• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

blu-ray player getting a crappy signal

Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#1
I bought a HDMI switcher from Radioshack and hooked it up to my Panasonic DMP-BD80 to my 32" Sharp Aquos and the screen is snowy and flickers while using the switch box but if I just use the cable straight through its fine.

The cable box works fine through the switch box with no issues for some reason though.

...And all the cables test fine on the blu-ray player going straight to the tv.

I even got another switchbox from cablestogo.com just to see if that was the issue and its the same problem...

Any ideas?
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#2
is the switcher powered? most of the cheaper ones have this problem.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#3
yes it is powered
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#4
People say "cables dont matter" but they do, if your using a dynex, they are crap for blu ray, anything else from like mono price, or geek squad, belkin ect are fine.

this happens no matter what you plug in?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#5
Is it an auto sensing switch? Have you tried without another source in at the same time? I know that my switch will sometimes have issues with my cable box because it is always sending a signal, even with the cable box turned off.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#6
Well the signal is perfect without the switchbox, and it is not auto sensing, I see the blu-ray splash screen and it flickers from blue to red with snowy artifacts all around.

I'm pretty sure its the switchbox any suggestions on a good one?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#7
I use this one, didn't purchase it at that price but the auto sensing works great. I haven't had any issues with it, have the cable box, the ps3 and the 360 plugged into it with zero issues. I don't use audio through hdmi but I assume that there wouldn't be any quality loss.


Ah got it from Meritline with these cables, not bad cables at all. They work that's about all that needs to happen with them. This will go on sale sometimes for ~$20.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#8
I use this one, didn't purchase it at that price but the auto sensing works great. I haven't had any issues with it, have the cable box, the ps3 and the 360 plugged into it with zero issues. I don't use audio through hdmi but I assume that there wouldn't be any quality loss.


Ah got it from Meritline with these cables, not bad cables at all. They work that's about all that needs to happen with them. This will go on sale sometimes for ~$20.
Yeah I am also using audio through toslink to reduce signal loss. thanks for the suggestions.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#9
Yeah I am also using audio through toslink to reduce signal loss. thanks for the suggestions.
If you were interested in a switch for both they do make them, they aren't much more but I'm unsure if they are auto-sensing. I'd have to look around again, I instead bought a manual toslink switch for all my toslink needs :p
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,431 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,946
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#10
People say "cables dont matter" but they do, if your using a dynex, they are crap for blu ray, anything else from like mono price, or geek squad, belkin ect are fine.

this happens no matter what you plug in?
Dynex is Geek Squad. Anyway buy "Monster" cables. They make really nice stuff. Everything is coated in 14k gold. As for your problem it sounds like the HDMI converter might be bad.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#11
no its not, i work there. the Geeksquad cables are suppose to be the same as the monster M1000 HDMI. the Dynex WILL NOT play dts hd or dd +
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,431 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,946
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#12
no its not, i work there. the Geeksquad cables are suppose to be the same as the monster M1000 HDMI. the Dynex WILL NOT play dts hd or dd +
Dynex is a Best Buy brand. So they have two brands? Dynex AND Geeksquad?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#13
Dynex is Geek Squad. Anyway buy "Monster" cables. They make really nice stuff. Everything is coated in 14k gold. As for your problem it sounds like the HDMI converter might be bad.
Reading someone recommending monster cables bothers me, just go to monoprice.com. You can get all your cable needs for cheap and they are quality cables.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,431 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,946
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#14
Reading someone recommending monster cables bothers me, just go to monoprice.com. You can get all your cable needs for cheap and they are quality cables.
I agree. Don't buy them from the store. Hell no. I was just recommending the brand man. :laugh: Don't hit me Kenshai! :eek:
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#15

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#16
Reading someone recommending monster cables bothers me, just go to monoprice.com. You can get all your cable needs for cheap and they are quality cables.
I agree, buying monster cables is retarded

I agree. Don't buy them from the store. Hell no. I was just recommending the brand man. :laugh: Don't hit me Kenshai! :eek:
The Geeksquad cables are better, they are thicker, and gold plated. i get it for $8

Dynex are just cheaper. overall much cheaper.

anyway, back on topic.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,431 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,946
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#17
i bought these

http://www.mycablemart.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=1220

monster cables are a total rip-off as well as anything from bestbuy.

they mark-up their cables from $10-20 to $80-100

When I used to work there a few years back our discounted price (5% above cost) was about $20 for a $100 monster cable.
I didn't tell you to buy them from Best Buy. I was just recommending the brand. You can't tell me they are bad cables. You just need to find a deal.

I agree, buying monster cables is retarded
I agree. Everything at Best Buy is over priced. However Monster Cables are good cables. Just get them from online. What is so hard to understand about this?
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#18
I didn't tell you to buy them from Best Buy. I was just recommending the brand. You can't tell me they are bad cables. You just need to find a deal.



I agree. Everything at Best Buy is over priced. However Monster Cables are good cables. Just get them from online. What is so hard to understand about this?
They only thing I like about monster cables that I don't get with cheaper ones, is they are way less rigid.