• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bsod 5870m Asus g73jh

flick

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Total Memory Size 8GB
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Slots (Total) 2
Memory Slots (Available) None
Maximum Memory Supported 8GB
Memory Configuration 4GB + 4GB

Processor Brand Intel
Processor Class Core i7
Processor Type Quad-Core
Processor Speed 1.6GHz
Processor Number i7-720QM

Operating System Windows 7 Ultimate


Graphics Description Dedicated Graphics
GPU/VPU ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Video Memory 1GB GDDR5 discrete graphics memory



Before I send my unit out for a RMA I'm hoping maybe someone could help me out. Started happening about 8 days ago BSOD while playing Bioshock infinite, so I decided to update my Bios and Vbios so it could support the new drivers for my card threw AMD. I downloaded the new drivers that are supported for my card while rebooting after the install system hangs and BSOD appears so I went ahead, and logged into safe mode and rolled back to stock VGA driver which works fine then I started tinkering with a older driver CCC 10.11 and tried it out to see if it works, and yes it does work I added a folder with my .dmp files in it maybe someone could help me understand what is going on? :banghead: This is how gpu-z looked right after I had my first BSOD

Unable to load image \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\atikmdag.sys, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for atikmdag.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for atikmdag.sys

This is what I got from GPU-Z

What I did to get gpu-z to read the card again I opened up my laptop repasted and seated the card while taking the battery out off the mother board for about 10 minutes put everything back together and the card was read again.

 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#3
I opened up my laptop repasted and seated the card
looks like the reseat fixed it ....being a laptop card must have worked loose [socket creep] from the heat or movement .... use it for a week & see if it BSOD's again
 

flick

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
looks like the reseat fixed it ....being a laptop card must have worked loose [socket creep] from the heat or movement .... use it for a week & see if it BSOD's again

It is BSODing when installing any new AMD drivers for some reason the Vbiso and Bios that I have flashed is recommended for new drivers, coming from another forum where people have the same model I have they are all using the new AMD 13.1-13.3 drivers but when I try installing them I get a BSOD where I get the error atikmdag.sys, as of right now I am using a old AMD driver 10.11 that was issued in 2010?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#5
coming from another forum where people have the same model I have they are all using the new AMD 13.1-13.3 drivers
LINK PLS so I can have a read ... to be clear your MB bios is 213 ... but What vbios is installed?...have you tried ATOMBIOSBK-ATI VER012.020.000.045.038815
do you have backups of old & new vbios?.. if so pls post links
 
Last edited:

flick

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
LINK PLS so I can have a read ... to be clear your MB bios is 213 ... but What vbios is installed?...have you tried ATOMBIOSBK-ATI VER012.020.000.045.038815
do you have backups of old & new vbios?.. if so pls post links
Here is the link to the Vbios that is suppose to fix BSOD and also compatibility issues with any new drivers from AMD. http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?519-G73Jh-GSOD-Vbios-Update


I can get any bios from the Asus website for my model and no I did not save my original Bios.

From here http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=G73Jh&p=3&os=30

the newest and up to date BIOS is 213 in-which I upgraded from 211.

Never herd of ATOMBIOSBK-ATI VER012.020.000.045.038815 is this compatible to my hardware? 5870m
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#7
read the ROG link.. thanks .. the line that supplied the best info
"This vBIOS works with driver sets 10.1~10.8 and should work with future releases unless the driver base code is changed again."
there in lies your problem with the 13.xx drivers "driver base code is changed ...
can you confirm that other peeps have working 13.xx drivers on the same lap the last post on the rog thread is from 12/4/2012
If it was my lap I would run atiman uninstaller and then work my way backwards with the ati drivers
till I found a set that work GOOD LUCK
 

flick

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Hey I am back. I did at least 4 fresh window installs and still have yet to find a remedy. You stated you wanted a link on others that have the same gaming unit as I have running updated drivers here is one and there is many on this forum that is running 13.1-13.4 AMD drivers, I am guessing this is a hardware issue or maybe voltage issue? If you read the threads the remedy of all their issues was to update the Bios and Vbios which seemed to work for the AMD updates.


http://forum.notebookreview.com/asu.../706200-g73jh-problems-amd-driver-13-1-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/asu...14033-asus-g73jh-problem-catalyst-13-1-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/asu...ms-crashes-updated-13-1-catalyst-drivers.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#9
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Games doesn't work on my Asus g73jh

Hey Guys!

I got an Asus g73jh laptop. I tried to play with BF3, Need for Speed The Run, Hitman Absolution.... I couldn't, because when i click on the exe, it says: The BF3 or NFS the run or Hitman Absolution Stopped working. I have no idea what's wrong with my laptop or catalyst or drivers...

My spec: i7 740qm, 8GB RAM, 5870m, and full HD display...

please help me because is can't wait to play these games :/
 

huntdawn

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
I might sound naive, but...did you actually buy these games or downloaded from torrents?

It makes a difference you know...
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,215 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,405
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#13
Hey Guys!

I got an Asus g73jh laptop. I tried to play with BF3, Need for Speed The Run, Hitman Absolution.... I couldn't, because when i click on the exe, it says: The BF3 or NFS the run or Hitman Absolution Stopped working. I have no idea what's wrong with my laptop or catalyst or drivers...

My spec: i7 740qm, 8GB RAM, 5870m, and full HD display...

please help me because is can't wait to play these games :/
I have downloaded from torrent, and i've tried different king of torrents of these games.

Unfortunately, because you have torrented the game. We here at the forum cannot/will not offer you any support on the matter as what you have done is committed a criminal act of piracy.

Not only that, discussion of warez and torrents are against forum rules. I can only direct you to the developers/publishers forum if you wish for further support.


TPU does not support or condone piracy, If you like the game then please support the developers buy purchasing it.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
No that's not true. I downloaded these games to my desktop pc and all of them worked. What about vbios? what is that?