• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Boot Problem With tcpip.sys Vista 64bit

Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Right gonna keep this short as i'm typing on my phone. I cannot boot to vista because of that fucking file tcpip.sys. Vista says it can't boot cos that file cos it can't verify the digital signature of it. I modified it to get the most out of it for internet because it has limitations. I cannot boot to any safe or debug mode and i cannot repair it or reinstall it due to lack of FREE space and there is no option to restore. I only have 4.8GB free though it shouldn't be a problem because it should be able to overwrite the current Windows files, but it can't.

So first of all will someone on 64bit Vista please email the file tcpip.sys located at Windows/system32/drivers to davidk1234@gmail.com and second, if i manage to get the file onto i usb any idea how to replace it with command prompt? Thanks
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#2
press F8 wile booting, hit disable driver signing.


i dont have the original coz i also edited my tcp file
^^
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
I tried that and just got a BSOD.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#6
Yeah it fu**s vista and especially vista 64. I haven`t seen a safe way to change half-open connections on vista . Screw microsoft !. Anyway don`t do it again..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#7
im not sure what he did wrong, my half open connections is currently at 500 and my system is running just fine,

you will prolly need to do a repair like thoughtdisorder said, if u would like i can send u my tcpip file tho its modified to allow 500 halfopen conns.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#8
"Last known configuration that worked" should fix it
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
Is there some sort of boot file manager i can download? Like put it on disc, boot to it and copy files to a DVD them delete those files to make space for vista? If so someone please point me in the right direction because i'm on my phone and its slow at loading pages and i'd rather not go through google looking.

EDIT: I alreardy said i can't repair. i got a lend of an 80gb hard drive but when installing vista i can't fucking partition it and there's an XP install on it. And as usual i have no money to buy my own hard drive which is what i really need instead of getting other peoples drives.

EDIT 2: Well, I'm back up and running. Turns out that the 80GB drive wasn't needed anymore as the person who was using it got their original hard-drive working again, so after I found that out I wiped it and installed Vista onto it. Now just in the process of deleting old files off the 160GB drive.
 
Last edited: