• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blue screens after OS installation on Vertex 4

Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,404 (1.08/day)
Likes
670
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
#1
Yesterday I got this drive and put it in my HP Pavilion DM4-2191us.


There are two basic problems with the drive:
  1. The computer will always blue screen when you wake it from sleep (though not from hibernate). It won't do it any other time. Here is what it displays
  2. The read speed benchmark is sub-par. Average is about 120MB/s. Here is the benchmark. It's jagged and slower than the SATA II SSD in my desktop.

What I've done:
  • Tested the drive and memory different ways, both are fine
  • I tried updating the SSD with the OCZ Toolbox for the new firmware before I installed Windows on it. For some reason it would never display anything other than firmware 1.3.
  • Looked through the HP BIOS for any options, it is extremely bare and there are basically no options other than boot order.

I'd like to get this ironed out before I leave for vacation for a week tomorrow morning. Thanks guys.
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,404 (1.08/day)
Likes
670
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
#2
Bump for a semi-emergency. Sorry mods (I love you guys).

Will Windows ever become more specific with its error codes? I can't think of how many times one of those 0x000000X codes has led to hardly any conclusion on the problem.
 
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
#3
Is the BIOS set to AHCI mode? That is the only thing I can think of.
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,404 (1.08/day)
Likes
670
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
#4
Just looked and there's no option for ACHI vs. IDE mode in the BIOS.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#5
Just looked and there's no option for ACHI vs. IDE mode in the BIOS.
Most HP laptop bios do not have the option to change the SATA operation.

First thing I would do is up date the AHCI/RAID driver which can be found here. Next thing is go through these essential SSD tweaks which have helped me out greatly in the past, especially the hibernating issue.
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,404 (1.08/day)
Likes
670
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
#6
Oh wow, that Intel driver was an instant fix for the sleep issue. Thanks man. I hope it holds up.

So onto the 120MB/s read speed, should I just call OCZ about it? There's not much troubleshooting information on the V4 yet.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#7
Doing a little research it seems the 1.4 firmware increases the performance a crap ton. According to OCZ it's a destructive update and I noticed you posted earlier about trying to update the firmware but all you see is 1.3. Here is the download for 1.4 and I would try plugging the drive into your desktop and doing the firmware update on the intel sata controller since I've never had an issue going that route in the past.

After the update is done go into device manager, disk drives, Open up the SSD drive properties, click Details, and select Hardware IDs. It should show which firmware is on the drive.