1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Boot issues.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Crazykenny, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    427 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hey there,

    I've got a odd problem with my HTPC on start up. Sometimes when I turn it on it reboots (several times or once, its random) and then boot trough to Windows completely where it has no further problems.

    I find this extremely strange since the system has not been overclocked. I also recently swapped out the PSU for a better, more reliable one (Antec TP-650W Modulair).

    The motherboard is a Abit AN-M2HD. It has 4GB of DDR2, 667mhz and a Geforce 9800GTX+ of the brand ASUS.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. bigtye New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    212 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Melbourne
    At what point of the boot up process does it reboot?

    Once booting into, is it stable?

    I am guessing to start with but maybe try remove one stick of mem and see if rebooting occurs, if so replace removed stick and remove other one and see if problem goes away.

    I had a mem prob and got similar probs (mine turned out to be incorrect mem settings in bios but it would reboot sometimes and load fine on others).

    Tye
     
  3. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    427 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It restarts before it even POSTs correctly. I have 2 sticks of memory in there, which are from different brands if I'm correctly.

    Once it boots into Windows it works perfectly.
     
  4. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Does it only restart once before post? There were some kinda weird issues with some boards where they'd just restart before post once, then work normally.
     
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,654 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,640
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Boot it up into the bios.
    Check the time and date.
    If it is not correct, then the CMOS battery may need replacing.

    Also, had that happen, once, on a system and the keyboard was the culprit.
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,695 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,074
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ^^^ same here, I think I solved it by going into Bios and changing the "Detect legacy devices" to whatever the opposite was (Can't remember if it was set to enable or disable).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    427 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Problem is, its totally random how many times it reboots before succesfully posting. Sometimes it posts in one go, sometimes it takes 3 reboots for example.

    I will try your ideas when I get back home.
     
  8. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    have u tried memtest, or booting with only one stick or ram, and rotating them? randomness on a non overclocked system sounds like heat or possiblly bad ram at first guess.
     
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,615 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    if it needs some reboot to normal, its like memory err or kinda dirty on contact area
    try to clean the contact area with eraser and clean the slot too or try to run it with 1 ram first and see does the err appear again
    i hope it helps
     
  10. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    427 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for all the tips so far. It does sound like a RAM issue, I'll take one strip out when I get back home.
     
  11. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Seems to be likely RAM to me but I have also had similar issues from some USB devices being plugged in at boot. I can only assume they affect voltages in another more critical part of the system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    This. A bios update should fix it, my Maximus Gene II used to do it before it died. Its a common ASUS problem.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)