• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BlackBars in HD 6850 at 1080p

Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
So i just got my first gaming card, took almost an hour to install.
The Problem is that card has slight overheating during games and also not showing complete video screen, i tried auto adjust feature of my monitor but it did nothing good then i tried with skyrim in full hd, same issue.

At First i thought it was an issue with LA Noire but now seems it's a problem with drivers.
I am using Windows XP SP3.

My game Resolution is 1980x1080x60.
my windows resolution 800x600x60.\

@Law II - I tried CCC but it doesn't have any option such as scaling for me there, i only thing i could do is to correct the native res. of my system in there, that's what i did.
Let's see whether it fixes the problem in games or not.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
781 (0.25/day)
Likes
935
Location
Romania
System Name Asus ROG G752VY
Processor i7-6700HQ
Memory 24GB DDR4 2133mhz
Video Card(s) nvidia 980m
Storage Samsung SSD 850 pro 2TB+1tb hdd 7200rpm
Software Mageia 6 + Windows 10
#2
My advice: install and use Windows 7 64b SP1, for xp I see a lot of 'bad" driver software, the producers don't make anymore good/quality driver/software for xp...
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#3
Your PC should be on 7 anyway, you shouldn't see any slowdown and most of your driver errors should disappear
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
My advice: install and use Windows 7 64b SP1, for xp I see a lot of 'bad" driver software, the producers don't make anymore good/quality driver/software for xp...
i don't like 7, it's a resource hog... even in xp i disable unnecessary services. Xp is still the most dominant OS, check wikipedia for that.

BTW, all of my other components and drivers work fine under XP.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#5
i don't like 7, it's a resource hog... even in xp i disable unnecessary services. Xp is still the most dominant OS, check wikipedia for that.

BTW, all of my other components and drivers work fine under XP.
You have an i5 and 4GB RAM you shouldn't need to disable ANY services, it's not 2002 you know. And Win7 is faster than XP on any modern system. I recommend going to Win7 also.

Why is your windows res so shitty? 800x600 :confused:
Have you tried running furmark to test for stability?
What are the temps of your card?
What driver versions have you tried?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,868 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,158
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#6
no love for Windows 2000
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.37/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#7
i don't like 7, it's a resource hog... even in xp i disable unnecessary services. Xp is still the most dominant OS, check wikipedia for that.

BTW, all of my other components and drivers work fine under XP.
Being 'the most dominant' does not equal better in any way. With 4gb ram and a quad core i5, you will run windows 7 with nothing disabled. My 1.4ghz dual core celeron laptop with 1GB ram and onboard video runs windows 7 ultimate + all visual effects on no worries.

There is absolutely no reason on earth for a modern desktop computer to run XP.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Just switch to Windows 7 preferably x64, coz most software are heading x64 direction anyway. and

If you still get the problem take the card back if it has warranty they should replace it with another one.

And why the hell are you running 800x600 on a display that has a native res of 1920x1080, you do realize its computer monitor not a HDTV. or maybe you cant see well in Hi Res??? which could be caused by bad eye site, or XP cant seem to scale well in 1920x1080, producing poor DPI and staff at that Hi Res.

Consider changing to Windows 7 x64, or at the very list Windows Vista x64
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
781 (0.25/day)
Likes
935
Location
Romania
System Name Asus ROG G752VY
Processor i7-6700HQ
Memory 24GB DDR4 2133mhz
Video Card(s) nvidia 980m
Storage Samsung SSD 850 pro 2TB+1tb hdd 7200rpm
Software Mageia 6 + Windows 10
#9
I work a lot in Photoshop, when I come from my old dual core with xp sp3 last year , to quad and win xp sp3 I see a drop in performance (~at least 30%), and all because the new software (from firefox to photoshop) don't love anymore so mux xp, so after 2 weeks I give a try to 7(myself I stop some service, autoruns programs, in xp and 7, for more performance), from that point I never come back to xp, for hardware build/make before 2005 I allways recommend xp, after 2005 the 7 it is a must(btw on same pc I have linux wher I put a virtual pc with xp, to help friends with old hardware...)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
You have an over scan problem. Using an HDMI cable perhaps? Google it.

