• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Browsers using max bandwidth when downloading

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,147 (3.36/day)
Likes
4,545
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme/ Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 Ti/ EVGA 1080 CLASSIFIED
Storage Samsung 970/960/850/840 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Lian Li PC-V3000/Cougar Panzer MaxLian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
#1
Hi TPU fellows

I don't remember exactly since when but for sure over a year there is an issue with my internet/Windows or whatever it is which i have always ignored maybe because i was too lazy to open a Thread or maybe because it doesn't/didn't really bothers me, anyway here is the thing, when i download a file let's say Heaven Benchmark from TPU the Browser ( Mozilla - Edge - Chrome ) uses all Bandwidth available ( 5Mb/s ) at this point while the file is downloading i cant use the internet because if i open a new page to do something else on the internet it will shows no Internet connection and if my Wife is using her Phone connected via WiFi she wont have internet, the only Internet page that it works is the one from where i am downloading the file ( TPU ) i was looking for answers/solutions on the Web but i didn't find anything helpful and the only thing i found was How to limit bandwidth for Windows Update which it is not my case.

I checked Firefox and Windows settings to see if there was an option to limit the bandwidth usage but didn't find anything the funny thing is that i don't remember having that issue with Windows 7 but maybe i could be wrong, right now i am using NetLimiter 4 as a temporary solution to limit the bandwidth usage.


NetLimiter.jpg


Any idea of what is happening?

Thanks in advance for your help.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,147 (3.36/day)
Likes
4,545
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme/ Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 Ti/ EVGA 1080 CLASSIFIED
Storage Samsung 970/960/850/840 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Lian Li PC-V3000/Cougar Panzer MaxLian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
12,113 (2.68/day)
Likes
6,429
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
#3
What's your ISP provisioning for upload as well? I'm assuming 50/5? 50/4? 50/2? Errr. wait you said 5Mbps? So you're maybe at 5/.2 (256Kbps)?

So one issue that can happen is at maximum bandwidth usage, if you're weak on upload bandwidth provisioning, it'll choke everything else down and out. Downloads like that require 2-way transactions which requires available bandwidth both directions to be maintained. Or if the IO is overloading a home grade router, that could cause it too. Many have very weak CPU's, when the bandwidth/IO gets near peak or provisioned speeds, they struggle and drop devices.

I'm thinking you're hitting line capacity, and it almost sounds like a limit of the service rather than the router.

For bandwidth limiting in browsers, I'm assuming you've seen this article since you're using NetLimiter already:

https://www.howtogeek.com/347711/how-to-limit-any-applications-bandwidth-on-windows/
https://www.technorms.com/36800/limit-bandwidth-usage-firefox-chrome-opera

I'm at work right now, so limited on time...but I'm intrigued and would like to help get this solved. If you run a continuous ping to google.com ( ping -t google.com ) when you initiate a download, does it drop packets or just raise in latency. It should do the latter, but if its doing the former it comes down to hitting some hard limits and what you're doing now is one solution, increasing bandwidth or going with a different type if ISP service with higher bandwidth would be beneficial as well.

Another option depending on your router is to bandwidth limit devices (usually by IP address on more simple router or ones that take dd-wrt), or to use packet prioritization via QoS configurations if your router is capable of such but doing so and doing it "properly" may reduce your bandwidth peaks as you have to manage what you have meaning you have to maintain within the envelope of your provisioned bandwidth to properly QoS your traffic. It can be done, and might be useful here even if you lose a little peak speed for the sake of having more consistent connectivity for your devices.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,083 (1.57/day)
Likes
2,346
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.43v
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
#4
Just browsers? have you tried maxing your bandwidth on say torrents or a streaming service to see if the same thing happens? even though downloading a file from www does require both upload and download the upload requirement and overhead would be very minute and as you are still getting your full 5Mbps DL I can't see that being the issue here.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,147 (3.36/day)
Likes
4,545
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme/ Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 Ti/ EVGA 1080 CLASSIFIED
Storage Samsung 970/960/850/840 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Lian Li PC-V3000/Cougar Panzer MaxLian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
#5
What's your ISP provisioning for upload as well? I'm assuming 50/5? 50/4? 50/2? Errr. wait you said 5Mbps? So you're maybe at 5/.2 (256Kbps)?
Download 50Mbps and Upload 10Mbps

Yeap i saw it already, that is why i got NetLimiter

I am sure it is not an ISP problem considering i have never faced that issue before plus i am 200% sure this issue started since i am using Windows 10 before that everything was ok.

I can't see that being the issue here.
Maybe you should try downloading something from TPU and tell me if your Browser does the same ( something above 3GB )
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
123 (0.57/day)
Likes
38
#6
Do you have a spare drive or can check it on a virtual machine with diff op.sys?
Did you check your networkcard setup? Are you sure there wasnt any firmware upgrade on your router? It happen on lan (cable) or wifi or both or either. If your wife browsing on phone than you cant use net too?
Did you restart or power off your router? If not try it turn off for a minute then turn on.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,147 (3.36/day)
Likes
4,545
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme/ Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 Ti/ EVGA 1080 CLASSIFIED
Storage Samsung 970/960/850/840 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Lian Li PC-V3000/Cougar Panzer MaxLian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
#7
I solved the issue was something stupid but i didn't think about it before

The Ethernet cable was plugged into the Aquantia 5G / 10G Lan port i unplugged the Cable and plugged it into the other LAN port and now it is working without issue, downloaded a file from TPU ( Final Fantasy ) and at the same time used my Phone connected via WiFi and can navigate on the internet on my PC while downloading thing that i couldn't do before.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,147 (3.36/day)
Likes
4,545
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme/ Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 Ti/ EVGA 1080 CLASSIFIED
Storage Samsung 970/960/850/840 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Lian Li PC-V3000/Cougar Panzer MaxLian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
#10
With QoS, there is no need for 3rd party software
My Networking knowledge is almost 0 that's why i ended up using a 3rd party Software.

Hehe, yeah, sometimes it happen, glad to everything ironed out :)
Despite the fact i managed to solve the issue i am still concerned about why the Aquantia 5G / 10G Lan port was behaving like that, maybe because it's just for High-speed Internet connections?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
123 (0.57/day)
Likes
38
#12
Despite the fact i managed to solve the issue i am still concerned about why the Aquantia 5G / 10G Lan port was behaving like that, maybe because it's just for High-speed Internet connections?
Yes it seems interesting, probably some priority related thing.
 
Top