1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blood iron 12v plug is 8 pin?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by NONYA, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    My power supply has a 6 pin 12 volt socket plug,the mobo has 8 any fix ideas?
     
  2. Dark_Webster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    You must be confused... the 6-pin connector is for connecting graphics cards... your power supply must have a 4-pin or a EPS 8-pin connector to plug into the 8-pin plug on the board.
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,808 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,659
    that 6 pin connector is for pci-e graphics cards. your psu has a 4-pin p4 12v mobo connector.
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  4. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,041 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,411
    Location:
    Houston
    [​IMG]

    that help?
     
    NONYA says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ok i have a 4 pin but the board still has an 8,just plug it ibnto the end of the 8?
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    it doesn't need the extra 4 unless you have a quad core. just plug the 4pin in.
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,859 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think the 4-pin can handle the Allendale just fine. Isn't there a molex connector on the board too? Using that should compensate for the loss of not having 8-pin.
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,115 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,694
    no 4pin molex on the Blood Iron!

    Just the 24pin and the 8pin for mobo power!
     
    NONYA says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Cool,what about all the jumpers,do I need to move any of them before I power up?
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Maybe try a CMOS reset before attempting to boot ....
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  11. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    K i put it all together,cleared cmos,hit the power it booted went through some screens and even went to windows BUT my mouse isnt being recognized,it lights up when I boot but i loose it when it gets to windows,any ideas?
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    logitech or microsoft?
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  13. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    microsoft
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    which one? intelimouse or explorer?
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  15. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    trackball
     
  16. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    shiz started working!
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Nice to see it works now.

    SO, You got the BloodIron, now let's see some crazy overclocking.... :p
     
    NONYA says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)