Also with XP you missing features on that card, no DX11 shame
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#11
So i just got my first gaming card, took almost an hour to install.
The Problem is that card has slight overheating during games and also not showing complete video screen, i tried auto adjust feature of my monitor but it did nothing good then i tried with skyrim in full hd, same issue.

At First i thought it was an issue with LA Noire but now seems it's a problem with drivers.
I am using Windows XP SP3.

My game Resolution is 1980x1080x60.
my windows resolution 800x600x60.
Hi

Desktops&Displays.jpg

you need to open catalyst control panel and select Scaling Options and drag the slider to 0%

scaling_options.jpg

Link to other options -
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/UnableToSetGPUScaling.aspx

hope this helps

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#12
first of all i am not going to upgrade from xp until it becomes unsupported by microsoft and currently they say it will live until next years, and the other thing is that my vga cable is very bad and display is hazy in higher resolution... for last half hour when there was power cut I also couldn't found my dvi cable.
I would probably get it replaced tomorrow but until then i need a solution... and please don't say stuff like upgrading to 7 or 8.

Any Help?
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#13

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
i don't like 7, it's a resource hog... even in xp i disable unnecessary services. Xp is still the most dominant OS, check wikipedia for that.

BTW, all of my other components and drivers work fine under XP.
Windows 7 actually manages resources pretty well, using the extra memory only if you have it available and honestly, the only people who are using XP are those who don't care and those who care too much. Windows 7 is pretty solid, I've never had issues with the OS itself. I have a friend running a Core 2 Duo with 2Gb of ram and Windows 7 runs great, the OS never fills more than 25% of his memory, and as you add more (or use less) Windows does its best to adjust how much it loads before hand, but it doesn't fully load windows until you have 8gb or more. Clean Windows installations will use about the following on boot (from what I've noticed from the builds I've made for myself and others.) Keep in mind these numbers are approximate , I didn't actually write down what I saw. I didn't think I would ever need it.

Available / Used
1Gb / 256Mb
2Gb / 512Mb
3Gb / 720Mb
4Gb / 1Gb
8Gb / 2Gb
16Gb / 2.2Gb

Also XP support has been gone and MS is going to completely stop supporting it in 2 years. Mainstream support is already gone for both Vista and XP and as others have pointed out, you're missing a good chunk of features on your card, like DX 10 and 11. XP will just cause you more problems, and if you're stubbornness is going to keep you rolling on XP, then that is your choice, but personally and as a Systems Admin, I think you're insane. Also memory isn't an excuse, DDR3 has gotten so cheap over the last few years.

Also don't double post, there are multi-quote and edit buttons. :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#15
hey, i didn't installed ccc as i found it uneccessary. - This is neccessary for scaling options

I only have the display driver and hd audio driver and i'm using vga cable (not hdmi).
atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
Likes
19
Location
North Central Ohio
System Name Custom build - I built it for gaming and some content creation
Processor Intel i7 7700K 5.2GHz on air, needed delidded to keep temps down
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti Lightning LE 6GB [holdover from previous build]
Storage SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256GB, SSD Intel 335 series 240GB, WD Black 4TB HHD & WD Black 1 TB
Display(s) 40" LED Samsung
Case Cooler Master 922 [with a 3rd 200mm fan in door]
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum P series 660 Watt [fully modular]
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit [most difficult OS I have had to debug and fix since Win 95]
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Fire Strike v1.1 score: 17764 Link https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13084482
#16
The Problem is that card has slight overheating during games and also not showing complete video screen, i tried auto adjust feature of my monitor but it did nothing good then i tried with skyrim in full hd, same issue.

At First i thought it was an issue with LA Noire but now seems it's a problem with drivers.
I am using Windows XP SP3.QUOTE]

If you are using 32-bit Windows XP, download drivers at http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_xp.aspx

Put the drivers in a folder you will easily find. Uninstall old driver, install new driver.

