• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bitcoins!

Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Running 1000 core 785 memory (afterburner minimum) now, thanks :)
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
I made an ccc oc profile then edited the memory clock to stay the same as idle 960 core 300 mem .
how do you do that? I just realized that the actually mem seed stays at 1050 anyways :( so I'd loive to do 1000 core 300 idle :D
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
283 (0.09/day)
Likes
81
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor Phenom II X3 720 BE @ 3.15 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima
Memory Corsair XMS2, 2x2 GB DDR2, 800 MHz, CL5
Video Card(s) Asus R9 270X DirectCu II
Storage Caviar Black 500 GB & Caviar Green 1 TB
Display(s) Dell U2311H (23'' IPS)
Case Gigabyte GZ-X5
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Win 7 Pro 64-bit
how do you do that?
Something along these lines:
  1. You make a profile in Catalyst and name it appropriately
  2. You go to:
    C:\Users\*your username*\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Profiles
  3. Open the profile you just made in Notepad
  4. You set the desired Memory clock under:
    <Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_0">
    (put the desired frequency in all 3 fields)
  5. Save the file and load the profile
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
283 (0.09/day)
Likes
81
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor Phenom II X3 720 BE @ 3.15 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima
Memory Corsair XMS2, 2x2 GB DDR2, 800 MHz, CL5
Video Card(s) Asus R9 270X DirectCu II
Storage Caviar Black 500 GB & Caviar Green 1 TB
Display(s) Dell U2311H (23'' IPS)
Case Gigabyte GZ-X5
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Win 7 Pro 64-bit
How do you do this? :p thanks
  1. Open Catalyst
  2. In the left menu, click Presets
  3. Click Add Preset...
  4. Fill the required info, like Name of the profile, Tooltip info (optional, for convenience)... if you want, assign a (global) Hotkey for it, etc
  5. Click Save, and that should be that
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
even after that it still runs at 1050
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
it should look like this <Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_0">
<Property name="Want_0" value="30000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="30000" />
<Property name="Want_2" value="30000" />
then click aply the created modified profile two times .
still no-go :mad:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
So how do I know if it's working?

The bitcoin client itself is on Generating with the small CPU 5,000k/hash on the bottom left, and the GPU client displays the 220,000k/hash, but other then that nothing's changed in the last 12 hours...

I think I posted a pic of it, so is everything working correctly? It just seems strange to me for NOTHING to show up, not even like a status or something.

EDIT: The pic is near the middle of Page 4.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
I'm actually thinking of doing pooled mining now, since (supposedly) the difficulty of generation is going to be 40% more than it is now, in a couple of weeks.

So when is http://mining.bitcoin.cz/ going to open registration???

Also, what exactly do I have to do to make the GPU client and everything work with the pool?

EDIT: Just saw this helpful explanation from Aphex:


I would just like to say that with the money I generated I have bought me Crysis 2 off newegg for $50 :)

This Bitcoin is equivalent to legally pirating not only Digital but Material things now as well. Pirating in that the money used to buy it literally came out of thin air!



When you make a batch file for m0mchil's GPU miner for example add the --host http://mining.bitcoin.cz so you can work for the pool.

Also in the batch and for Bitcoin you have to use the same user and pass (which you should already have done).

Go to http://mining.bitcoin.cz/accounts/profile/ make an account there if you haven't and then add a worker with the login and pass you have set up in your batch and Bitcoin program.

When you do that it adds a "Youraccount Name"."the user name you made for the worker"

So my account at Mining.bitcoin is Aphex,the user name I gave in the batch is Dreamer so the final user name I'm using in Bitcoin and the batch file I made is Ahpex.Dreamer

so your batch file will look something like this for m0mchil's GPU miner


start /DC:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215 poclbm.exe --user=Aphex.Dreamer --pass=******* --device=0 --host=mining.bitcoin.cz

The key is that the login and pass is the same for everything.

When you run bitcoin as bitcoin.exe -server and then run the batch that uses your GPU your GPU will start looking for coins in bitcoin for the pool.

