1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

black screen after playing games for a while (Radeon X1950Pro)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by speedy11131, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,930 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,125
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ATI tool is a good one to heat up and test a video card - and its made by the admin of this very site (look on the homepage for links)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. xXxJiggabobxXx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    South East England
    My screen blacks our for 3 seconds after playing games for a while, then comes back. But by that time I've been killed, and it happens every time I play a game, about half an hour in.

    Whether I have fan speed dynamic or at 100%, still happens, and temperatures only reach 44*C max so it's not the heat. =\ But it's not a monitor problem, cos it only happens while playing games.

    I vote for ATi Tray Tools, a very good piece of software.
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,930 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,125
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    sounds like somethings overheating (some of thiose cards have VRM chips that could overheat, while your temp reading is only for the core) or a PSU issue.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    scotland
    mine would sometimes start artifacting after a few hours on c&c3, i underclock the memory by about 10mhz,
    never happens when thats set. -10mhz is not noticable
     
  5. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I second that ;)
    Whats your psu and how many amps does it push on the 12v rail?

    I had the same issues a while back with my X1950pro on a dell 350watt psu... switched to an OCZ 600W GameXstream (did a bit of drilling and cutting in the dell case and viola)

    Fixed!
     
  6. Farseer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi speedy11131 and others!
    I've got the same problem but guess what! After 3 weeks of searching and all that stuffs finally I've found solution for this problem.
    First of all I was thinking that maybe this is something wrong with my psu, 550W EzCool - but I was wrong, and I'm pretty sure in your situation neither. Open your computer case (from the both sides), let some air into ur hardware. After that buy some heatsinks (I've those http://www.coolercases.co.uk/acatalog/zalman_sinks.jpg) on vItec chip, you can find him near original cooling at your Sapphire Radeon x1950pro.

    That worked for me, try this solution, you can also place these heatsinks on any other chip on card :).
     
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Welcome to TPU!.

    I read about some guy doing this and it worked.
    Maybe you were the one who posted about this in another forum?
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I tried to OC my HD 3850 to 850mhz core and the screen went black after like 2 mins of playing lol
     
  9. Farseer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nah that wasn't me ;).

    The point is, that in Sapphire model of x1950pro vItec chip has got poor cooling system.
     
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    More like what vItec cooling system.
    The reference cooler on the Revision 1 Sapphire models has the poorest cooling out of the lot, but I don't overclock my card away, since you really don't get that much more out of them.
    Especially when compared to thier nVidia rival.

    I haven't had any issues with my Sapphire X1950pro 512mb.
    It's gets to it's typical temps with the reference cooler.
    It blows quite hot air on to the cover over the screws in the back on my case when gaming, making it nearly too hot to touch.
    But what do you expect when it's working away at 82deg.
     
  11. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    It could be a psu problem, as far as i remember the x1950 was rated at 36amps, Even my old x1650 pro was rated at 26amps.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)