• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT + memory_corruption

Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#1
Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if im in the correct place - I have been having the above BSOD's for about 2 months now on and off. It always seems to happen when I play a game.

I've preformed the following tests:checked each individual ram stick (4gb corsair vengence DDR3 1600MHZ) with Memtest 86.

Ran checkdisk

Re-installed my graphics drivers

Scanned for malware / Viruses - all clean


everything has passed the tests - I'm not sure weather to keep testing the ram or take the system apart.


Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

(I've attached a link to the minidumps HERE)


thanks in advance!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
What's the error code? Bluescreenview is a simple program to use for checking up bsods.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
Vista Driver? What exactly are you using a Vista driver for?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#4
What's the error code? Bluescreenview is a simple program to use for checking up bsods.
this is the latest error code:

UGCHECK_STR: 0x4E_99

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: System

CURRENT_IRQL: 2

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from fffff80004b18a4c to fffff80004a89bc0


thanks for the link i'll check it out
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#5
Vista Driver? What exactly are you using a Vista driver for?
I have no clue what so ever!
cant stand VISTA and certainly wouldn't use a vista driver
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
this is the latest error code:

UGCHECK_STR: 0x4E_99

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: System

CURRENT_IRQL: 2

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from fffff80004b18a4c to fffff80004a89bc0


thanks for the link i'll check it out
Clear your CMOS. I've seen that solve a 0x4E before. Usually 4E pertains to memory or hardware failure.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#7
Clear your CMOS. I've seen that solve a 0x4E before. Usually 4E pertains to memory or hardware failure.
ah I didnt think of that - I'll do that when I finish work - thanks!

I've done some more digging and found this driver to be a possible cause? ntoskrnl.exe
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#8
ah I didnt think of that - I'll do that when I finish work - thanks!

I've done some more digging and found this driver to be a possible cause? ntoskrnl.exe
If ntoskrnl is corrupt and causing the BSOD, you'll need to run a windows repair/reinstall windows.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#9
If ntoskrnl is corrupt and causing the BSOD, you'll need to run a windows repair/reinstall windows.
it looks more like ntoskrnl.exe is causing the problem - but not sure why it would cause memory corruption - I'll have another go at it tonight and let you know if it works :)

thanks again for the help guys !
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
it looks more like ntoskrnl.exe is causing the problem - but not sure why it would cause memory corruption - I'll have another go at it tonight and let you know if it works :)

thanks again for the help guys !
Or it's the other way round, or just something that requires a reinstall/repair.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,320 (2.12/day)
Likes
9,159
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.2GHz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#11
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#12

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,320 (2.12/day)
Likes
9,159
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.2GHz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#13
That's interesting - so everything is working fine now ?
Yes everything working fine now :)

You could try running your system with 1 ram stick at a time , and see if you can pick out the stick that causes a bsod, I'm not 100% sure if this is the same problem as mine, but you could at least try it.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#14
Yes everything working fine now :)

You could try running your system with 1 ram stick at a time , and see if you can pick out the stick that causes a bsod, I'm not 100% sure if this is the same problem as mine, but you could at least try it.
Yeah I did that yesterday but ran 3 passes of memtest per stick - no errors

I could try them whilst playing a game and see if it happens.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I also get another error when playing BF4 - windows says I'm low on memory and wants to revert to windows basic (disable aero) I've changed my graphics settings all the way down to Low (thinking it was a GPU problem) and it still happens

any thoughts ?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#15
I also get another error when playing BF4 - windows says I'm low on memory and wants to revert to windows basic (disable aero) I've changed my graphics settings all the way down to Low (thinking it was a GPU problem) and it still happens

any thoughts ?
So you've reseated all your RAM? On boot, or in BIOS, does it tell you how much memory you have installed?
Check your VRAM usage in GPU-Z and check RAM usage in task manager. Sounds like one or more sticks are not being recognised by windows.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#16
So you've reseated all your RAM? On boot, or in BIOS, does it tell you how much memory you have installed?
Check your VRAM usage in GPU-Z and check RAM usage in task manager. Sounds like one or more sticks are not being recognised by windows.
Yeah i have - all showing up in the BIOS 16GB and in windows 16GB

RAM usage in the game normally maxes at 8GB leaving enough left over (running 64bit exe)

Vram - i have not checked that out - but i cant imagine it maxing out on low @ 1920 X 1080 - but will check
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,610
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
it looks more like ntoskrnl.exe is causing the problem - but not sure why it would cause memory corruption - I'll have another go at it tonight and let you know if it works :)

thanks again for the help guys !
Do you know what ntoskrnl.exe is? That's the Windows kernel. That is the first thing to start when you boot your machine. If the kernel is unhappy and it's not corrupted, you have an unstable system with respect to hardware.

Whenever you get a BSOD and you don't know what's causing it, the first thing you do is set everything to stock and see if it still happens because more often than not this kind of instability is due to an unstable overclock on some component, be it memory, the CPU, cache, the PCH, anything on the PCI-E root complex (like GPUs, ethernet, or RAID cards), take your pick, but you need to rule out any overclock as the problem first. I feel this needs to be said because you said nothing about resetting everything to stock and your specs say your chip is at 4.5Ghz.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#18
Do you know what ntoskrnl.exe is? That's the Windows kernel. That is the first thing to start when you boot your machine. If the kernel is unhappy and it's not corrupted, you have an unstable system with respect to hardware.

Whenever you get a BSOD and you don't know what's causing it, the first thing you do is set everything to stock and see if it still happens because more often than not this kind of instability is due to an unstable overclock on some component, be it memory, the CPU, cache, the PCH, anything on the PCI-E root complex (like GPUs, ethernet, or RAID cards), take your pick, but you need to rule out any overclock as the problem first. I feel this needs to be said because you said nothing about resetting everything to stock and your specs say your chip is at 4.5Ghz.
Opps! :twitch: that's the one thing i have not done (i will take your advice and reset my overclock)

However it's taken a good part of a year to become unstable - is this normal with overclocking ? because when I first overclocked it I stress tested it under various programs including Intel's burn test. It passed all tests.
It would also explain why my RAM has no faults.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,610
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#19
Opps! :twitch: that's the one thing i have not done (i will take your advice and reset my overclock)

However it's taken a good part of a year to become unstable - is this normal with overclocking ? because when I first overclocked it I stress tested it under various programs including Intel's burn test. It passed all tests.
It would also explain why my RAM has no faults.
Just because it's stable under full load doesn't mean it is stable when it switches C-States. I currently have this issue where my machine will BSOD rarely when the CPU comes out of a low power C-state. It just happens to do something when switching frequency and voltages that causes it to become unstable enough though I can run P95 all day long without an issue. It's definitely voltage related for me and dropping the VCCSA too low will cause similar issues. Overclocking with offsets will sometimes cause this to happen. Offsets are nice because the voltage on the offset is applied to the VID which allows the voltage to change according to the VID as load and clock speed changes.

As I've said, a lot of things can impact an overclock's stability so you should rule it out at least for now just so it's one (big) thing you won't have to consider if you continue to have problems.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#20
Just because it's stable under full load doesn't mean it is stable when it switches C-States. I currently have this issue where my machine will BSOD rarely when the CPU comes out of a low power C-state. It just happens to do something when switching frequency and voltages that causes it to become unstable enough though I can run P95 all day long without an issue. It's definitely voltage related for me and dropping the VCCSA too low will cause similar issues. Overclocking with offsets will sometimes cause this to happen. Offsets are nice because the voltage on the offset is applied to the VID which allows the voltage to change according to the VID as load and clock speed changes.

As I've said, a lot of things can impact an overclock's stability so you should rule it out at least for now just so it's one (big) thing you won't have to consider if you continue to have problems.
I've reset the clocks back to default - and as you suggested it works like a dream. Just need to tweak the OC at some point in the near future. my voltage was at 1.2V maybe it was too low.
thanks again everyone for the input and a big thanks to Aquinus for pointing out my stupidity :p

I'll create another thread about the OC later on
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,356 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#21
4.2ghz...
I settled at 4.2ghz and the memory at 1866mhz...not a single issue for over a year....I can run 4.5ghz and 2.4ghz but its only stable 99.9999% of the time and that's to much of a risk when it doesn't matter cause my GFX doesn't do it anymore...
but anyways try 4.2ghz...
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
52
System Name NukeSilo
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus V Formula
Cooling H100i (push pull config)
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 (Black)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX1080
Storage 128Gb Samsung 830 | 250Gb Samsung 840 EVO | 2Tb Seagate barracuda
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 27" Monitor – U2715H
Case Cooler Master haf xb
Power Supply Corsair 860W ATX12V / EPS12V
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Zboard Merc Stealth II
Software Win10 Pro 64
#22
4.2ghz...
I settled at 4.2ghz and the memory at 1866mhz...not a single issue for over a year....I can run 4.5ghz and 2.4ghz but its only stable 99.9999% of the time and that's to much of a risk when it doesn't matter cause my GFX doesn't do it anymore...
but anyways try 4.2ghz...
cheers! i'll leave it at stock for a week or so - and then begin testing after that.