• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bootup Resolution

Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
66 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
Bootup Resolution

I have been looking to fix this one for ages but could not find any fix, hope someone can help me here. My boot splash screen is not fully spread across my monitor. I see a black border around the corners. It’s only at the boot screen though, after boot I get full 1920x1080. It’s not the bios logo because same black border I see in bios settings as well and when I am installing windows. I know it only appears for 10 seconds but I hate it.

I desperately want to get rid of that black border.

Solutions already tried:

1)I came to know 1920x1080x32 vesa mode is not available in my card’s vbios. So I edited vesa resolution of my card using RBE Hex editor/ ATIwinflash and I can caonfrim that 1920x1080x32 is available in vesa mode. It fixed the resolution and the windows/ubuntu flashing icon does not look fat now. But still the screen is not fully stretched across to the corners.

2)Tried via HDMI to DVI adapter

3)Scaling of monitor is not supported on digital input (DVI)

I am using Gigabyte HD5750 card and LG’s 1920x1080 resolution monitor connected using DVI. If I use vga connection I don’t see the black border anymore on my splash screen/in bios settings.
Thanks in advance
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#2
It's not clear which boot screen you're talking about. Do you mean the Windows 7 boot screen?

I suspect you're gonna be outta luck with this one, as the full driver features aren't available during booting, so the video card and monitor won't trigger the monitor's scaling function - witness it working when in analog mode.

Personally, I think a stretch non-native res picture looks rubbish and would rather have a 1:1 display any day.

Also, I recommend flashing your video bios back to it's original one and not fiddling with it. You don't know what problems you're putting into your card otherwise.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
66 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#3
It's not clear which boot screen you're talking about. Do you mean the Windows 7 boot screen?
Its bios splash screen and screen that you see when you are in bios settings and screen that you see when you are installing windows 7. It has black border of about 1 inch around.

I guess I am onto right direction now. it has got something to do ATI controll centre underscale/overscale settings. many other people are having same issues when connecting their pc to HD TV
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
and here I thought it was a DOS environment limitation. The screen is showing a border because you are already scaling a 800 x 600 resolution.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
yeah you're running at a low res, and your screen doesnt support it properly so it scales it.


you cant fix it, its stupid to attempt to. why the hell are you spending so much time looking at your system booting anyway?


this is all before your OS loads, so it has nothing to do with your drivers or hardware, its just your screen.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
Its bios splash screen and screen that you see when you are in bios settings and screen that you see when you are installing windows 7. It has black border of about 1 inch around.

I guess I am onto right direction now. it has got something to do ATI controll centre underscale/overscale settings. many other people are having same issues when connecting their pc to HD TV
Yeah, now I understand which bit is bothering you, I have to agree with sneeky and Mussels.

It's just the way your monitor works. At this point, the video output is being controlled by the BIOS and the ATI driver hasn't even started. It just so happens that your monitor will scale this low res picture differently depending on the input used, so there's nothing you can do about it short of replacing the monitor.

Personally, I think a stretched picture looks horrible anyway and will go for a 1:1 pixel mapping anyday.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
All my AMD/ATI cards would conform to the scaling option set on my monitor in the BIOS/POST but my Nvidia cards would stretch it no matter what scaling option I choose.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8
In my case a weirder problem happens:randomly the post screen will appear severely squashed until Windows boot screen, in any case my monitor reports 1280x1024 resolution in boot screens. It doesn't bother me as long as appear fine in Windows. I think the scaling option of my GFX card is crazy (isn't a monitor problem)