1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bringing a old rig back to life - ***NEED YOUR ADVICE***

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hoax32, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. Iciclebar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    An fun rebuild project would be to find one of those old athlon XP era Soyo boards with the voice output on the bios. Instead of beeping codes or flashing lights they had pre recorded error messages that played if you had any problems with the board. Scared the crap out of me the first time i fired one up with it on there and heard a little voice coming from inside the box out of the pc speaker.

    Very scifi-esque.
     
  2. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - PC!!!!! :roll:
     
  3. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    OK - so Ive looked around on eBay for some parts and ive found this:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-D865GLC-Socket-478-mATX-Motherboard-Video-Audio-/120831197159?pt=Motherboards&hash=item1c2219bfe7#ht_1743wt_754

    -supports 800MHz FSB
    -supports up to Pentium 4HT 3.4GHz
    -supports AGP x8
    -4 RAM slots instead of only 2
    -better onboard graphics
    -better I/O controller
    -2 FAN connectors
    -SATA controller with 2 SATA connections

    I think that $27 total for a manufacturer refurbished board like this is well worth!
    What do you guys think?
     
  4. Iciclebar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I would almost bet money on that being an HP/Compaq board.

    We've got a couple old HP's still kicking around as training pcs. One of them died a while back (popped a bunch of caps) and its board looked exactly like that. The other that that's still going runs really nicely as far as old p4's go.

    Make sure you've got some decent cooling for both the processor and the case if you are going up to old P4s.

    P4 extreme edition! lol.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Penti...7AA-/150719997670?pt=CPUs&hash=item23179ca6e6
     
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have one of those lol. Not my favorite socket A board but cool none the less.

    hoax32 I have a old dell here that is running a p4 2. something proc. It runs win xp fine and I have even played Max Payne and Ut 2k3 and ut 2k4 on it.
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,211 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,465
    Location:
    Oregon
    Negative, you can do better. Again think of the project as a shoe string budget. The hardware is basicy worthless. Its just nostalgic. You should be able to pick up a whole system for $15 Mb, HD, Ram CPU at a yard sale or e-bay. Ive done many of these. If your going to spend $25 on a MB you might as well by a 775 board



    http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-THERMAL...588?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19cc072c6c

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/ABit-NF7-S-...706289120?pt=Motherboards&hash=item256ad75de0

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-D-915...912?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ab23f4580

    On the proprietary Boards like Dell and HP you have to do some serous mods to get them to work in a regular case but it can be done. Again if you can get it for the right price. Really Ive thrown away better boards

    Example: This looks like a dell inspiron 2400 right? Thats cause the case is. Inside is an i3 550 HTPC monster. Cost of the case = $0 I robbed all the parts fixing other peoples Dells and almost threw it away three times
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
    hoax32 says thanks.
  7. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    I dont think that a Athlon XP 2500+ can outperform a 3.4GHz P4 with HTT. :laugh:
    And the other board is also a P4 board and they are all auction style so Im not shure...but thanks for the links!!!!

    Didn't see em when I was looking! :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,211 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,465
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ya just troll E-bay for awhile. Auction style is best search MB + CPU and post extremely low bids. Like .99 You will hit one eventually maybe two then sell what you don't want. I use to do this allot cause it was fun trying to get them working ad I learned allot.

    Good luck
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  9. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    OK!

    Here the updates:
    ---------------------------------------
    I just bought this really nice motherboard: eBay Link

    I will upgrade it to an AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (which should bypass a P4 3.06GHz).
    And thanks to it's AGP 8x I can also put in a Radeon HD3850 8x AGP.
    Sadly RAM limit is only 2GB but thats no big deal!
    It will still have a 7200rpm HDD in it so some HDD cache wont hurt and I am not planning on running Windows Vista on it anyways .... :laugh:
    Doesn't the +3200 get burning hot!? :ohwell:

    ...and what shader version comes on the HD3850?
     
  10. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,751 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I have a single core Athlon 64 and a Foxxcon motherboard. But it also says ABIT on it, which I though was strange.

