• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bought a used RX 470D - GPU Clock Stuck at 300 Mhz

Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
110 (0.61/day)
bought this used 470 by sapphire that is a 470D 1650 Mhz memory clock.
problem is its core clock is stuck at 300 and doesn't move.
no crashes nothing.
GPU Z render running doesn't move the clock and link speed remains at 1.1
i flashed 470 bios thinking it might jolt something but still same. lol
 

Attachments

  • 1.gif
    1.gif
    28.5 KB · Views: 82
  • 2.gif
    2.gif
    19 KB · Views: 84
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
15,272 (5.97/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Audio Device(s) Situational :)
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II (Best K/B ever... <3)
Software W10 x64
I think you bought a brick.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,540 (4.97/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
It's stuck in safe mode due to a hardware fault.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
110 (0.61/day)
opened it up, don't know what kind of grease kind of paste was on.
washed the heat sink with water
repasted and done.
 

Attachments

  • fixed.gif
    fixed.gif
    19.9 KB · Views: 87
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
803 (0.31/day)
Processor ryzen 5 5600x
Motherboard AB350m Pro4 with B450M Pro4-F bios
Cooling custom loop
Memory TEAMGROUP T-Force TXKD416G3600HC18ADC01 16gbs XMP
Video Card(s) HP GTX1650 super 4gb
Storage MZVLB256HBHQ-000H1 PM981a (256GB)/3TB HDD
Display(s) Nitro XF243Y Pbmiiprx
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
good job. glad to see it working.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
246 (1.65/day)
Location
Europe
Hello. If you open up, 1st you will clean the PCB and the GPU from old thermal paste.
After that you should make a picture to see what kind of memory chips you have on video card.
Then you should use a new thermal paste and after that when you start the computer with the video card in it, you should make a picture from GPU-z.
In case the repaste procedure did not get the expected results, we will try to reflash the video card.
 
Top