• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Black Screen

Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Messages
245 (0.09/day)
Likes
15
System Name i7 Zanderige Brug
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ stock cuz current mobo sucks!
Motherboard p8h77-v le (temporarily)
Cooling ThermalTake FRIO 2x2500 rpm 120mm fans P&P effect
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX570 Twin Frozr III OC @ 930/1860/2000
Storage 1x Samsung 600gb (HD642JJ) 1 x WD 1.5 tb (WD15ears)
Display(s) Philips 236vla
Case CoolerMaster Elite 310
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 SE
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 900watt
Software Win 8 Enterprise N
Benchmark Scores non done yet.
#1
hi all, i have win8 enterprise n installed, so far, im pretty happy about it but now, whenever i boot and the loading splash screen passes then the screen goes black and won't come back on, no signal bla bla bla, right before you login... at that point it goes black.
i've tried the build in repair options of win 8 which won't work, i've tried to boot in safe mode, but then i got an error saying failure configuring Windows Features reverting changes and then it reboots, same thing with safe mode /w networking. and in low res mode, the vga does respond but at mere basics like 640*480 & win8 can't see my gtx570... please help haha
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Messages
245 (0.09/day)
Likes
15
System Name i7 Zanderige Brug
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ stock cuz current mobo sucks!
Motherboard p8h77-v le (temporarily)
Cooling ThermalTake FRIO 2x2500 rpm 120mm fans P&P effect
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX570 Twin Frozr III OC @ 930/1860/2000
Storage 1x Samsung 600gb (HD642JJ) 1 x WD 1.5 tb (WD15ears)
Display(s) Philips 236vla
Case CoolerMaster Elite 310
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 SE
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 900watt
Software Win 8 Enterprise N
Benchmark Scores non done yet.
#2
ALRIGHT! now after 3.5 hours of figuring out what it could be. i yanked out my 570 and put in the second slot, or first depends on how you look at it. and guess what.. it worked i can now login again and use everything.. but still what caused this ? i didnt make any gfx/mobo related changes, i left the bios like it always is. overclocked at 4.6ghz :) so... weird stuff
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
883 (0.43/day)
Likes
75
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 GTX 1070
Storage 240 GB Kingston SSD, 7 TB's of HDD
Display(s) Dell 16:10 20" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
good thing you got it working!
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#4
Maybe the first pci-e slot going bad?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#5
Sounds like a chipset driver issue.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#6
Windows 8 is trying to use the IGP I assume. Make sure its disabled in the bios and reinstall windows 8.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#8
+1: Sounds exactly like that to me.

That might be a bit much, I don't think re-installing Windows is necessary, just changing your BIOS settings should do the trick.
Yeah in windows 7 its a bit much I fully agree. However Windows 8 its a temperamental bitch. We had someone else on here (which will remained unnamed) that had the same exact issue. Only way to fix it 100% was to restore a clone of Windows 8 after the bios adjustment. You can try just adjusting the bios but it may cause issues later.

Windows 8 IMO is WAY to close to bios functions and the person I am talking about knows a LOT more about this stuff then me.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
Windows 8 IMO is WAY to close to bios functions and the person I am talking about knows a LOT more about this stuff then me.
Fair enough. I would still try changing it and seeing what happens first, but you're right. My Windows 8 experience is rather limited. :eek: