• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Black screen showing only mouse pointer after Windows Update

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#1
every time i install windows updates and reboot i get a black screen with the mouse and nothing else.

i cannot get into safemode either. it does the same thing. black screen with mouse.

i have to boot from the install dvd and run system restore to get it back to the desktop.

i have tried to figure out which update thats doing it and have had no success.

any idea what to do?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#3
Is windows upgrading any drivers or is it installing that new genuine tool. Its supposidly hard on the system and can cause problems.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#5
neither. just critical updates.

i cant even do system restore now.
my laptop goes to login, i enter my password. and sometimes it takes 2-3 mins with a black screen and a mouse till the desktop finally loads. If you have waited longer than this, then it could be the black screen of death.

There is a fix for it i just have to find it
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#7
i've waited over an hour. nothing happens.

i cant get into the OS or safemode or even do system restore now.
http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?id=58307

the first post there "may" work but i have my doubts. you should be able to make a txt file there by booting repair mode off the windows install disk.

Im skepticle about updating the windows updates i got at the bottom of my screen now.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Boot from the DVD, it should give the ability to do a system restore from there.

Then install each update one at a time, rebooting after each one, even if it doesn't require it until you find the one that causes the problem.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#9
Boot from the DVD, it should give the ability to do a system restore from there.

Then install each update one at a time, rebooting after each one, even if it doesn't require it until you find the one that causes the problem.
cant. says it cannot find the OS partition

but

somehow it trys to boot to windows so there is a MBR there.

i have tried to repair the MBR and it says it has repaired it but i still cant see the old install from the dvd at all.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#10
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#11

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#12
Sounds like a malware somewhere to me.