• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black Ops III: 12 GB RAM and GTX 980 Ti Not Enough

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
39,813 (8.40/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
This year's installment to the Call of Duty franchise, Black Ops III, has just hit stores, and is predictably flying off shelves. As with every ceremonial annual release, Black Ops III raises the visual presentation standards for the franchise. There is, however, one hitch with the way the game deals with system memory amounts as high as 12 GB and video memory amounts as high as 8 GB. This hitch could possibly be the reason behind the stuttering issues many users are reporting.

In our first play-through of the game with its highest possible settings on our personal gaming machines - equipped with a 2560 x 1600 pixels display, Core i7 "Haswell" quad-core CPU, 12 GB of RAM, a GeForce GTX 980 Ti graphics card, NVIDIA's latest Black Ops III Game Ready driver 385.87, and Windows 7 64-bit to top it all off, we noticed that the game was running out of memory. Taking a peek at Task Manager revealed that in "Ultra" settings (and 2560 x 1600 resolution), the game was maxing out memory usage within our 12 GB, not counting the 1.5-2 GB used up by the OS and essential lightweight tasks (such as antivirus).



We also noticed game crashes as little as 10 seconds into gameplay, on a machine with 8 GB of system memory and a GTX 980 Ti.


What's even more interesting is its video memory behavior. The GTX 980 Ti, with its 6 GB video memory, was developing a noticeable stutter. This stutter disappeared on the GTX TITAN X, with its 12 GB video memory, in which memory load shot up from maxed out 6 GB on the GTX 980 Ti, to 8.4 GB on the video memory. What's more, system memory usage dropped with the GTX TITAN X, down to 8.3 GB.



On Steam Forums, users report performance issues that don't necessarily point at low FPS (frames per second), but stuttering, especially at high settings. Perhaps the game needs better memory management. Once we installed 16 GB RAM in the system, the game ran buttery-smooth with our GTX 980 Ti.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
678 (0.23/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name TheDeeGee's PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC (Custom Cooler)
Storage Crucial BX500 1TB, 2x Western Digital 2TB 2,5"
Display(s) EIZO CX240
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Didn't know the CoD Series was still a thing.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,884 (1.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable? / New Portable?
Processor i7 8086K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Xeon E52650v2 / i7 7700HQ / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R720) / HP Omen Stock / Asrock X570 ITX
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop / Dell Stock / HP Stock / Noctua L9i (Yes L9i)
Memory Corsair RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / DDR3 128gb 16 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb / Corsair RGB 3200 16gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580 / GTX 970 (Temp)
Storage Samsung 970 1tb NVME and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R720 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17 / Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt / Dell Stock 750 / Brick / Fractal Design 450 Watt Bronze
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home / Windows 10 Pro
Are you serious??? There is no way they need that much Vram to run that game realistically...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
798 (0.37/day)
Processor I5 4690K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 7
Cooling Swiftech H140X
Memory 16GB Crucial BallistiX 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage 850 PRO 1TB SSD, 840 EVO 500GB SSD, 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Nixeus EDG 27-Inch IPS 1440P, 144HZ 16:9
Case NZXT H440 Red/Black
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse G600
Keyboard G710+
Software Win 10 64B
Didn't know the CoD Series was still a thing.
Its not really, its just a money grab at this point.

Definitely not even thinking about picking this game up, especially after seeing this crap lol.

Certainly not upgrading anything in my system to play a new call of duty game.

The originals were amazing games. But like I said, its just a money grab now.

I would like to see a remake of a WW2 game, only problem is they will never make another call of duty with the COD2 layout. I WANT a custom server browser..... Not some lame matchmaking non-sense.

Are you serious??? There is no way they need that much Vram to run that game realistically for that game...
Agreed, this is just absurd.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar
Cooling BeQuiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 16 GB DDR4 3333 MHz Kingston
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 56 Pulse
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 650W Gold
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Activision must be jealous to the "attention" what WB got with Batman: AK if they allowed to release this... :wtf:
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
678 (0.23/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name TheDeeGee's PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC (Custom Cooler)
Storage Crucial BX500 1TB, 2x Western Digital 2TB 2,5"
Display(s) EIZO CX240
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
I would like to see a remake of a WW2 game, only problem is they will never make another call of duty with the COD2 layout. I WANT a custom server browser..... Not some lame matchmaking non-sense.
Ye... the last CoD i played was the very first one.

I remember playing the Demo over and over at the time, was such an epic experience. As bad as WW2 was, it just has an awesome vibe to it.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.36/day)
One thing is pushing the limits and another just being lazy. Craming gazillion textures and polygons in engine and requiring super computer is just moronic. It just means they put ZERO effort in designing the engine, they just crammed everything into it. That's why Unreal Engine 4 runs on pretty much anything no matter what even with most likely same fidelity as this CoD.

