• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bricked 5750

badbd09

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Dhaka, Bangladesh
#1
Hi, i've a Asus HD 5750(one with racing car cooler) which is bricked after oc'ing. i'm trying 1-8 pin method but problem is i can't find bios chip. can anyone help me or provide a datasheet?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#2
Never heard of overclocking bricking a card.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,192 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
Hi, i've a Asus HD 5750(one with racing car cooler) which is bricked after oc'ing. i'm trying 1-8 pin method but problem is i can't find bios chip. can anyone help me or provide a datasheet?
Rma n never bios flash again. the pin connect method works on ref cards only
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#4
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#5
If you have another card, you can reflash the bios through dos.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#6

badbd09

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Dhaka, Bangladesh
#7
If you have another card, you can reflash the bios through dos.
i've tried it, but atiflash doesn't detect any gpu

I understand that but he may have put overclocking wording on acccident.
i'm pretty sure about it. i've used afterburner to OC it. i ran fine in my primary rig, but in my secondary rig my pc didn't boot with it. i've tried it back on my primary rig, it's bricked. Only running fan at full speed. nothing else.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#9
i'm pretty sure about it. i've used afterburner to OC it. i ran fine in my primary rig, but in my secondary rig my pc didn't boot with it. i've tried it back on my primary rig, it's bricked. Only running fan at full speed. nothing else.
So you only OC'ed it by using Afterburner? If you did not do any voltmods, nor any VGA BIOS flashing the card itself should be alright (unless something else, other than OC'ing could cause the issues).
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,890 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#11
Have you tried a different 6-pin pci-e power connector?

Also try a different pci-e slot and see if you get any response.

Hope something works out.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,192 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#14
So you only OC'ed it by using Afterburner? If you did not do any voltmods, nor any VGA BIOS flashing the card itself should be alright (unless something else, other than OC'ing could cause the issues).
So, u suggest i try something else before i force flash it?
Dude, answer the question. What exactly did you do when you tried to overclock it?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,192 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
listen to the help you get here or the ones helping you will drop you quick
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,145 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,290
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#18
set core clock to highest. run a combuster to see stability
what was the 'highest'?

Secondly what was it that you increased, the GPU or Ram??. If you jumped all clocks by something stupid like 700mhz then hit the stress test button, can you really blame the card for killing itself?
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#19
Did the card died during the over-clock stability test? Because if it did it's dead for sure, no way to recover. BTW over-clocks done within Windows (by software) don't touch the BIOS settings, so I'm not sure what you are trying to accomplish by flashing the BIOS (and the thread you linked from hardforum is only a fix for bad BIOS flashes, which has no effect on your problem).

Please be more specific about how the problem started and what you did before.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,890 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#20
I've seen donig it on a sapphire Gpu http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1621938 I think it's not limited to reference model

oh, and i can't RMA it. it's a old one. in my country RMA is provided for 2 years only.
uh, as someone else said before this is a Sapphire card and you have an Asus card.

ALSO, the card in the guide is a 6950. Which is quite a bit different to the 5750.

Personally I wouldn't try this unless you tried just about everything else.

Looking here, I can't see any 8-pin ICs on the card. So maybe you might need to look for a different guide if you are to continue to attempt the chewing gum fix.
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/asus_eah5750_formula/images/19.htm
 

badbd09

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Dhaka, Bangladesh
#21
what was the 'highest'?

Secondly what was it that you increased, the GPU or Ram??. If you jumped all clocks by something stupid like 700mhz then hit the stress test button, can you really blame the card for killing itself?

Did the card died during the over-clock stability test? Because if it did it's dead for sure, no way to recover. BTW over-clocks done within Windows (by software) don't touch the BIOS settings, so I'm not sure what you are trying to accomplish by flashing the BIOS (and the thread you linked from hardforum is only a fix for bad BIOS flashes, which has no effect on your problem).

Please be more specific about how the problem started and what you did before.

my card survived stability test. it was dead when i remove the card and put it in another Pc.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#22
What do you mean with "dead"? Give symptoms please. Did you connect the 6-pin PEG power connector the card uses?
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#23
Why did you put it in this "other pc"? Was the "other pc" broken in anyway (did it kill a video card before)? Is the "other pc" working now with another video card (dedicated one)? Did you took some precautions about static discharges before and during the removal of the card from your pc?
 

badbd09

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Dhaka, Bangladesh
#24
uh, as someone else said before this is a Sapphire card and you have an Asus card.

ALSO, the card in the guide is a 6950. Which is quite a bit different to the 5750.

Personally I wouldn't try this unless you tried just about everything else.

Looking here, I can't see any 8-pin ICs on the card. So maybe you might need to look for a different guide if you are to continue to attempt the chewing gum fix.
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/asus_eah5750_formula/images/19.htm
I didn't said that it's exactly same, i thought, if u can tweak a sapphire gpu why can't asus?

I also saw the pic in link to identify bios chip, but i cant find it so i've to remove the cooler. BTW there are 4 -pin IC on opposite side. may be one of them is my Precious!!

also when i boot pc, it's fan runs @maximum speed. Does that mean the gpu is pushing daisy?
 

badbd09

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Dhaka, Bangladesh
#25
What do you mean with "dead"? Give symptoms please. Did you connect the 6-pin PEG power connector the card uses?
i mean to say no display, only fan running, if u boot using another card- no 5750 in windows or atiflash. and yes, i did connect 6 pin connector, i'm not that mucha noob.