• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Brand new Asus P5E3 Deluxe Wifi-AP @n doesn't boot

Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
Hi there,

I think I'm missing something so I quickly post something in cas someone would have a magic idea.

I've just purchased a brand new MB Asus P5E3 Deluxe Wifi-AP @n, an Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 x 1Gb of RAM DDR3 10666 and a new PSU Corsair 530w. I've installed everything in my Antec P150 box. I followed carefully the user manual to make sure I wouldn't forget something.

The PC is now setup, but when I press the power button, nothing happen. I can see the green led on the board, but nothing happens, no fan spinning, no video signal nothing. It's like if the MB wouldn't receive the "startup" signal. So I thought I made a mistake with the PWR connectors. I double checked everything and it's installed according to the manual. I've also tried to shortcut the two pins for the power, but nothing happens.

I've connected the 24pins power connecter as well as the 8 pins one (also tried with the 4 pins one).

Any idea what I'm missing?
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
Did you hook your case's power cable to the motherboard?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
Did you hook your case's power cable to the motherboard?
hi there,
yes it's the first thing I've checked.
As I said, I've connected the 24pins power connector as well as the 8 pins one (also tried with the 4 pins one).
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
hi there,
yes it's the first thing I've checked.
As I said, I've connected the 24pins power connector as well as the 8 pins one (also tried with the 4 pins one).
That's not the cable i'm referring to. Take a look @ this pic (it's from a Rampage Formula):



That was the power cable i was referring to: the "PWRSW" cable from the case (not the PSU) to the motherboard.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
oops ok sorry.... I know what you mean now :ohwell:
yep i've also double checked this.
Asus provided a big jumper on which one can connect the different cables from the case
this is how it's configured:



and the back:



I've also double checked the 24pins power connector coming from the PSU as well as the 8 pins one:



note that I have a little cap I can use to convert the 8 pins plug on the MB to be a 4 or 8 pins power connector. Should I use a 4 pins or 8 pins one?
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
and btw, on that big jumper from Asus I've alreayd tried to swicth all connectors coming from the PC case (in case the "+" and "-" was not right - don't know if it makes a difference)

I've also tried to connect the PWRSW directly to the pins on the MB without using the big jumper. Same stuff
 

spearman914

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.82/day)
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
Well, all that occurs to me are some things that may be obvious to you, but I'll list them -- is the EATX12V aux power connected? are the clear CMOS and chassis intrusion jumpers in the right positions? are the mobo mounting screws not overtightened, and have you checked to see that they are not shorting to any adjacent conductive signal runs? Have you tried removing and reseating the memory stick(s)? Is the cpu fan monitor connected to the mobo properly, so the mobo doesn't incorrectly sense that the fan is not running or not present?
If none of those work then it is a possibility you got a bad batch.
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
and btw, on that big jumper from Asus I've alreayd tried to swicth all connectors coming from the PC case (in case the "+" and "-" was not right - don't know if it makes a difference)

I've also tried to connect the PWRSW directly to the pins on the MB without using the big jumper. Same stuff
If that didn't work then spearman914 might be wright: i know i'm out of ideas :(

The reason it thought it could be it is because that happened to me before and i was like "WTF? That was working OK 10 minutes ago!!!" and it turned out to be that little thing ... :p

EDIT

I noticed that in one of your pics, the case's speaker cable isn't hooked up. This is important because it's what gives you the beep sound you hear when everything is OK and several beeps when it's not.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
hi spearman,
I've just tried a clear CMOS (removing the battery and so on) and it didn't change anything.
The weird stuff is that it's like of the MB was not getting the "power on" signal are not even the chassis fan is working.... just the green led on the MB.

The PSU was working fine yesterday evening so I don't see why suddenly it would be broken...
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
I edited my previous post: check it, please.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
I edited my previous post: check it, please.
thanks for the idea, but there's no case speaker on the Antec P150.
I have a an old one I'll see if I can connect it, but I'm not sure
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
ok I've just connected the spare speaker I have, but nothing happens. Pressing the powerbutton has no effect whatesover.

Even if the MB is dead, at least the chassis fan should start spinning no?
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
ok I've just connected the spare speaker I have, but nothing happens. Pressing the powerbutton has no effect whatesover.