Under Performance, unlock Overdrive, increase fan speed.

Some monitors do not auto-send resolution information to video card. Under My VGA Displays, click on Image Adjustments, then adjust your screen size [you may need the old type VGA connector for this].

Save your Image Adjustments as Pinned, because you may have to adjust your screen every time you boot up your computer, and Pinned will save your setting.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
Likes
19
Location
North Central Ohio
System Name Custom build - I built it for gaming and some content creation
Processor Intel i7 7700K 5.2GHz on air, needed delidded to keep temps down
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti Lightning LE 6GB [holdover from previous build]
Storage SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256GB, SSD Intel 335 series 240GB, WD Black 4TB HHD & WD Black 1 TB
Display(s) 40" LED Samsung
Case Cooler Master 922 [with a 3rd 200mm fan in door]
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum P series 660 Watt [fully modular]
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit [most difficult OS I have had to debug and fix since Win 95]
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Fire Strike v1.1 score: 17764 Link https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13084482
#17
my vga cable is very bad and display is hazy in higher resolution

Any Help?
Make sure your monitor's default resolution is what you want to run it at [native resolution].

If your VGA cable is bad, get a new one.

Please check my previous post for more info.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#18
^ I already have the latest driver (12.3), i didn't even used the product cd.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#19
Make sure your monitor's default resolution is what you want to run it at [native resolution].

If your VGA cable is bad, get a new one.

Please check my previous post for more info.
Hi

@ Vendor; have you resolved this yet?

native resolution for your monitor is 1080p [1920x1080]
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/top.../dhs/monitor-dell-st2220m?c=in&l=en&cs=indhs1

nb: don't forget you need to install CCC (Catalyst Control Centre) to enable scaling

+1 Dan848

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#20
My game Resolution is 1980x1080x60.
my windows resolution 800x600x60.

make sure these are the same, they aren't the same Aspect....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
So i just got my first gaming card, took almost an hour to install.
The Problem is that card has slight overheating during games and also not showing complete video screen, i tried auto adjust feature of my monitor but it did nothing good then i tried with skyrim in full hd, same issue.

At First i thought it was an issue with LA Noire but now seems it's a problem with drivers.
I am using Windows XP SP3.

My game Resolution is 1980x1080x60.
my windows resolution 800x600x60
.

First of all using 800x600 is what is giving you the black bars coz the Aspect Ration for those Res are not same as for 1920x1080.

800x600 Aspect Ratio is 4:3 (Mostly known as square pixels)
1920x1080 Aspect Ratio is 16:9 (Commonly known as widescreen)

You might want to get your resolutions in unison if you want to get rid of the black bars, and if you don't want to use 1920x1080 as windows resolutions, please pick any other resolution with same Aspect Ratio it might help in getting rid of the black bars, the lowest resolution for 16:9 Aspect ratio are 1280x720 you might want to try this for you're windows resolution it might fix the black bar problem

not: always use resolutions that match up you're display aspect ratio


1366x768 can be good enough
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#22
Games

Modern games are mainly made for the aspect ratio 16:9 and 16:9 monitors also offer the best compatibility. Some games after 2008 are letterboxed with a 16:10 or 4:3 display. 4:3 monitors have the best compatibility with games prior to 2005.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_aspect_ratio
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#23
@Law II - I tried CCC but it doesn't have any option such as scaling for me there, i only thing i could do is to correct the native res. of my system in there, that's what i did.
Hi

open ccc in advanced veiw on your desktop and take a screen shot (press Ctrl Alt & Print Scrn) open MS paint - press paste - crop - resize then upload and post it here

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#24
Here's the screen shot.

 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#25
Hi

download monitor driver DELL_ST2220MB-MONITOR_A00-00_R266049.exe from - http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/in/en/indhs1

nb: you may need to re-install the catalyst driver and or re-boot for this to take effect

then check settings once again and set

CCC extended EDID.jpg

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited: