• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Brand New Power Supply - 3.3v rail out of spec?

Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Z800
Processor Intel Xeon X5560 @2.8 GHz (dual processor)
Motherboard HP
Cooling OEM
Memory 6x Hynix PC3-10700 4GB ECC Buffered RAM, 24GB total
Video Card(s) Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 (SLI)
Storage Dual RAID0 Western Digital 10K RPM SAS drives
Display(s) 1x Samsung 27" LCD, 1x Samsung 24" LED
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Xi-Fi
Power Supply 1.1KW HP Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
I just picked up a Corsair CX430 430W power supply from newegg for $24.99 after rebate to replace a crappy PSU for my home server that came with the case (the case + PSU was $29.99, the PSU was really loud and only came with 2 SATA connectors).

Anyway, the new PSU just arrived from newegg and I hooked it up to my Antec PSU tester (multimeter is at home) and it's showing that the 3.3V rail is out of spec by almost 20%. Everything else looks fine, it's just the 3.3V rail that is out of spec. Is this going to cause any issues or should I just RMA this back to Corsair?

 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,161 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,711
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#2
Wow, that's really low. The CX430 usually tests very well. The 3.3v VR test at TPU had it dipping at most 3.6%, and averaging more like 3.24%.

The jonnyGURU test showed very good results too, not wavering much even in the hot box.

Barring a problem with your tester, which seems unlikely given it's 5 and 12 volt readings, I'd say it looks like you're going to have to RMA it.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
What does software like AIDA 64 or the motherboard software show, just out of curiosity. Also I would hook up a digital multi-meter and verify the actual voltage. If it is out of spec ( +/- 10%) I would send it back.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,397
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
I second the Digital Multi Meter suggestion.

Though is there anything in a modern computer that even uses the 3.3v rail?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
IDk last time I had 3.3V issues was on a DFI Nf4
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,657
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
Just run it. It will be fine.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
I would not trust the tester - measure the voltage with a multimeter.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Z800
Processor Intel Xeon X5560 @2.8 GHz (dual processor)
Motherboard HP
Cooling OEM
Memory 6x Hynix PC3-10700 4GB ECC Buffered RAM, 24GB total
Video Card(s) Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 (SLI)
Storage Dual RAID0 Western Digital 10K RPM SAS drives
Display(s) 1x Samsung 27" LCD, 1x Samsung 24" LED
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Xi-Fi
Power Supply 1.1KW HP Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8
I would not trust the tester - measure the voltage with a multimeter.
I bought the PSU while I am on vacation so I won't be able to test it until next week. But would the tester really be at fault if it was giving "decent" 12V and 5V readings and low 3.3V readings?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,397
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
I bought the PSU while I am on vacation so I won't be able to test it until next week. But would the tester really be at fault if it was giving "decent" 12V and 5V readings and low 3.3V readings?
Sure, if the 3.3v circuit on the tester is broken somehow. I had a test like that that would consistently give bad 5v readings. It turns out the pin on the tester for reading 5v was oxidized so it always read low. After cleaning the pin with some contact cleaner the readings went back to normal. Never did figure out why just that one pin got oxidized.

Do you have another PSU that you can test to see what the tester says with another unit?
 

novatech

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
PSU Corsair 3.3v out of spec

I bought the PSU while I am on vacation so I won't be able to test it until next week. But would the tester really be at fault if it was giving "decent" 12V and 5V readings and low 3.3V readings?
It should be said we have purchased 11 PSU units from Corsair that all exhibit this issue all voltages are fine except the 3.3 v is reading 2.7v which is way out of spec.

You are not alone, we are sill trying to get all the defective unit sent back for good ones.
the CX600 & CX430 as well as others are no longer manufactured by SeaSonic as they used to be in the last year since Corsair is no longer using Seasonic for these unit we have had a rash of returns and out of spec PSU units.

Generally, supply voltages must be within ±5% of their nominal values at all times. The little-used negative supply voltages, however, have a ±10% tolerance. There is a specification for ripple in a 10 Hz–20 MHz bandwidth:[8]

Supply [V] Tolerance Range (min. to max.) Ripple (p. to p. max.)
+5 VDC ±5% (±0.25 V) +4.75 V to +5.25 V 50 mV
−5 VDC ±10% (±0.50 V) –4.50 V to –5.50 V 50 mV
+12 VDC ±5% (±0.60 V) +11.40 V to +12.60 V 120 mV
−12 VDC ±10% (±1.2 V) –10.8 V to –13.2 V 120 mV
+3.3 VDC ±5% (±0.165 V) +3.135 V to +3.465 V 50 mV
+5 VSB ±5% (±0.25 V) +4.75 V to +5.25 V 50 mV

8 ^ a b "ATX Specification Version 2.2". 090503 formfactors.org
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATX
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,889 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
It should be said we have purchased 11 PSU units from Corsair that all exhibit this issue all voltages are fine except the 3.3 v is reading 2.7v which is way out of spec.

You are not alone, we are sill trying to get all the defective unit sent back for good ones.
the CX600 & CX430 as well as others are no longer manufactured by SeaSonic as they used to be in the last year since Corsair is no longer using Seasonic for these unit we have had a rash of returns and out of spec PSU units.

Generally, supply voltages must be within ±5% of their nominal values at all times. The little-used negative supply voltages, however, have a ±10% tolerance. There is a specification for ripple in a 10 Hz–20 MHz bandwidth:[8]

Supply [V] Tolerance Range (min. to max.) Ripple (p. to p. max.)
+5 VDC ±5% (±0.25 V) +4.75 V to +5.25 V 50 mV
−5 VDC ±10% (±0.50 V) –4.50 V to –5.50 V 50 mV
+12 VDC ±5% (±0.60 V) +11.40 V to +12.60 V 120 mV
−12 VDC ±10% (±1.2 V) –10.8 V to –13.2 V 120 mV
+3.3 VDC ±5% (±0.165 V) +3.135 V to +3.465 V 50 mV
+5 VSB ±5% (±0.25 V) +4.75 V to +5.25 V 50 mV

8 ^ a b "ATX Specification Version 2.2". 090503 formfactors.org
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATX
Software or proper measuring?

And about software readings: DO NOT TRUST THEM. Seriously. Don't. ATM my 12V line is sitting at 7V, according to software.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#12
i had a friend with a cx600, had issues with the 3.3V as well. they replaced his in a day. his was a physical loose connection prob though.

so might be the same issue. you can use a multimeter to check.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#13
And that's why you shouldn't buy those unexccusably poor quality Corsair PSU's. Their higher end ones, no complaints, but those new CX units kinda suck.

But then again with no load and using a useless "PSU Tester" who knows... if the computer works the out of spec 3.3V should fix itself.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#14
yea software measurement is crap
take one psu build identical systems with different motherboards all of them will report different voltages with the same psu
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,521 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#15
Also I would hook up a digital multi-meter and verify the actual voltage. If it is out of spec ( +/- 10%) I would send it back.
Software is very unreliable. Use the MM if you have one...Also, spec is 5%... the value must be within 5% of 3.3v. :toast:
 

novatech

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Software or proper measuring?

And about software readings: DO NOT TRUST THEM. Seriously. Don't. ATM my 12V line is sitting at 7V, according to software.
This was verified with DMM & with Dedicated PS tester