• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

black screen after playing games for a while (Radeon X1950Pro)

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#26
ATI tool is a good one to heat up and test a video card - and its made by the admin of this very site (look on the homepage for links)
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
South East England
Processor Pentium D 920 2.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Akasa AK-961
Memory 2GB Generic 533MHz DDR2 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X850XT Crossfire Edition w/ Arctic ATi Silencer 5 Revision 2
Storage Western Digital Caviar SE 320GB SATA-I, Generic 160GB SATA-II
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 60Hz @ 1280x1024
Case Cooler Master WaveMaster
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC882 (Onboard)
Power Supply Hiper Type R 480W
Software Vista Ultimate, XP Pro For Games
#27
My screen blacks our for 3 seconds after playing games for a while, then comes back. But by that time I've been killed, and it happens every time I play a game, about half an hour in.

Whether I have fan speed dynamic or at 100%, still happens, and temperatures only reach 44*C max so it's not the heat. =\ But it's not a monitor problem, cos it only happens while playing games.

I vote for ATi Tray Tools, a very good piece of software.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#28
My screen blacks our for 3 seconds after playing games for a while, then comes back. But by that time I've been killed, and it happens every time I play a game, about half an hour in.

Whether I have fan speed dynamic or at 100%, still happens, and temperatures only reach 44*C max so it's not the heat. =\ But it's not a monitor problem, cos it only happens while playing games.

I vote for ATi Tray Tools, a very good piece of software.
sounds like somethings overheating (some of thiose cards have VRM chips that could overheat, while your temp reading is only for the core) or a PSU issue.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#29
mine would sometimes start artifacting after a few hours on c&c3, i underclock the memory by about 10mhz,
never happens when thats set. -10mhz is not noticable
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#30
Speedy, I'm pretty sure the PSU is going to be the problem. However, before you replace that , have you replaced the thermal compound on the 1950 yet?
I second that ;)
Whats your psu and how many amps does it push on the 12v rail?

I had the same issues a while back with my X1950pro on a dell 350watt psu... switched to an OCZ 600W GameXstream (did a bit of drilling and cutting in the dell case and viola)

Fixed!
 

Farseer

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#31
Hi speedy11131 and others!
I've got the same problem but guess what! After 3 weeks of searching and all that stuffs finally I've found solution for this problem.
First of all I was thinking that maybe this is something wrong with my psu, 550W EzCool - but I was wrong, and I'm pretty sure in your situation neither. Open your computer case (from the both sides), let some air into ur hardware. After that buy some heatsinks (I've those http://www.coolercases.co.uk/acatalog/zalman_sinks.jpg) on vItec chip, you can find him near original cooling at your Sapphire Radeon x1950pro.

That worked for me, try this solution, you can also place these heatsinks on any other chip on card :).
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#32
Hi speedy11131 and others!
I've got the same problem but guess what! After 3 weeks of searching and all that stuffs finally I've found solution for this problem.
First of all I was thinking that maybe this is something wrong with my psu, 550W EzCool - but I was wrong, and I'm pretty sure in your situation neither. Open your computer case (from the both sides), let some air into ur hardware. After that buy some heatsinks (I've those http://www.coolercases.co.uk/acatalog/zalman_sinks.jpg) on vItec chip, you can find him near original cooling at your Sapphire Radeon x1950pro.

That worked for me, try this solution, you can also place these heatsinks on any other chip on card :).
Welcome to TPU!.

I read about some guy doing this and it worked.
Maybe you were the one who posted about this in another forum?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#33
I tried to OC my HD 3850 to 850mhz core and the screen went black after like 2 mins of playing lol
 

Farseer

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#34
I read about some guy doing this and it worked.
Maybe you were the one who posted about this in another forum?
Nah that wasn't me ;).

The point is, that in Sapphire model of x1950pro vItec chip has got poor cooling system.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#35
More like what vItec cooling system.
The reference cooler on the Revision 1 Sapphire models has the poorest cooling out of the lot, but I don't overclock my card away, since you really don't get that much more out of them.
Especially when compared to thier nVidia rival.

I haven't had any issues with my Sapphire X1950pro 512mb.
It's gets to it's typical temps with the reference cooler.
It blows quite hot air on to the cover over the screws in the back on my case when gaming, making it nearly too hot to touch.
But what do you expect when it's working away at 82deg.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,565 (0.49/day)
Likes
542
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#36
It could be a psu problem, as far as i remember the x1950 was rated at 36amps, Even my old x1650 pro was rated at 26amps.