• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Boot up got blocked :S

Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#1
Ok, this is not the black screen of death type. I format my drive C and than install the windows Xp or vista (whatever) but it cannot boot up, meaning that it runs bios perfectly and than stayis there without doing anthing just the _ and a black screen. Anyone has this kind of issue fixed? This has never happened before formating with windows 7!!!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
sounds like you forgot to go into the BIOS and change the boot order to boot from the HDD.
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#3
sounds like you forgot to go into the BIOS and change the boot order to boot from the HDD.
Possible, depending on what his boot order is in the first place, but he has already formatted + installed his OS, so in theory his boot order should be in some correct manor.

No harm in checking your boot sequence though :)

Also I would take the connector's off the drive and give a quick hard blow into both each the drive port itself and the cable, I only ever come across this when using IDE cable's but I'm certain it can happen on Sata too, after all it is just another type of cable what can get dust trapped.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#4
not exactly PC-Myths. formatting and installing will not affect your bios boot disk order. you may be thinking of the MBR , as though he had multiple OS's and it had to choose which to boot, then a format/install probably would set the most recent as the default.

but not in bios. Mussels is right at least in that could definitely be the problem. if it is? idk.

the thing is though, it shouldn't be blank. it should at the very least say it can't find the loader, or there is no disk, or no volume, or no os on the disk. if it was just boot order, it should definitely not be blank.

as far as what it probably is? i'm sorry. IDK. I would troubleshoot by taking the HDD out and see what it does. Then put the 7 CD back in and see what it does. if necessary reinstall 7.

do you have other HDDs in the computer? take them out for now. IDK the answer right away but I can def help troubleshoot...
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#5
not exactly PC-Myths. formatting and installing will not affect your bios boot disk order. you may be thinking of the MBR , as though he had multiple OS's and it had to choose which to boot, then a format/install probably would set the most recent as the default.....
Point I was getting at is that his HDD would have to be 2nd in the boot order CD/DVD drive first, in order for the OS to be read from the CD/DVD drive to be written onto the HDD in the first place, you get what I'm saying?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#6
right but wrong.

the cd/dvd drive has to be first. the OS drive could be 10th and you could still install on it. and then after reboot it would find the cd drive empty, and drive #2 with no OS, and not boot. but as i said he should see an error message. not a blank screen.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#7
it sounds like he has a usb drive plugged in and its trying to read it,or the boot order is fuggered you would get a error msg if it was reading the wrong drive something like bootmgr is missing
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#8
Very true on that part about he should see some kind of error rather than what he is seeing at the moment,

Another suggestion could be do you have something in your CD/DVD drive? I once found myself not being able to boot my rig what was pretty much a clean install however I put my ASUS software disc in the drive and it would not boot, come to think of it I had the same screen come up on me. Not saying that is the problem in your case, but thought i'd get it in this thread :)

EDIT: or just as AthlonX2 just said, a USB drive :)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#9
None of what you guys are talking about is my case. I mean only the order of the boot drives MAYBE is the real problem. Anyway you guys all know that all things are alright. I could format and install the OS as normally before installing the windows 7. After installing windows 7 happened all this. So i format with vista or XP than there has to come up another screen after restarting the computer which installs the OS. After the restart comes up this blank screen which does not read the CD-Rom or DVD or USB or whatever you want to try out stands there and the CPU does not function. Really weird situation, because i have formated the system with USB (which i didnt put it in with the first try and all other tries).
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#10
right but wrong.

the cd/dvd drive has to be first. the OS drive could be 10th and you could still install on it. and then after reboot it would find the cd drive empty, and drive #2 with no OS, and not boot. but as i said he should see an error message. not a blank screen.
CD/DVD drive does not have to be first. It doesn't have to be on the list at all. For my bootup option I only have my O/S drive listed.

Aleksander Dishnica: You probablly need separate SATA drivers since you are using an older system. Go to the motherboard manufacturer website to obtain those.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#11
What is that? Sorry can you help me with the "separate sata drivers" or smth like that?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#12

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#13
CD/DVD drive does not have to be first. It doesn't have to be on the list at all. For my bootup option I only have my O/S drive listed.

Aleksander Dishnica: You probablly need separate SATA drivers since you are using an older system. Go to the motherboard manufacturer website to obtain those.
Your right as I'm sure you know, but also in this case and any other, the moment you do a clean install whatever you installed the OS from, usually CD/DVD drive is the one to be listed in first in your boot order.. unless you change this at the soonest point possible.

Good idea about the Sata driver's! Although in my experience I've not needed the drivers... Please I did say my experience, I'm not in competition to think "I know it all" and that they are not needed in this case either or so and so.

erocker that is not aimed at you, but however I've noticed a few boys at TPU who jump down your throat when you suggest a solution what is only possible to be the answer.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#14
Your right as I'm sure you know, but also in this case and any other, the moment you do a clean install whatever you installed the OS from, usually CD/DVD drive is the one to be listed in first in your boot order.. unless you change this at the soonest point possible.

Good idea about the Sata driver's! Although in my experience I've not needed the drivers... Please I did say my experience, I'm not in competition to think "I know it all" and that they are not needed in this case either or so and so.

erocker that is not aimed at you, but however I've noticed a few boys at TPU who jump down your throat when you suggest a solution what is only possible to be the answer.
One thing that I learned is never explain yourself on the internet. ;) If people want to jump down my throat I don't mind, it's just my virtual throat and it can hold a billion trolls within it!:D But, I regress. During an O/S install the CD/DVD drive should be the 1st boot option, and in the HDD order selection the O/S drive should be 1st (though that doesn't really matter). Once the O/S is installed off of the disc, during the next bootup it should be switched so that the O/S drive is booted first. :toast:
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#15

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#16
..... Once the O/S is installed off of the disc, during the next bootup it should be switched so that the O/S drive is booted first. :toast:
Agreed, it gives a few less vital seconds to wait during boot-up :D

BECAUSE:banghead:WE:banghead:ARE:banghead:IGNORANT!!
:nutkick: :laugh:


EDIT: erocker Thanks for your view on how you deal with certain kind's of people on the internet... it really does make sense :D
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#17
CD/DVD drive does not have to be first. It doesn't have to be on the list at all. For my bootup option I only have my O/S drive listed.

Aleksander Dishnica: You probablly need separate SATA drivers since you are using an older system. Go to the motherboard manufacturer website to obtain those.
for mine, and the last 10 i have built in order to boot off a cd to install from it you have to have it as your 1st boot option. no way around, it has to be #1. note, we were specifically speaking about to install, not to boot.

edit: I see you responded to this in your reply to pc-myths. I just saw myself quoted and your response and decided to reply - my bad.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
right but wrong.

the cd/dvd drive has to be first. the OS drive could be 10th and you could still install on it. and then after reboot it would find the cd drive empty, and drive #2 with no OS, and not boot. but as i said he should see an error message. not a blank screen.
it sounds like he has a usb drive plugged in and its trying to read it,or the boot order is fuggered you would get a error msg if it was reading the wrong drive something like bootmgr is missing

Both of those is what i was getting it, saying his boot order sounded wrong.