1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BSOD when trying to install XP on laptop(s)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Flash, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I got my Vostro 1014, but when I try to install Win XP I get 0x0000007B BSOD (after setup finishes loading all the files, and says setup is starting windows).
    Specs:
    Celeron 900m
    HD4500
    1Gb

    I tried my the XP CD on my desktops (I have 2) and it works fine.

    I tried the XP CD on another laptop (acer), and that too gives the same BSOD "STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78D2524, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)
    Specs:
    AMD P340
    ATI 4250
    4Gb

    The errors are indentical on both laptops.
    Why? And why is the CD working fine on my desktops?

    Quick update:

    I managed to get it not give me BSOD anymore once I switched the HDD from AHCI to ATA.

    BUT

    My Win XP CD is modified with nlite to contain the SATA drives. My desktop is set to AHCI and it works. Why not on my laptop?
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,502
    The bios may not support it.
     
  3. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I have switched the HDD from AHCI to ATA from BIOS tho. I mean heck, this vostro's bios even has mouse support. My desktop bios doesn't have mouse support (have the blue BSOD type of BIOS on my desktop) yet it supports AHCI?. This vostro's bios looks almost like Win 3.11, GUI and all.
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,502
    Well honestly AHCI is better with SSD's. Not sure why you would run it on an older system.
     
  5. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Yea, I will just keep it on ATA. I mean with 4500HD, 1GB and Celeron 900M I don't think it would made any difference in performance. And I'm fine with the slower write speeds.
     
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If I recall, Windows XP does not support AHCI out of the box (like Vista and 7 do).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)