Because if those are the specs, not many people can actually run that. I mean, I have 32GB RAM so I don't care, but graphic card is still "just" 4GB (GTX 980). If you want to target the broadest target public, you can't have specs like this. Or it has to look like nothing we've seen to date. Frankly, I doubt that will be the case...
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,906 (0.66/day)
Location
UK
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
How on earth did they pull this off? Did they just decide to load the entirety of the game into the RAM and VRAM?

COD BLOPS3: the new Crysis.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,886 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Alphacool custom loop
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage Sandisk 120GB, Samsung 256GB & 3x Kingston 480GB SSD + WD 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3 - 4K via DSR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
What about Windows 10 or even 8.1?

It would be fun to try it with my i3/8GB/GTX670/W10Pro PC. :)

COD BLOPS3: the new Crysis.
Crysis wasn't so hungry for RAM/VRAM, just GPU horsepower.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,626 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
When I played the beta I did better on an AMD 7850 with a R9 280x
Than I did with an I5 3570k with a R9 280x..
I'm not sure why...it stuttered like crazy with the 3570...I just figured it was a beta bug
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.36/day)
How on earth did they pull this off? Did they just decide to load the entirety of the game into the RAM and VRAM?

COD BLOPS3: the new Crysis.
But in all honesty, while Crysis is still super demanding, it looked spectacular at time and is in a way still a benchmark for visual fidelity. Mostly because it's SO old but looks like it was released a year or two ago...
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,906 (0.66/day)
Location
UK
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
I know I know. I'm just abusing the can it run Crysis joke.

COD BLOPS3: needs more RAM than Chrome!

sorry I'm in a meme mood
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
450 (0.25/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Velka
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard MSI MPG X570
Cooling Wraith stealth
Memory Corsair vengeance 3000mhz
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb/ 1tb WD blue/ 500gb Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) LG 29UM68 Free Sync Enabled
Case Corsair 400r
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores No thanks
why are people calling this the new crysis? Wont this just be patched in no time and then it will be just another call of duty game.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,341 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Call of Shitty. Avoid like the plague. Fun for consoles, because they lack so many things that PC gamers do have access to. Otherwise...

moving along :)
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
4,487 (1.88/day)
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI Z270 SLI Plus
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 4TB
Display(s) Dell 27 inch 1440p 144 Hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850 W Gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
Didn't know the CoD Series was still a thing.
Sales of COD games has dropped off since Black Ops 2 which generated $500 million dollars in sales on the first day of release but the franchise is still pretty strong. Last year COD Advanced Warfare was the best selling video game.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,703 (3.11/day)
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
But in all honesty, while Crysis is still super demanding, it looked spectacular at time and is in a way still a benchmark for visual fidelity. Mostly because it's SO old but looks like it was released a year or two ago...
crysis never crashed me ... not even with a medium video card!
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
1,019 (0.31/day)
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
But in all honesty, while Crysis is still super demanding, it looked spectacular at time and is in a way still a benchmark for visual fidelity. Mostly because it's SO old but looks like it was released a year or two ago...
Use a custom cfg and an HD texture pak and it looks absolutely (even more) epic! Crysis was one of those games that will go down in history for everything that it meant in terms of pushing visual fidelity. The game aged pretty well still looks awesome even for today's standards.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
6,886 (2.25/day)
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Huawei Mediapad M5/Xiaomi Mi Box S/TCL 10 Pro
Processor i5-6600K 3.9/E8500/Kirin960 4xA73/4xA53 /S905X 4X1.5 A53/Snapdragon 675
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/uh?/uh?/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /aluminum heatsink/Aluminum heatsink/Heatpipe
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/4gb LPDDR4/2gb LPDDR3/6gb LPDDR4X dual channel
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/Asus 8800 Ultra/Mali G71MP8/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 612
Storage 120gb VertexIII,1tb/8gb SSHD,2x1tb,NVMe 512gb,ext1tb P1+Arion/none/32gb+256gb/8gb/128gbUFS 2.1+256gb
Display(s) X58222 32"5ms OC 75hz 2880x1620/8.4" 2560x1600/273E3LHSB 27"1ms 1920x1080/~4" 480x800/6.4 inch FHD+
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/Aluminum and tempered glass/None/alu frame +back/front glass GG5
Audio Device(s) Fiio Q1 Mark II+Logitec Z333/SB Audigy2 Platinum/AK4376+Harman Kardon speaker/HDMI/Fiio Fa1
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/12v 1.5A/J5 Create QC3.0 9-12V 1.96A
Mouse Speedlink Sovos Vertical-Asus ROG Spatha-Logitech MX Ergo/touch/Xiaomi XMRM-006/touch
Keyboard GMMK TKL+Gateron Red+white keys/touch/none/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 custom/Android TV 8.1/Android 9.1.0
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
well wasn't COD:Ghost RAM hungry (for the standard at the time) around 6gb needed or it wouldn't run?

