• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Borked 6950 - 6970 upgrade, MSI Twin Frozr II

Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi - long time lurker, first time poster.

Was hoping for a bit of your expertise on this matter. I tried flashing my MSI Twin Frozr II R6950 to a 6970, not doing my research properly, and now the card won't pass the POST.

I jammed a 8400GS in there (I know) and I can still see the crippled card in Windows in my second PCI-E slot.

Thing is, in my idiocy I managed to lose my original BIOS backup. Perhaps I could flash it with one of the BIOSes in the VGA BIOS collection here on this wonderful site? Problem is, I'm not quite clear on which one to use and I don't want to risk making things worse by just picking a random one.

There doesn't seem to be an BIOS for the MSI R6950 Twin Frozr II (there's one for a Twin Frozr II OC, but I have the vanialla 800MHz / 5000Gbps one). Do you think there's a chance the BIOS for the OC version will work, or the earlier MSI 6950 BIOSes (for the MSI 2PM2D2GD5) that have the same spec as my card? Has anyone been through the same rigmarole and have the correct BIOS I need perchance?

Thanks in advance,

Dave
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#2
Your GPU is a custom made design and therefore you should only try MSI bioses because reference ones won't likely work due to differences in VRM and controllers.
I assume your VGA doesn't have a BIOS switch right?
Which BIOS have you used to flash your VGA?

Also welcome to TPU
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#3
My instinct says to go with the overclocked one, at worst it will have slightly higher 3D voltages but that should not be a problem for you, I think you would have a decent chance of resurrecting it.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#4
Your GPU is a custom made design and therefore you should only try MSI bioses because reference ones won't likely work due to differences in VRM and controllers.
I assume your VGA doesn't have a BIOS switch right?
Which BIOS have you used to flash your VGA?

Also welcome to TPU
No BIOS switch - if I'd bothered to look this up before trying the flash I wouldn't have bothered. Seems all I heard on the internet and magazines before I tried the flash was "Get a free 6970, NO RISK!!!" and then after the flash, "Help! We've all bricked our graphics cards!". Needless to say, this is the last time I'll be so keen to tinker with a £200 slab of electronics.

I tried updating with this one:

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/96223/MSI.HD6970.2048.101216.html

I think I'll try the BIOS Tatty suggested and report back. That chip comes in the same box as my pre-OC one, so I can't fail :respect:
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#5
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
Sorry, I meant I used the BIOS I linked to upgrade to the 6970, which failed. I'm going to try re-flash to a 6950 one once I've made a bootable USB stick (ATI WinFlash doesn't seem to work anymore, and I gather it's best doing it from DOS anyway).
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#7
Yes you should definitely use the DOS method, it's better.
Anyway my fault, I misread ;)
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
Thanks for the advice guys, it gave me that bit of hope that I could rescue my 6950, without which it may have been long slung in the bin. But I am happily writing this to you now on a monitor connected to a working 6950 card. Flashing with the BIOS I found on this here site (the OC one Tatty recommended) using ATIFlash in DOS seemed to do the trick.

Thanks again!
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.75/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
#9
Good to see you rescued your card, if I were you I would just edit your BIOS to unlock shaders and then set full 6970 clocks, at the Twin Frozr II 6950's stock voltage of 1.21v I have stable clocks of 945/1440 on both of my cards and simply have not seen a reason to try and increase them further, you should easily be able to hit 6970 clocks manually overclocking which is likely to be less of a hassle than BIOS flashing to a 6970 anyway.