• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black screen when I reboot after successfully flashing my 6950 to 6970

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#1
I just got a reference Msi 6950 2Gb card, I installed the 12.4 drivers. rebooted. then downloaded the techpowerup atiwinflash, 6970 bios, I do it all correctly, load program, then reboot.

6970 says it flashed fine and even says verified like it is supposed to, after reboot though it just a black screen when it loads up to windows. I can hear windows at the login screen and everything... thoughts?
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#2
fyi the card does have dual bios switch, and I have flashed bios 1 back to 6950 bios several times now, it works fine as 6950.

just can't seem to get past the black screen on reboot. I even the cmd command like it says to do on techpowerups guide if you run into any errors. I had no errors though is the weird thing.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,144
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#3
Are your video drivers uninstalled while doing this? They should be.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#4
ah I did not realize that was necessary. thanks erocker, you rock! xD :love: erocker /t erocker /hug xD

hope this works lol
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#5
hmm, uninstalled drivers, and still says success in 6970 flash but after reboot black screen. just flashed back to 6950, if anyone else has had this problem please enlighten me. ^^
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#6

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#7
hmm I did everything motherboardsorg said to do, win98 boot flash drive, i made into dos win98 after f8 and everything... flashed successfully, rebooted, and got a black screen after hearing win7 boot up yet again. guess I got a reference dud. :( sad day
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,971
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#8
hmm I did everything motherboardsorg said to do, win98 boot flash drive, i made into dos win98 after f8 and everything... flashed successfully, rebooted, and got a black screen after hearing win7 boot up yet again. guess I got a reference dud. :( sad day
Rumour has it ASUS did soemthing to motherboard BIOS code with version 3xxx+ BIOS for flashed 6950-to-6970. I haven't run into this myself, but many users report this problem, one referenced a note from ASUS support about it.

I, however, prefer to not put on the tinfoil hat.:roll:
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#9
oh well it is not that big of a deal I guess. I am not much into gaming anymore anyway... reason I sold my 680 while it was still a hot ticket item.
 

Jaro

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Poland
#10
6950 to 6970 with Asus - solved

Hello everybody, this is my first post, and sorry for my English. I had the same problem - black screen after flashing Sapphire 6950 to 6970 on Asus P8Z77-V. A lot of Asus (and probably other brands) motherboard users witch Z77/Z68 chipset have the same problem. My flashed card worked excellent on my previous mobo - Asus P5QL-E. Asus probably blocks flashed cards (6950 with 6970 bios) from using. On this forum is few solutions with unlocking shaders and changing clocks – to do it we have to edit 6950 bios - sometimes it works, but this is only modified 6950 Bios. My solution is simply. Take your target 6970 bios, edit with RBE, change "video card ID" from 6970 to 6950, save, flash. Now motherboard recognize it as standard 6950, but we have full functional 6970 witch 1536 shaders, 880/1375 clocks, new clocks limits, proper voltages and fan profile. It works for me, and I hope it will for others.
 

Gbear

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
S.A
#11
awesome I will try that as it seems like a good idea. although I had some excellent advice from thaspacepope. and simple to if you are able to use MSI Afterburner then check out this link that ThaSpacePope sent me it truly rocks as now I can leave the card at those crappy clock settings of 800/1200 and with afterburner pump the HELL out of my card getting 1050/1550 fan @ 100% Power @+20% and GPU Core Volts tweaked just a little and PLAY BF3 For hours and totaly stable also using cold air induction to help with cooling. so respect to ThaSpacePope. just FYI My card has never run so stable before so the unlocking of Afterburner seems like a very good choice http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=338906
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,789 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,189
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
How did you verify the cards capabilities were unlocked after changing the id of the board?
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#13
If you have an Asus motherboard and updated your BIOS that is most likely the issue. Asus blocked the ability to flash 6950's, you have to use W1zzard php script to unlock sahders then OC in Trixx to 6970 speeds.
 

Jaro

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Poland
#14
I use TechPowerUp tool GPU-Z.exe, everything is clearly displayed, and I checked performance with 3dMark2011, was ~5400 points (original BIOS), now I have about 6050 points with second, 6970 BIOS. Card is about 12% faster, I’ve got 5-10 FPS more, it is noticeable.
And easier is change 6970 BIOS ID, you no need unlock shaders and overclock, and most important - this is original 6970 Bios. Everything is explained in my previous post.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
880 (0.21/day)
Likes
335
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#15
@Jaro - you definatly came up with the best and simplest workaround...

playing with afterburner to oc your card and over volt is plain tedius imo...

first thing i do with a new gpu is edit the bios with RBE so that it just works at the clocks and volts i prefere...

literraly plug n play...