• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blinking Dash in upper left corner... Can't get in Windows

Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#1
Last week my PSU went out and my computer shut off. I swapped out the PSU and a HD which supposedly had shown S.M.A.R.T errors(Not my OS drive). i took out all the drives and only had my OS drive installed. After getting past the bios screen it just shows a blinking dash in the upper left corner. I have Windows 7 x64 ...

Any ideas on how to fix this without reinstalling Windows 7?

Thanks

Asus P5W DH Deluxe

WD Caviar Black 1TB - SATA
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
make sure the HDD boot order is correct in the BIOS.


if you had a weird setup (OS drive not on SATA 0, etc) then its possible some of your boot files were on the drive that was removed, even if the OS itself wasnt - a repair/reinstall is the only real fix there.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,794 (0.47/day)
Likes
912
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 WS
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition
Storage 480GB Intel 750 SSD + 256GB Plextor SSD + 128GB Kingston SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + PC375x
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#3
Usually it means that the system is hanging on ID'ing all of the devices hooked to the motherboard. unplug one thing at a time untill your system either tells you that there is no bootable device or just gets into windows. then you'll know whats died on you.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#4
make sure the HDD boot order is correct in the BIOS.


if you had a weird setup (OS drive not on SATA 0, etc) then its possible some of your boot files were on the drive that was removed, even if the OS itself wasnt - a repair/reinstall is the only real fix there.
How do i do a repair with windows 7?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
How do i do a repair with windows 7?
I think you can start a repair from the install DVD, actually. I've seen a 'startup repair' option somewhere
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,794 (0.47/day)
Likes
912
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 WS
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition
Storage 480GB Intel 750 SSD + 256GB Plextor SSD + 128GB Kingston SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + PC375x
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#6
How do i do a repair with windows 7?
boot from the CD, when the system is in windows setup, there is an option after starting setup in the bottom left corner that says "repair your computer" use startup repair to fix the boot files
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#7
I think it is time to reinstall windows... Thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,794 (0.47/day)
Likes
912
Location
TEXAS
System Name Hexy
Processor i5 4690K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z97 WS
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Founders Edition
Storage 480GB Intel 750 SSD + 256GB Plextor SSD + 128GB Kingston SSD + 2TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Pixio PX325c
Case Lian Li PC-V1000L
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX + PC375x
Power Supply Seasonic x850 Gold
Mouse Nixeus Revel + Dechanic control XL mouse mat
Keyboard Royal Kludge RC930-87 + Grifiti Pad
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Heaven Extreme 1080p,2336 | Valley, Extreme 1080p, 3899 | SuperPosition, Extreme 1080p, 3455
#8
I think it is time to reinstall windows... Thanks for the help.
you shouldn't have to if you can get it to boot off the CD drive
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
if its just the boot files missing as i said before, startup repair fixes that quite easily.
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#10
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#11
Well after setting the drive up as the first boot drive I get something to the like of "put in the boot disk or restart the computer". Also when I try to fix the startup errors it does nothing and asks me to restart the computer.

Reinstall?

Can I use the command promt? If so, what should I type in?

Thanks
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
Well after setting the drive up as the first boot drive I get something to the like of "put in the boot disk or restart the computer". Also when I try to fix the startup errors it does nothing and asks me to restart the computer.

Reinstall?

Can I use the command promt? If so, what should I type in?

Thanks
See the post above.



goto command prompt
simply enter: bootrec /fixboot
or enter: bootrec and it will list a few options.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#13
The screen before that does not show my drive. I tried going into command prompt and type this

X:\Sources"Not put in by me" bootrec /fixboot

I get "Element not found"
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#14
what do you get when you just type bootrec
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#15
4 options

fixmbr
fixboot
scanos
rebuildbcd
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#16
do all of them in that order. it doesn't hurt to try. if the OS is installed on that drive, it should work.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#17
Do I just type in FixMbr? I tried just that and got "FixMbr" is not recognized as an internal or external command
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#18
no you have to type bootrec /fixmbr

Also, if the screen b4 that doesn't show your drive, that means it didn't find an OS installed in that drive.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#19
I tried the first one and it said completed successfully. It did not work and will try down the list. Since my drive was not seen in the first screen is this pointless?
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#20
I tried the first one and it said completed successfully. It did not work and will try down the list. Since my drive was not seen in the first screen is this pointless?
Yes it is pointless if there is No OS installed on that drive. lol

but try the 4 bootrec fixes down the list and see what happens.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#21
Seems like you had some gnarly data corruption with this system crash.

Try some of the automated options for system repair.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#22
The OS is on the drive
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#23
Startup Repair or System Restore may work. If not you'll just have to reinstall. At least it doesn't seem like you've lost any data.