• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Boot windows installation within a partition?

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#1
Hello guys.. It is possible to boot windows setup using a single disk (4GB flash drive).. so now I am thinking how to do it on a 160GB HDD? I still use mg 160GB for school projects, which is really not big of a space in the drive..
My plan is:
To have 3 partitions in the hard drive
- Windows 7 x64 installation
- Windows 8 x64 installation
- and the rest goes to my school files

Now, I don't know much about booting, but all I know is you CAN boot a drive, but not sure if you can boot a partition.
That's what I'm asking :D Is is possible?? How?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,092
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#2
create a partition the size you want during the 7 install and install 8 on the other partition...when you boot you will have the option to boot to whatever OS you want to boot to....

More specific directions...
During windows 7 install...When on the Hard Drive Selection screen click on DRIVE OPTIONS, the n Click on NEW and the set in megabytes the size of the partition you want to create...for 3 partitions you will need to that twice...with a 160gb hdd I'd say you should set each drive to about 50,000 megabytes each.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#3
for boot disks there is nothing better than SARDU

"SARDU creates a multiboot USB drive, a multiboot DVD or CD (all-in-one) for free (personal and non commercial use, read the license). Hard disks (internal and external), SSD, USB flash drive and all removable memory disk and media are supported.
The multi bootable device can include comprehensive collections of antivirus rescue CD, utilities and popular Linux live distributions. Windows PE can also be included, as well as recovery disks and install media for Windows XP (Professional, Home and 64 Bit), Windows Vista, Windows Seven and Windows Eight."

i have every version of windows, all my repair boot disks and a few linux distros all bootable from one hard drive. just make a fat 32 partition at the start of your usb drive and call it SARDU the program will do the rest.
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#4
for boot disks there is nothing better than SARDU

"SARDU creates a multiboot USB drive, a multiboot DVD or CD (all-in-one) for free (personal and non commercial use, read the license). Hard disks (internal and external), SSD, USB flash drive and all removable memory disk and media are supported.
The multi bootable device can include comprehensive collections of antivirus rescue CD, utilities and popular Linux live distributions. Windows PE can also be included, as well as recovery disks and install media for Windows XP (Professional, Home and 64 Bit), Windows Vista, Windows Seven and Windows Eight."

i have every version of windows, all my repair boot disks and a few linux distros all bootable from one hard drive. just make a fat 32 partition at the start of your usb drive and call it SARDU the program will do the rest.
You mean with one hard disk drive, I can put in dozens of partition, including windows 7 setup and windows 8 setup, and if I try to boot it, the computer will read it as another bootable device?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
So let me get this
You want install win7 and win8 on the 160 gig drive or just use your Seagate 500 gig drive ?Or both? The way have my dual boot is, I have 8 on my primary boot drive in the mobo bios.I usually just disconnected the other drives and leave the drive i want to install as my os .Then i hit my F8 key at boot to bring up which drive i want to boot too.Say i want to go to 7 i hit F8 select the drive that has 7 and it boots.

For you I would copy the stuff off the 160 to the 500 gig .Then format the drive.When installing 8 or 7 on it use the option to manage drive sizes and set 2 50 gigs on the 160gig ,Make them boot able also.It is WD drive so does WD have something like Drive image like Seagate has? Oh they do ......Get the one to boot off cd ......http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119 Use that to set up your WD drive for 50 gig each boot tables. Just have the Seagate disconnected from the SATA port on the mobo.

PS dont forget 7/8 has the 3gig boot tables hidden on the installing drive. so for 160gig 50 gigs for OS installs and the left over 10 gigs (5 gigs each partition) goes to the hidden install files.
 
Last edited:

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#6
create a partition the size you want during the 7 install and install 8 on the other partition...when you boot you will have the option to boot to whatever OS you want to boot to....

More specific directions...
During windows 7 install...When on the Hard Drive Selection screen click on DRIVE OPTIONS, the n Click on NEW and the set in megabytes the size of the partition you want to create...for 3 partitions you will need to that twice...with a 160gb hdd I'd say you should set each drive to about 50,000 megabytes each.
Not what I was looking for, but thanks! I didn't know that there would be a menu to choose an OS while booting.. probably because I didn't try it :roll: thanks for the info, mate! Might do it on my UEFI Laptop since I only had Windows 8 installed in it (and it's not bad at all, I just like Windows 7 more)
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#7
So let me get this
You want install win7 and win8 on the 160 gig drive or just use your Seagate 500 gig drive ?Or both? The way have my dual boot is, I have 8 on my primary boot drive in the mobo bios.I usually just disconnected the other drives and leave the drive i want to install as my os .Then i hit my F8 key at boot to bring up which drive i want to boot too.Say i want to go to 7 i hit F8 select the drive that has 7 and it boots.

For you I would copy the stuff off the 160 to the 500 gig .Then format the drive.When installing 8 or 7 on it use the option to manage drive sizes and set 2 50 gigs on the 160gig ,Make them boot able also.It is WD drive so does WD have something like Drive image like Seagate has? Oh they do ......Get the one to boot off cd ......http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119 Use that to set up your WD drive for 50 gig each boot tables. Just have the Seagate disconnected from the SATA port on the mobo.