    I also have an ATI 2000 series 256mb card. This was all in a computer I got from my great uncle, who gave it to me a month or two ago and told me that it was a cutting edge top of the line computer that was built by a fried of his who really knew about computers. I didn't have the heart to tell him it was worth less than 50 bucks.
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  11. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    ...poor uncle..... :ohwell:
    I used to be a 2400+ owner!
    It ran GTA:SA, Wolfnstein: ET and CoD2 without 100% CPU work!
    The Radeon 9250 took care of all that! ^_^

    Hope that a 3200+ and either X1650 Pro / HD3850 let me go 2 or 3 levels up! :D
     
    Irony says thanks.
  12. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    This may sound dumb (to you) but have you considered running a Linux OS on that older hardware? You want to multi-task watch videos, surf the web and play some games? Most Mainstream Linux Distros are free, work 100% better on the hardware than windows ever will and are able to play those games you listed. Check out Sabayon, Ubuntu Ultimate Gamers Edition, Linux Mint, or even just Ubuntu. If you are familiar with Linux and know how to configure hardware, it is damn near impossible to go wrong with Slackware or Gentoo.
     
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hate to be the party pooper but that board won't run the Athlon xp 3200. You may be able to get close to the speed of one with a Athlon xpm 2500-2600+ and overclocking it. But that board doesn't support 400 mhz fsb procs which the xp 3200 is.

    Now If I knew you would consider the Athlon I have a Mother board and proc I'll let you have for a great price. I'll even let you chose between to of my many spare boards. ( Nf7-s v 2.0 or a A7n8x deluxe) pm me if interested.


    And no the 3200 does get to hot with the right hsf on it. I have one that cruches all day and never gets above 39/100 c/f degrees.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    He is right I run Unbuntu 11.04 on a Epox 8krai pro with a 2500 xp mobile proc (@2.4 ghz) and 1 gig of mem and it runs smooth as butter.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    The 333 mhz fsb version of the 3200 is supported. and finding one of them might prove to be a task. And tell you the truth I don't ever recall seeing one. What you will find on ebay is the 400 mhz version (2.2 ghz not 2.4 ghz) If you find one great I hope you do but I don't ever recall seeing a 333 mhz fsb 2.4 ghz athlon xp 3200+
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    I currently have one in my HP motherboard.......but dk if i wanna take it out....whats the fastest 333FSB Athlon XP?
     
  18. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I think the 3000+ is the fastest 333 mhz proc. But with what you doind you probably be alright with the 2700+ that board came with. Now you can get a 2500 or a 2600+ mobile proc and see if you can clock it at 166x14.5 which would be the 2.4 ghz a 333 mhz 3200+ would run at. I have 2 xpm's running at 2.4 on air but mine are at 200x12. I have never tried at a lower fsb and higher multipler.
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    i was under the assumption that mobile procs were for mobile boards.
    He may want to look at VIA chipsets too to save money and still roll heads especially running linux. I recommend Linux Mint as it is easier to use especially if you are a n00b. ^_^

    As for AMD, here are some links to the procs that work.

    http://www.ambry.com/AXDA2800OEM.html
    http://www.amazon.com/AMD-AXDA3000BOX-Athlon-512KB-Processor/dp/tech-data/B00008CMMI/ref=de_a_smtd

    You could also go this route:

    Definitely recommend this setup:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813500068



    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138326

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157209
     
  20. Franjul08 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Fsb

    an 800MHz FSb Cpu will Downgrade his FSB to 533 by thenself to work properly ;)
     
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Aw no my friend the mobile athlon xp's where the thing to have . I actually have 2 systems running them. They are the same as the desktop procs except they run at lower voltages hence the reason they overclock so well. They are also barton cores. I have mine running at 2.4 ghz with air cooling and they don't even break a sweat with a very slight increase in voltage. With stock voltage they will run all day at 2.2 ghz which is the same as the xp 3200+ and cost less then half the price. Others on here that ran socket a systems can vouch to this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,710 (10.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,128
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i ran a mobile 2600+ i think it was back in the day, and OC'd to 3200+ speeds first thing. was a fantastic chip.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Also if you ran the 3000+ proc on your board there would be to much of a difference between it and the 3200+ they both are very close in actual clock speed. The 3200+ would get a slight edge due to running on a 400 mhz fsb compared to the 3000+ 333mhz fsb. But I don't think it's enough of a edge to condemn the board you are playing with for a board that supports 400 fsb procs. But if you really want to run a 400 mhz proc let me know I have a board that you can have for next to nothing. Basically shipping.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,971 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,845
    Speaking of Athlons, my Barton 2500+ once booted on 2.7Ghz. Then it died permanently. :(
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    I happen to have in my possession an Athlon XP AXDA1700UT3C. Any way to jerry rig an Athlon II/939 cooler to work with it?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)