• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bricked? Powercolor 5850 after bios flash

Nviduum

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi Guys,
I have some Kind of a strange Problem with my Powercolor 5850 Radeon 1Gb.

Had the Dual Monitor flicker issue and decided to RBE-modify the clock table.
So I flashed this modded bios; no success flickering remained.
Tried multiple clock and voltage settings flashed them (also using ATIflash 3.99)
Nope, issue remains the same-.-

Downloaded another bios from the AMD Forums http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/123623
Ended up with a hardbricked card which wouldn't even be recognized by ATIflash.

So now comes the weird thing:
I sucessfully tried the EEPROM trick and was able to reflash the original bios.
BUT!
The card is recognized as Standard-VGA Adapter.
GPU-Z and HWinfo64 gives me a Core clock value of 13,6 MHz and a memory clock of 3196MHz.
Also the Memory Interface Width is read out with a 512 Bits oO?

So installing the proper VGA Driver ends up with a Black screen (while using the GeForce 8200 onboard VGA).

I already tried flashin the bios with different bios versions from the TPU-DB, also tried several flash options (like -newbios, -f, -fa)

Any Help please? I'm sure I hadn't fried anything while soldering the bridge over the eeprom.

My Sys-Specs:

Main Sys (which is home of the 5850, and I also used for the first flashing attempts)

Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 AMD770/SB710
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE
8 GBytes RAM DDR-II 800
OCZ Vertex 2 SSD
2x Samsung P2270 Monitors


Backup Sys (a.k.a. my grilfriends PC ;) which is the system I tried to recover the 5850)
ASrock K10N78M-Pro nForce 720a
AMD Phenom x4 9550
4 GBytes RAM DDR-II 1066
OCZ Vertex 2 SSD
2x Samsung P2270 Monitors

Both systems are sourced by Enermax Liberty PSUs


KR
Bene
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

Welcome to TPU

The card is recognized as Standard-VGA Adapter.
GPU-Z and HWinfo64 gives me a Core clock value of 13,6 MHz and a memory clock of 3196MHz.
Also the Memory Interface Width is read out with a 512 Bits oO?
**If you are able to access windows with a spare vga card or on-board vga; Uninstall and deep clean any AMD drivers for the vga card before the flash process**

Use bootable flash drive with atiflash and original vbios image

Type at the dos prompt - dir to view the content of the flash drive

Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -ai 0 [see if adapter is at this address and is recognised]

Re-flash the original or Backup/copy of the original vbios image
Type at the dos prompt; atiflash -f -p 0 [VBiosName].rom

[Note: 0 is the primary card PCIe slot one & 1 is the secondary PCIe slot two]
[Note: when booting from on-board vga / igp also = primary position 0]

reboot once finished and remove the flash drive

reinstall AMD Catalyst Drivers

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Nviduum

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#3
Hi Law-II,
already did that a couple of times but I don't even get a POST screen with the 5850. That's what bothers me
Also after having tried several different bioses (which are all correctly recognized by GPU-Z) I still have no video AND if I reinstall drivers (jupp I did use the removal tool and even tried a newly set up system) I get a black screen even from the onboard VGA.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Hi

I get a black screen even from the onboard VGA.
Would double check the solder points, make sure the PCB trace is not in contact with any wire or old solder on or *near to pin1 & pin8

Note: no vga from on-board vga /iGP would suggest dead hardware has been placed in a PCI/PCIe slot [*may be due to a short on the 5850] assuming that the on-board vga /iGP works once the 5850 is removed.

Also Note: EEPROM cannot sustain flashing and that it can only be flashed a certain number of times before failing [although I have not had this happen; its not to say it dose not occur from time to time]

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Nviduum

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
No No you got me wrong!
The system works fine even with the 5850 installed as long as it operates as a generic vga device.
Installing Radeon Drivers causes the the IGP graphics to black out.
I will take it apart... hopefully I'll find something

Thx
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.45/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#6
well you said it wont post with it attached so you cant flash it..
but you just said it will post with it attached..

you just boot from your onboard gpu then flash the pci-e card as stated above...
Its a bit confusing what you are saying..

are you saying when you have flashed the card so it is detected as a standard vga card it will post. but if you flash it with the correct bios it wont post?
 

Nviduum

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#7
Oh okay sorry for the mess.

The Backup -Sys will POST from IGP with the R5850 installed -> it is then also recognized by ATIFlash thus flashable

In my main SYS with the R5850 installed i have no POST
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,211 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,403
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#8
Did you try clearing your bios? Im talking about your mobo bios.

If youve tried this but the same thing still happens then id say you've installed the wrong bios on your 5850... Sometimes cards are identical - same manufacturers code & partnumber etc etc but one bios wont work with the other because the revision of 1 card is different from the other
 

Nviduum

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#9
Bios reset... still nothing.
Disassembled the card, found a tiny solder bridge between pin 8 and 7 of the eeprom....
looks like I fried the card >.<

This is what my HWINFO reading looks like...
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#10
Did you RE-FLASH the card after you removed the" tiny solder bridge between pin 8 and 7" ?? The .jpg pic shows a bad bios.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#12
Can you post a pic from the atiflash cmd?
-ai [NUM]Display advanced information of ATI adapters [NUM] if specified

Have you tried flashing with an 'empty' rom file the reflashing with the org rom?
 

Nviduum

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#13
Sorry, didn't notice the reply....

I'm going to post a screenshot here on weekend (much work to do ATM)

AFAIK, flash procedure seems to work fine with different versions of ATIflash.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,758 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
If the igp blanks out move the video chord to the video card
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,413 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#15
solder two leads onto the pins you shorted before and wired that up to a toggle switch make sure the switch is OFF when you power the machine on once you are booted to a atiflash prompt turn the switch on complete the flash and then turn it OFF again before doing a reboot