• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Boot manager missing from ssd? I can't load win7

Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#1
hi :)

I am new to the world of solid state drives and am still learning, but I have a question regarding how to set up my Kingston 32Gb ssdNOW 100V as my primary boot drive.

So I removed my current hdd and plugged in the ssd to install Windows7, but the board is prompting:

BOOTMGR is missing
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart


Then it just loops back around again. Do you know what needs to be done in order for me to install windows?

Thank you for your guy's help in advance :eek:


note: This ssd will be used in a pc 100% dedicated to crunching and I am not storing any other data on it. Just the os and need drivers to run pc.

Specs:

Amd Phenom x4 920
Asus M3N-HT deluxe
Alied 400watt psu
OCZ 4gb ddr2 ram
LG dvd/cd drive
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
498 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#2
I had the bootmgr files on another drive since they didn't fit on me 50gb ssd. When I removed the drive that had these files I ran into this problem. The solution was to free up about 10gbs of room in the ssd and the files automatically installed there. These files are hidden on the first "page" of the drive.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#3
I had the bootmgr files on another drive since they didn't fit on me 50gb ssd. When I removed the drive that had these files I ran into this problem. The solution was to free up about 10gbs of room in the ssd and the files automatically installed there. These files are hidden on the first "page" of the drive.
Okay, so is there a way to access the drive without an os? and I hope there will be enough room to install win7 OEM because this will be the primary boot drive. I bought this ssd from a fellow TPU'er and I don't know if he formatted the drive or not. Should I install this ssd into another computer to access it and locate the missing Boot Manager? Sorry, I am still a bit confused as to why the boot manager was missing in the first place.:confused:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,163 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,798
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
Hook up the SSD as a second drive then Activate, partition and format it as a primary partition. Unplug ALL drives. Atach the SSD and install windows 7

Disable system restore, change the size of the page file to 1000Mb. W 7 will take up 19Gb
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#5
Or just use a Ubuntu or Mint LiveCD (or USB) and use GParted or Disk Utility (at least one of those 2 progs should be there) to give it a MS-DOS or GPT partition table (don't know whether Win 7 and your BIOS accept the latter) and than one or more NTFS partitions.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
The Windows 7 install disk will re-create your boot loader with a click of a button. When windows installs, it always installs the boot loader to the drive that is first in the boot order, which very well could be a drive that you're not installing Windows on.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
^^^ yep same thing I had to do when I reimaged my machine with a previous install. After the image it would not boot due to the same issues as you. I poped in the windows disc and hit repair startup and it worked like a charm.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#8
Okay.. think I got it, turns out it was a faulty optical drive and wasn't reading my Win7 disc.:laugh:

Thank you for everyone's help anyway, I will still take all your advice for future references. :respect: