• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BSOD Nightmare with new Asus Geforce 8800 GTS 512mb

Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all,

First post here, so let me know if i miss anything or there's anything i need to do.

Received my new Asus Geforce 8800GTS 512mb (65nm) TOP Edition card through the mail at the start of this week (Monday 21st January). First time i put it in i ballsed up the drivers, and installed the card before uninstalling the old drivers, ended up locked out of XP Professional (32bit) and so had to format.

Formatted C: Drive, reinstalled windows, all with new card installed. Ended up getting lots of BSODs, though NOT when playing games. These BSODs were coming up generally when idling in windows desktop, or running something minor like windows live messenger, nero, or other minor software like that. The most frequent BSOD was Windows Event ID 1003, Error code 0000000a = "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL". Unfortunately i don't have a minidump of this with me on this computer, but should be able to get hold of one later.

Anyway, i took this card out after about 14 formats in a different pattern each time. Put my old Asus 7900GT TOP back in, all was running fine until i started getting the BSOD "PAGE FAULT IN NONPAGED AREA", referencing the file win32k.sys, which now reoccurs every so often. My old card has never had any problems with BSODS, and nothing else in my hardware has changed recently.

It's annoying because the new 8800 card actually WORKS brilliantly when i'm in games, it runs things like crysis smoothly without AA on high graphics. But the moment it's doing anything standard it just comes up with crap.

So i'm thinking either -

1. This new card is incompatible with a part of my hardware.
2. The new card was dead on arrival and had some kind of problem with memory or something.
3. When i put the new card in, something else screwed up in my setup (despite using anti-static wristband).
-This could possibly be my RAM - although it has worked fine up until now?

It is worth noting that my old graphics card gives the same repeating "PAGE FAULT.." BSOD, while my new graphics card gives alot of different ones, mainly the "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL". So the former could just be due to something installed improperly.

My hardware is as follows:

Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe, Wireless Edition, Motherboard. Bios Update 1603
4x512mb Matched Corsair DDR2 6400 RAM
Hiper Type R 580W Power Supply
Western Digital Caviar 250Gb SATA HDD
Western Digital Caviar 320Gb SATA HDD

On reading alot of forum posts - people often suggest that it's the power supply - which doesn't seem likely in this case, since the problems occur when the card is NOT under load. And i have seen people using this hiper 580w with 8800 Ultras quite happily.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,969 (1.36/day)
Likes
835
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#2
its a data error.. i dont think its your grafix card.. set windows to run a low level scandisk when it next boots.. auto fix errors.. it could be your hardrive is on the way out..

assuming your psu isnt in the proccess of failing it isnt that..

also run memory stability tests.. RightMark Memory Analyzer is good for that..

if overclocked slow things down.. see what happens..

trog

ps.. dont assume just cos your old hardware "was" okay it still "is" okay..
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thanks for the quick reply trog :)

I'll give it all a go, just reading an interesting article on changing the RAM voltage and timings to fix this reoccuring problem across 8800's. Will post back to let you know how it's going.

Thanks again
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#4
hey i think it might be ur bios version 1603 i heared it has a whole bunch of issues on the asus forums also its hard to flash back to a later one i had a bsod issue and a lockup issue recently with vista and the cause was the 1503 bios i downgraded to 1201 its perfectly stable my system now

on the asus forums people are recommending to use 1201 or older bios for systems not running phenoms because the new ones cause problems
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Ah really?

I started off on 1201 when i first installed the new card, and it was giving me the same BSODs at the time. I installed 1603 in the hope that it would stop them, but no luck.

I'm on XP Professional mind you, so those problems might be limited to Vista? (Hopefully)

Thanks for the input! :)
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
yea the lockup issue was only on vista xp ran fine