PS dont forget 7/8 has the 3gig boot tables hidden on the installing drive. so for 160gig 50 gigs for OS installs and the left over 10 gigs (5 gigs each partition) goes to the hidden install files.
Sorry but I was hoping for a hard disk with all the OS I want and then make a partition for each OS Setup, then when booting, I would like to choose which OS to install on a computer :)
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#8
Sorry but I was hoping for a hard disk with all the OS I want and then make a partition for each OS Setup, then when booting, I would like to choose which OS to install on a computer :)
Yep that is easy to do,


Just make sure you install Windows 7 before windows 8 as this will make life a lot easier due to the way boot loader works and leave enough space for each Install when formatting the HDD... Windows 7 I would use around 30-35GB and windows 8 I would leave 50GB.

Or you could just split the drive into two 70GB partitions, one for each OS.
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#9
Yep that is easy to do,


Just make sure you install Windows 7 before windows 8 as this will make life a lot easier due to the way boot loader works and leave enough space for each Install when formatting the HDD... Windows 7 I would use around 30-35GB and windows 8 I would leave 50GB.

Or you could just split the drive into two 70GB partitions, one for each OS.
Oh man.. How do I explain this :(
Here's what I have:
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 DVD
Windows 8 Pro x64 ISO copy (from dreamspark)

Here's what I could do:
Create partition for Win7 setup (4GB only, since Setup is 3.8GB)
Create partition for Win8 setup (4GB as well)
Remaining space will be left for my school files.

Objectives:
To plug external HDD to the PC
To start the PC
To choose which of the two partitions(win7 setup or win8 setup) to boot
To successfully install preferred OS

I wish I got it explained right this time.. :/ sorry guys

Edit:
I will copy Windows 7 and Windows 8 SETUP on separate partitions for each Setup on my external HDD, and then when I boot my external HDD, I wish it to have a menu or something that would allow me to choose which windows I would like to install on the current PC
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#10
You mean with one hard disk drive, I can put in dozens of partition, including windows 7 setup and windows 8 setup, and if I try to boot it, the computer will read it as another bootable device?
No you add all your iso files intO the Sardu ISO folder and rename them so that Sardu knows what one is what. Then It will install everything to a single fat 32 partition so when you boot from it it gives you a menu and you just pick what setup you want to run.
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#11
No you add all your iso files intO the Sardu ISO folder and rename them so that Sardu knows what one is what. Then It will install everything to a single fat 32 partition so when you boot from it it gives you a menu and you just pick what setup you want to run.
Okay.. so sardu also goes into the fat32 partition? Because when I click "search USB" it doesn't show anything, it says "if usb is not plugged then plug it now" pop-up dialog.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#12
Oh man.. How do I explain this :(
Here's what I have:
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 DVD
Windows 8 Pro x64 ISO copy (from dreamspark)

Here's what I could do:
Create partition for Win7 setup (4GB only, since Setup is 3.8GB)
Create partition for Win8 setup (4GB as well)
Remaining space will be left for my school files.

Objectives:
To plug external HDD to the PC
To start the PC
To choose which of the two partitions(win7 setup or win8 setup) to boot
To successfully install preferred OS

I wish I got it explained right this time.. :/ sorry guys

Edit:
I will copy Windows 7 and Windows 8 SETUP on separate partitions for each Setup on my external HDD, and then when I boot my external HDD, I wish it to have a menu or something that would allow me to choose which windows I would like to install on the current PC

Damnit, I knew thats what you wanted with your first post! I deleted my post because JMCSLOB confused me lol.


Hm, if you Follow this guide (Replace words "flash driive" with 160GB hard drive) http://www.wikihow.com/Create-a-Bootable-Windows-7-or-Vista-USB-Drive for both partitions and then to do a dummy install of windows 8 on the last part of the HDD it should give you the option to boot Windows 7/8 Installer or boot into windows 8.
Edit: On step 4 you will want to make sure you size the partition correctly... or you can use the windows gui tool in control panel.


Once you get that far you can just delete windows 8 from the boot menu using MSCONFIG and delete the partition.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,092
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#13
He's asking how to use a HDD as an ISO in a way where he could plug the HDD into a dock and boot to it and pick win7 or win8 to install as if he put the dvd into a dvd drive...

The only thing I can think of doing is making a Windows mini installation so he could then pick whatever ISO he wants to install from there.

Possibly a DOS ISO launcher?
Like a small DOS partition and then mount the ISO in DOS and launch...not sure if anything like it exists tho..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#14
He's asking how to use a HDD as an ISO in a way where he could plug the HDD into a dock and boot to it and pick win7 or win8 to install as if he put the dvd into a dvd drive...

The only thing I can think of doing is making a Windows mini installation so he could then pick whatever ISO he wants to install from there.

Possibly a DOS ISO launcher?
Like a small DOS partition and then mount the ISO in DOS and launch...not sure if anything like it exists tho..


Yeah it works exactly the same way as you would do it with a flash drive. Just extract the files and make the device boot-able.
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#15
Yeah it works exactly the same way as you would do it with a flash drive. Just extract the files and make the device boot-able.
well how do I do it with multiple OS? My goal is to put two OS setups into one HDD.. I only know how to do it with one OS setup :(
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#16
well how do I do it with multiple OS? My goal is to put two OS setups into one HDD.. I only know how to do it with one OS setup :(
You need to create 3 partitions... 2 for the Windows installers what ever is left over for free space.

Extract the ISOs to their own partitions and add the boot code.


You might need to install windows 8 to the free space partition temporarily as it will install windows boot manager/loader and it should then give you the option of witch partition to boot.