• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bricked RX 470. How to fix?

Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
Hi,
I have bought a SAPPHIRE NITRO RX 470, with hopes of fixing it. Seller said that the graphics card black-screens after a driver install, which holds true.
I have, so far, flashed different VBIOSes, verified or unverified, with varying results, from bricking the card to a code 43 error. I talked to SAPPHIRE support, asked them if they have the stock VBIOS, but they gave me a mining BIOS, which checks out with the database here. I also tried the atikmdag patcher to no avail.
At this point, I am really stumped and out of ideas. What should I do next?
GPU uses Samsung K4G41325FC chips (which confuses me because the chips are found on mining RX 470s, but this has HDMI and DisplayPort). Attached is the information on the heatsink, as well as other things that may help. I don't have a GPU-Z screenshot yet, though if somebody replies immediately I can give as soon as possible.


ADDENDUM: I have added GPU-Z screenshots, as well as the screenshot of the current flashed BIOS, using PBE.
So far, I have tried these BIOSes, but showed Code 43 after installing drivers:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210512_223536.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_20210512_014825.jpg
    4.2 MB · Views: 17
  • IMG_20210512_014759.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 21
  • gpuz 1.png
    gpuz 1.png
    71.5 KB · Views: 27
  • gpuz 2.png
    gpuz 2.png
    35.7 KB · Views: 24
  • pbe.png
    pbe.png
    498.1 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
521 (5.48/day)
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
What makes you feel the BIOS is at issue.
 
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
I am not sure how you used "failed" on that one. It's probably just me.
I wasn't really sure if the BIOS in the GPU when I bought it was the stock one, so I tried with other BIOSes to see if it would fix it.
What happened is that a handful of the BIOSes had drivers installed without black screen, just code 43.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
521 (5.48/day)
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
You kept a copy of the original BIOS?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
What makes you feel the BIOS is at issue.
Different bioses gave me different results. Some would straight brick the gpu, some would install drivers, but give out a code 43 error. I really am not sure about things since I don't have much computer parts around here, thus unable to do elimination to know what is really at fault
You kept a copy of the original BIOS?
I did, but I really didn't think that it would fix my issue though, since the bios that came with it still gave me the brick, which is why I went and flashed different a different bios.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
521 (5.48/day)
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
You bought it broken, so I don't see how changing the BIOS could help.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
You bought it broken, so I don't see how changing the BIOS could help.
Pretty unfortunate, I guess. Thank you for the response, though.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,301 (5.05/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
A GPU-z screenshot with the original Bios would be more useful than the random information you have given.
There's two with Samsung Vram, one is FC the other FE.

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
A GPU-z screenshot with the original Bios would be more useful than the random information you have given.
I am not sure on original bios. I didn't have any backups of the bios that came with it, since it made the black screen issue.
To clarify, is it not on one of the screenshots?

FE bios made my card "turn off" almost before getting driver install done, no signal, no fan spin, but with sound
FC bios gave me code 43
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
UPDATE: This card, after research and speculation, may not be an RX 470, but an RX 470D. A post from Guru3D shows a really similar card with mine (picture that shows so is attached), though I can't find any BIOS that has my VRAM in it.
With that in mind, any input and links to a proper BIOS is appreciated. Thanks for the help!
EDIT: added pcb pictures which matches my pcb that is shown on original post
 

Attachments

  • thumbnail_8505221_10_thumb.jpg
    thumbnail_8505221_10_thumb.jpg
    5.2 KB · Views: 30
  • beef4143e737.jpg
    beef4143e737.jpg
    104.5 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,301 (5.05/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
I managed to find these two with Samsung FC ram.

I tried the first one the past week (I have been flashing BIOSes since last week), and it "shuts off" when I try to install drivers. Second one gave me code 43.
I think that my card isn't an RX 470, but might be an RX 470D, as it didn't have neither a VBIOS switch nor an LED mode switch, like a regular RX 470, as seen on attached. With that, I have tried the RX 470D BIOSes that have been in the TPU VBIOS database to no avail. Tried to go to Chinese forums, but several downloads are on a paywall.
 

