• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Boot up issue

Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
127 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#1
Hi. I hope you can help. We have a situation with a friends HP desktop running Windows 7. Link to his make/model desktop... http://tinyurl.com/b4yk2ev

The computer starts up to "boot disk failure please insert disk press enter." This is a 500GB Seagate SATA drive. I tried a "repair start up" and it didn't help. I then took the hard drive out and connected it to a dock, but the drive only shows up occasionally in My Computer. When connected and briefly recognized it will say that the drives needs formatted. When trying to format it says the format failed. I also got error 0x80300025 at some point. The drive will show up in disk management and it comes up as unallocated. So I took a 160GB working drive out of another HP computer running Windows 7 and put it in the computer that is having the "boot disk failure please insert disk press enter" issue. This 160GB drive came from a HP slimtower model s5220f, located here... http://tinyurl.com/b9ldaa9 The 160GB drive is also made by Seagate. After placing this known working drive in the problem tower it wouldn't boot to Windows and it went to "Start up Repair" went through that and came up with "Start up Repair cannot repair this computer automatically." I thought that was odd. I thought this working drive would allow the problem computer to boot right up. I thought the 500GB drive was toast, but now that I put a working drive in the bad tower and I still have an issue I'm not so sure. Is this a BIOS issue? CMOS? I am running the F9 HP diagnostics and the AMD CPU passes, the memory passes, and the 160GB hard drive passes all tests that includes "boot path."

I'm stumped. Help in this matter is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,436 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,044
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#2
sounds like the drive is toast replace it and reinstall windows and start over its perfectly normal for a drive out of another machine to not boot in another because of hardware differences unless the machines are EXACTLY THE SAME
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
127 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#3
sounds like the drive is toast replace it and reinstall windows and start over its perfectly normal for a drive out of another machine to not boot in another because of hardware differences unless the machines are EXACTLY THE SAME
Thank you!!! I thought the other drive could possibly be incompatible, but I've had situations were it worked out before. Being that both of these were in HP's I thought that would increase my chances of a match. All I have at the moment is a 2.5" laptop SATA drive. You think that may work? I think I will give it a try here in a few minutes. Thanks again!
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,460 (2.29/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#4
Why not just re-format (fresh install of Windows) the 160GB drive and call it good?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,436 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,044
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#5
Thank you!!! I thought the other drive could possibly be incompatible, but I've had situations were it worked out before. Being that both of these were in HP's I thought that would increase my chances of a match. All I have at the moment is a 2.5" laptop SATA drive. You think that may work? I think I will give it a try here in a few minutes. Thanks again!
sometimes you can get away with moving a drive sometimes you can't windows 7 is indeed a bit smarter then that then XP was
you can try the following if you are really desperate and don't have a windows 7 disk
boot the drive in the good machine and open a command prompt with admin rights
type %windir%\System32\Sysprep\Sysprep.exe or just sysprep
select System Out-of-Box-Experience and check Generalize DO NOT INTERRUPT THIS PROCESS IT WILL RENDER THE INSTALLATION UNBOOTABLE
power down and install the drive in the other machine
WARNING THIS WILL DELETE SOME PROGRAMS AND OR DRIVERS and possibly some user files
the process will need to be run again if you wanna move the drive back ...

Also double check that machine both machines are either set to AHCI or native ide in the bios the need to be the same if the bios of machine A(the working one) is set to ACHI then make sure machine b is also set to ACHI in the bios or conversely native IDE
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,601 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#6
^^ That observation in the last sentence may be part of the issue...
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
127 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#7
I have a Win7 disk. Guess what... the 500GB hard drive is the problem. :) I put the spare laptop drive in and Win7 is now installing. Time to order him a new drive. I thank all of you for the help! I guess what threw me off is the test on the bad 500Gb drive came out ok for some reason. The 160GB drive has never had a problem... just making this known to the other poster. I didn't want to format it because it's an extra computer I personally use for a HTPC. Thanks people!
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,460 (2.29/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#8
Glad to hear that you got it sorted out:)