that one put the challenge a bit higher tho (ABOUT TWICE HIGHER???? o_O )

edit... about vRAM ... HELL!?!? 6gb is not enough ... hello 8gb 390/x/290/x...
well i have a 980 4gb but i am not interested in COD games anymore (although Ghost was fun when i played it )
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,123 (1.42/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Holy cow... where they do find the coder monkeys? Or are they blind during testing phase?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,884 (1.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable? / New Portable?
Processor i7 8086K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Xeon E52650v2 / i7 7700HQ / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R720) / HP Omen Stock / Asrock X570 ITX
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop / Dell Stock / HP Stock / Noctua L9i (Yes L9i)
Memory Corsair RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / DDR3 128gb 16 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb / Corsair RGB 3200 16gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580 / GTX 970 (Temp)
Storage Samsung 970 1tb NVME and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R720 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17 / Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt / Dell Stock 750 / Brick / Fractal Design 450 Watt Bronze
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home / Windows 10 Pro
well wasn't COD:Ghost RAM hungry (for the standard at the time) around 6gb needed or it wouldn't run?

that one put the challenge a bit higher tho (ABOUT TWICE HIGHER???? o_O )

edit... about vRAM ... HELL!?!? 6gb is not enough ... hello 8gb 390/x/290/x...
well i have a 980 4gb but i am not interested in COD games anymore (although Ghost was fun when i played it )
So basically we are stuck with about 5 video cards with enough video memory to run this game at ultra...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,915 (3.50/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
So basically we are stuck with about 5 video cards with enough video memory to run this game at ultra...
or have 16 GB RAM, which makes GTX 980 Ti work flawlessly
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,123 (1.42/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
or have 16 GB RAM, which makes GTX 980 Ti work flawlessly
Does the game during intro show some logos like sponsored by Micron, Nanya or Samsung?

It would explain a lot :D.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Location
St. Louis, MO
System Name Alienware 17R4 / Desktop
Processor Intel Core i7-6820HK @ 3.6 Ghz / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Alienware 17R4 / ASUS X570-F
Cooling Laptop Cooling / Cooler Master AIO
Memory 32GB Crucial Ballistix LT DDR4-2400 / 32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 1070 GTX (Internal) / EVGA 2080 Super Ultra FTW3
Storage 500GB WD Black NVMe / 1TB Inland Premium / 500GB RD400 RevoDrive / 2TB Inland Premium
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG279QM
Case Alienware 17R4 / Inwin 101 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933 Artemis / EVGA Nu Audio Pro w/ Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro Red Dragon GM300 Microphone
Power Supply 330W Dell PSU / G.Skill 850W Platinum
Mouse Logitech M600 / Logitech G903 / Razer Viper Chroma / Razer Naga Infinity
Keyboard Logitech G613 /Razer Huntsman Elite / Tartarus Pro
Yup Call of Dooty.... and I do mean Dooty.... I really wish they would just go back to keeping it simple like with CoD4.... it almost seems like they are the Apple of video games.... they add all these "features" that other games have used and executed better in previous titles but once CoD does it, it is all ohhhhhh mmerrrr gawwwddd melting my face...... etc etc... They are just very lazy.

Console kiddies will gobble this up as always as that's the bigger market... but still... this series just needs to go away for awhile to give itself time to reinvent. They are just snagging and grabbing from other titles now.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
798 (0.37/day)
Processor I5 4690K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 7
Cooling Swiftech H140X
Memory 16GB Crucial BallistiX 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage 850 PRO 1TB SSD, 840 EVO 500GB SSD, 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Nixeus EDG 27-Inch IPS 1440P, 144HZ 16:9
Case NZXT H440 Red/Black
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse G600
Keyboard G710+
Software Win 10 64B
So basically we are stuck with about 5 video cards with enough video memory to run this game at ultra...
Yup Call of Dooty.... and I do mean Dooty.... I really wish they would just go back to keeping it simple like with CoD4.... it almost seems like they are the Apple of video games.... they add all these "features" that other games have used and executed better in previous titles but once CoD does it, it is all ohhhhhh mmerrrr gawwwddd melting my face...... etc etc... They are just very lazy.

Console kiddies will gobble this up as always as that's the bigger market... but still... this series just needs to go away for awhile to give itself time to reinvent. They are just snagging and grabbing from other titles now.
I foresee this affecting the sales of this game big time....(PC Sales) -consoles always do well with the kidz) I mean its already a money grab series, most people who enjoyed the original ones, are not buying the new ones because of how stupid the gameplay now is... Also too, I am pretty sure that most people who want this game will be younger kids who want to play another Call Of Duty run n gun spray n pray game

All these perks/attachments/killing streaks are just lame, you don't need any actual skill to get first place, its basically who can out cheese the other player, this is the main reason I stopped playing. The original games actually took teamwork/skill
If only, they would just make a simplistic barebones shooter like the originals with a custom server browser.... I would buy it in a heartbeat.
 
Last edited:
Top