You can verify that its working cause when you look under workers under the account page at http://mining.bitcoin.cz, current shares and score should be going up. If its zero you haven't done something right.


Hope this helps.



Lowering it back to the default had no negative impact. I think they were right, thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
WOOT!

I just checked my client today and it generated a block!!! :D :D :D

It says 95 confirmations remaining, so I guess it'll take a while before I can use the coins but still, pretty amazing!

Just wondering if I should try to trade it on Mt Gox or hope for another block so I can get the 70 or so BTC required for that $50 Virtual Visa card... hrmmm
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
is it normal that after my 1st block was generated, the confirmation number keeps on going up? im at 306 confirmations >.>
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
is it normal that after my 1st block was generated, the confirmation number keeps on going up? im at 306 confirmations >.>
Doesn't it stop at 120 confirmations? I'm pretty sure that's all it needs before it's confirmed.

Maybe it's a glitch? You could try restarting your client maybe.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Doesn't it stop at 120 confirmations? I'm pretty sure that's all it needs before it's confirmed.

Maybe it's a glitch? You could try restarting your client maybe.
still continues.. at 307 now :(
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
still continues.. at 307 now :(
Hmm... when you double click on it, what does it say?

I also suggest looking through/searching the bitcoin forums themselves for the issue, and if it lasts a REALLY long time, you could always contact the bitcoin staff.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Hey Aphex, do you know if you can move the funds of a Virtual Visa card to a bank account?

If I end up getting a few of them, I'd rather have the funds in one place instead of a bunch of separate balances.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Does your balance still say 0.00?

Maybe it's confirmed and you didn't notice?
nono my balance is 50, but I just am wondering why the confirmations just keep going up
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
nono my balance is 50, but I just am wondering why the confirmations just keep going up
Oh!

I thought you weren't getting the money at all. :rolleyes:

Well it shouldn't really be an issue... I wouldn't see it as a problem, as long as it was confirmed at 120.

While it's confirming the blocks, it doesn't use any (maybe a VERY little) amount of your hash rate, so it should still be able to get future blocks fine.

If you do however run into some problems other then the number rising, I suggest contacting support, they probably know the most about the issue.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
He did get the Bitcoins it always goes up. Each Block is part of a chain, as that chain goes up it goes back to your block and confirms it.

At least thats my very vague understanding of that.

Hey Aphex, do you know if you can move the funds of a Virtual Visa card to a bank account?

If I end up getting a few of them, I'd rather have the funds in one place instead of a bunch of separate balances.
You can make a paypal and use the Gift card as a the Credit card. Then make another Paypal with your Bank info and send the money from the Gift Card Paypal to the Your Bank Account Paypal.

Thats the best way I can think of atm. Maybe there is a better way but I don't know it.


You could always try selling it.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
It's too bad the ratio isn't 1:1 on that virtual visa site, means I have to get a second block before cashing anything in >_<
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
It's too bad the ratio isn't 1:1 on that virtual visa site, means I have to get a second block before cashing anything in >_<
Yeah but it changes with Bitcoin value. Like I said it used to be almost 1:1 but as soon as the bitcoin lost value it went up.

Who knows. Maybe when you get your second block it will be more 1:1 or less :p
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
172 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name derp
Processor Athlon II X4 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASROCK (exact model number not readily available)
Cooling Lots of fans?
Memory 4gb DDR3 G-Skill
Video Card(s) PowerColor 1gb 5850 hd
Storage 650gb Seagate
Display(s) Westington 19" 1440x900
Case Some Cooler Master case
Power Supply hec ORION 585w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Yeah but it changes with Bitcoin value. Like I said it used to be almost 1:1 but as soon as the bitcoin lost value it went up.

Who knows. Maybe when you get your second block it will be more 1:1 or less :p
I just hope I get that second block before the upcoming 40% difficulty increase, and if I don't, I hope at least that that pool site's registration opens soon. :(