Attachments

  • 184421780_4358087287549410_9111385715701863500_n.jpg
    184421780_4358087287549410_9111385715701863500_n.jpg
    119.3 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,301 (5.05/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I think that my card isn't an RX 470, but might be an RX 470D
I highly doubt that based on the part number on the shroud, but the shroud might not be original either.
 
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
I highly doubt that based on the part number on the shroud, but the shroud might not be original either.
Knowing that people may buy these kinds of things in my country, I am really afraid that it might be the case.
At this point I'll try to find more BIOS to flash on the database, updating if ever I come across something other than a GPU shutdown or a code 43. Thanks for the help so far.
 
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
UPDATE: I couldn't find any RX 470 nor an RX 470D BIOS, however I have found in Bilibili (kinda like Chinese YouTube of sorts) that you can flash RX 570 BIOS on an RX 470D. At this point, I don't really care what happens to the card but I flashed and it now works. GPU clock and Memory clock now works, though I feel that this may be really janky, knowing that I actually want to find the stock BIOS, but as janky as it might be, it worked. Thanks for the help, guys. With that,
PSA: LEARN FROM THE EXPERTS. DO NOT FLASH ANY OTHER BIOS OTHER THAN WHAT IS IN LINE WITH YOUR SERIAL NUMBERS...
unless if you have no other option
 

Attachments

  • WHAT.png
    WHAT.png
    71.6 KB · Views: 30
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
125 (1.95/day)
Glad to hear that you solve it.
On the other hands, i personally flashed on my rx580 a lot of BIOS-es even from other manufacturer in the attempt to make it work.
Many of those bricked my card but each time i started it with short-up the bios pins and i reflashed it with another BIOS and so on.
Problem is : i still got that nasty error 43 and i tested all BIOS from not tested area from techpowerup archive. No luck at all.
At least you did it.
 
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
Glad to hear that you solve it.
On the other hands, i personally flashed on my rx580 a lot of BIOS-es even from other manufacturer in the attempt to make it work.
Many of those bricked my card but each time i started it with short-up the bios pins and i reflashed it with another BIOS and so on.
Problem is : i still got that nasty error 43 and i tested all BIOS from not tested area from techpowerup archive. No luck at all.
At least you did it.
Hi, thanks! It was probably luck that I happened to find that 570 BIOS. I tried the 1+8 method but force flashing was convenient enough that I didn't need it.
In case you are still trying, I have used an old version of AMDFlash, not sure about what specific version, but I'll be attaching it here, if ever you'll use it.
Good luck on that 580!
 

Attachments

  • AMDVBFlash.zip
    1.2 MB · Views: 19
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
125 (1.95/day)
Thanks
I will give it a try with your version of AMDflash
BTW - you wrote above that you used force flashing.
I presume you used BIOS-es for your card producer (for example you have sapphire and u used sapphire?) or you flashed from other producers also ?
Thanks again
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
521 (5.48/day)
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
UPDATE: I couldn't find any RX 470 nor an RX 470D BIOS, however I have found in Bilibili (kinda like Chinese YouTube of sorts) that you can flash RX 570 BIOS on an RX 470D. At this point, I don't really care what happens to the card but I flashed and it now works.
I am impressed by your perseverance
 
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
15 (0.37/day)
Location
Philippines
System Name RYZENPC69420
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
Motherboard MSI A320M PRO-M2
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory 8x1 Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 8 iGPU, bricked Sapphire NITRO RX 470 OC
Storage KINGSTON A400 120GB SSD, SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1TB HDD
Display(s) some TV i found lying around house
Case Inplay Meteor 01
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Audio, KZ DQ6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Gigaware K550
Thanks
I will give it a try with your version of AMDflash
BTW - you wrote above that you used force flashing.
I presume you used BIOS-es for your card producer (for example you have sapphire and u used sapphire?) or you flashed from other producers also ?
Thanks again
I did not, afaik the database said AMD, and at that point I didn't really care, the only thing that I cared about was that as long as the VRAM was of the same brand as the BIOS, I would flash it then try if it boots, then install drivers then see if it would get errors.
If you want, it would help that you'd list down what happens on a different BIOS, like if it boots properly or if it has errors, just so you can keep track.
I am impressed by your perseverance
Thanks! I really didn't like the fact that I splurged money on something I wouldn't use one way or another, hence that persistence.
 
Top