1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

black screen

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cookiemonster, Sep 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi i recently upgraded some of my system
    i5-3570k Ivy Bridge
    Gigayte Z77-UD5H Wifi motherboard
    16gb corsair 2x4 1600mhz ram
    when i plug my monitor into the mainboard graphics there is no problem but when i plug it into my graphics card ( AMD 6970) i get a black screen with sound, i can here it booting into windows 7 64bit but i cannot get into the bios until i boot back in with the intel onboard graphics. i have updated the bios on the motherboard with no problems but i want my graphics card back, I have tried turning of the onboard graphics which is set to AUTO in the bios and the PEG is set to Auto. Help
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    try resetting entire bios - also reset monitor.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Try another slot for your graphics card and see if it is a bad slot.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  4. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi thanks for the advice how do i reset my monitor, and i will try it in another slot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    with some button on the monitor so that you open its menu (where you can adjust brightness etc)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi tried it in another slot and it booted into windows with no problems
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Is the mobo still under warranty?
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,998 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,059
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Try re-seating the processor and make sure there are no bent pins on the motherboard. Remember that the PCI-E controller is on your CPU. I think the very last 4x PCI-E slot might be off the Z77 chipset, but that might have been for the Z68, I can't remember.
     
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  9. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    yes I only got the mobo last Tuesday from scan and I have taken out the scansure insurance which lasts for 2 weeks from delivery date.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorā„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,933 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.