

Like it cost them 20 in electrical and they got 30 back.(meaning they got paid 50 for their bit coins) It's not much money but if that's every week it all adds up for doing very very little.

( an extra 1500 a year in that example, meaning if you've already bought the hardware it will pay for it's self in most cases)

3 x 6990s if you get them to work will do more than that as well.

I'm sure there was a period when a bit coin was worth as much as a US dollar by the by. Not that long ego even.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#21
Bitcoins are currently fluctuating from $10-30 per coin. When you discover a block you get 50 coins.

If the coins are worth $20, then you get $1000 per block discovered in US Dollars.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#22
Bitcoins are currently fluctuating from $10-30 per coin. When you discover a block you get 50 coins.

If the coins are worth $20, then you get $1000 per block discovered in US Dollars.
DAMN :laugh: The value has increased quite a damn lot then.

Waiting for my other 6870 before I start again though .
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
I know the limit for GPUs is 8 in Windows, AFAIK, so there might be some kind of similar limit in Linux, but it might be 4, so the third card won't show up.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#24
He actually had the same issue in Windows. Only 4 gpu's out of 6 would show up.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#25
He actually had the same issue in Windows. Only 4 gpu's out of 6 would show up.
Even in device manager? ( guessing yes)

Have you tried on the AMD developer forums see if they can help you out?

I saw a thread not that long ago entitled " 6 gpus fine, 8 gpus fail why?" so must be possible.

Generally there's only like one AMD dev there :laugh: but the regulars could probably help out.


I'm also guessing you've tried plugging in an extra monitor into the last 6990 before you boot up?