• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Borderlands 2 console fps issue

Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have windows 8

i have borderlands 2 on steam.

i download frap to check my fps and it says that im running 18 frames. when i can clearly see with my eyes that its not that. id say around 40... yet fraps is saying 18.

now i went into the console of borderland 2 and it is saying the same thing 18 frames..

dont call me crazy plz, but im telling you that borderlands is running wayyyy smooth then what is shown.

is there a comparability issue with window 8? does anyone know whats going on..
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,341 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,954
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#3
system specs or we can't help you
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
I have no problem with Windows8 and Boardlands2 on my 7950s, either as single card, or in Crossfire. Just played through from beginning to end over the past few weeks.

Just be sure to disable Phys-X(Set to low), maybe that'll help.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#5
Processor AMD A10-5800K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 3800 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 16.0 GB
gigabyte f2a85x-up4 motherborad
amd raedon 6670 discrete
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,341 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,954
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#6
18 sounds about right for that hardware
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
498
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#7
18 sounds about right for that hardware
Maybe he's not running it maxed out.

@OP, We can't help you if you don't post your specs, graphics settings(low med high).

How about other games? do they display fps properly?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#8
im telling you guys that its is not 18 fps... im playing in 1980 on medium setting in that game. and it is wayy smoother then that. i just upgrade from the A8 3850 with the same 6670 discrete.

and 18 frame on 1980 was nothing like what im looking at now. so thinking that the fps meter is not showing the correct number.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,341 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,954
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#11
at anyrate you can try upgrading to the latest beta driver and installing the latest CAPS
else you are gonna need to lower your res or detail because while it may not look like 18fps it probly is because FPS meters don't lie
my 6870 barely maintains a consistent 60 @ 1920x1080 and its faster then the APU and the discrete combined
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
Why bother with what is shown when you percieve it as smooth? Just play and be happy.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#14
That sounds about right. My brother played this game on a GTS 250 and he was getting 25-30fps on max at 1360x768, but it looked much smoother.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#15
Its is in duel graphics mode. i meant to add... maybe it only reading the frame value of only the discrete.... lol
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,341 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,954
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#16
Its is in duel graphics mode. i meant to add... maybe it only reading the frame value of only the discrete.... lol
doesn't work like that