Even if the MB is dead, at least the chassis fan should start spinning no?
Not if it were hooked to the motherboard and this was "dead" and yes if it were hooked up directly to the PSU.

OK: i'm officially out of ideas. Maybe someone else can help :wtf:

EDIT

One last idea!

Use the "user CP" to edit your system specs: maybe something else is the problem.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
Done for the system specs.

This is driving me crazy, I blew up a MB because I hoover the dust (I know bad idea), bought the same model on eBay and it was dead, bought this brand new MB Asus and still nothing. I have a new MB, new CPU, new RAM, new PSU and it still doesn't work. It's madness
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.06/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
The e8400 is pretty new, another user had the same problem you need a newer bios.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
The e8400 is pretty new, another user had the same problem you need a newer bios.
my problem is that I cannot flash the bios as it doesn't start :(
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
Really I don't know what's going on here.
I thouht because of the story of hoovering that my PSU was dead. So I replace the Antec one by a Corsair one.

Just for a test, I've now connected the MB with the Antec PSU, standing outside the case.
Guess what happenned, I pressed the power button and all fans (chassis, CPU, ATI x1900xt) started to spin, all leds are active and so on.

Only problem (and it very strangly looks like the other problem I had yesterday with another MB :confused: :confused:), is that I have no image at all. My monitor (which I've alreayd tested many times) stays black
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
Really I don't know what's going on here.
I thouht because of the story of hoovering that my PSU was dead. So I replace the Antec one by a Corsair one.

Just for a test, I've now connected the MB with the Antec PSU, standing outside the case.
Guess what happenned, I pressed the power button and all fans (chassis, CPU, ATI x1900xt) started to spin, all leds are active and so on.

Only problem (and it very strangly looks like the other problem I had yesterday with another MB :confused: :confused:), is that I have no image at all. My monitor (which I've alreayd tested many times) stays black
Have you hooked the video card to the PSU? I believe that card has to be!
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
Have you hooked the video card to the PSU? I believe that card has to be!
yes it was hooked to the PSU (as the ATI fan was spinning - very fast btw)
I've also tried another non 3D Nvidia card and still the same thing (everything starts but no image)
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
i'm starting to think it's the case the problem (even though it's impossible).
tested 3 MBs, 2 videos cards, 2 CPUS, 4 type of RAM, 2 PSU, always the same issue (everything starts but not video signal)
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
yes it was hooked to the PSU (as the ATI fan was spinning - very fast btw)
I've also tried another non 3D Nvidia card and still the same thing (everything starts but no image)
Do you have another computer to test the monitor on? Even though it worked before, it might have "bitten the dust" since the last time it was working.
 

spearman914

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.82/day)
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
Huh how could the case effect stuff. Case is not connected to any wires have to try the MB on a caseless watever. Like you try the MB and boot in mid air. Just plug the HDD and Power Led to the MB , CPU , Video , RAM , Monitor, PSU everything else to the MB. Try booting again. See if that works.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 R3
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9B-SE2
Memory Corsair Dominator 8 Go (Kit 4 x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC12800 CL8 - CMP4GX3M2A1600C8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 - VaporX - 1024 Mo GDDR5 - PCI-Express 2.0
Storage SSD Intel Postville
Display(s) HP 2207h
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Power Supply Seasonic X-760
Software W7 x64
Do you have another computer to test the monitor on? Even though it worked before, it might have "bitten the dust" since the last time it was working.
I'm sure it works as each time I connect the VGA cable to my IBM laptop the image comes up.
But the monitor only have a VGA entry, so, on my problematic PC with the ATi card I'm using a little converter DVi-VGA. Do you think this could make a difference?
 

spearman914

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.82/day)
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
Hey try this maybe one of your sticks/slots have a problem. Take out one memory stick boot again. If it still occurs take out the other one and put the one you took out before back and boot again or...... or try putting them both with 1 slot spaces between them. Ex: Slots 1 and 3 / Slots 2 and 4 or Slots 1 and 4 / Slots 2 and 3. And also try booting with one stick each time in a different slot.
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,547 (0.87/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
I'm sure it works as each time I connect the VGA cable to my IBM laptop the image comes up.
But the monitor only have a VGA entry, so, on my problematic PC with the ATi card I'm using a little converter DVi-VGA. Do you think this could make a difference?
It's possible that the problem is with the converter. Also: try spearman914's suggestion.
 
Top