• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

BSODs yet again

Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#1
Hi all,

So recently, I had a BSOD, an 0x000007 (unsure of how many 0s after the x) whilst playing Borderlands 2. This is the first BSOD after formatting my PC and putting Windows 7 64-bit on another drive.

Prior to this BSOD, I was able to play Borderlands 2, Guild Wars 2, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron, The Secret World, without a problem (I had BSOD issues before I formatted the PC).

As for a minidump, I only have a full size dump file (700mb) because it didn't complete the minidump, the computer was unresponsive at about 80% even after I left it for 15 minutes.

any ideas what might cause this? I'm trying to narrow it down so I know what part to replace.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,636
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Hi all,

2. This is the first BSOD after formatting my PC and putting Windows 7 64-bit on another drive.

Prior to this BSOD, I was able to play Borderlands 2, Guild Wars 2, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron, The Secret World, without a problem (I had BSOD issues before I formatted the PC).
You contradicted yourself there.
Next time it BSOD take a pic of the screen and upload it
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#3
To clarify,

Previously I had BSOD issues while gaming then I formatted the PC (seemed to have been a driver issue).
After reinstalling windows, I didn't have any BSODs for a while until just yesterday.

Since it's a fresh install, all drivers are up to date as well, I can only guess that it's a hardware issue (the 0x00007 thing is apparently hardware). Will post the full 0x strings when I get home.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#5
(the 0x00007 thing is apparently hardware).
Hi

Look here - http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff559247(v=vs.85).aspx

Note: software interrupt was attempted that is out of range, typically due to a bug in a device driver

-remove any overclocks [while testing system]

-Install latest updates available for windows

-check HDD for errors [check the intergraty of the software; replace the HDD data cable]

-reinstall vga card drivers and or *use last stable version

-check RAM [one stick at a time and or reseat RAM] [*double check RAM timmings]

-check the integrity of windows file system

Open an elavated command prompt on the desktop
press shift and press right mouse button
select open command window here
type sfc/verifyonly
press enter

-look for any errors in the report

If errors occur windows can attempt to fix these [*this is not always possible]
[*modified system files for themes will be reverted back to default; make a back up of these files first]

Open an elevated command prompt on the desktop
press shift and press right mouse button
select open command window here
type sfc/scannow
press enter


atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#6
Ok, I've tried the sfc scans and come up with everything being ok. I've also done HDD tests, those came out fine (used Seagate tools).

I tried running memtest86+ for 4 passes, let it complete to 100% but it said it was fine long before it hit 100%.

Now, aside from the BSOD which doesn't happen too often, the computer sometimes just goes to a black screen and I have to do a hard shutdown. Annoyingly enough, when I power up again, I sometimes have to do a hard shutdown multiple times because I just get the "No Signal" thing.

Recently, I had a "BAD POOL CALLER" BSOD, whocrashed and bluescreenview say that it's ntoskrnl.exe and dxgmms1.sys.

Now, I know it might be the drivers, but how can I tell which one it is?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#7
Ok, I've tried the sfc scans and come up with everything being ok. I've also done HDD tests, those came out fine (used Seagate tools).

I tried running memtest86+ for 4 passes, let it complete to 100% but it said it was fine long before it hit 100%.

Now, aside from the BSOD which doesn't happen too often, the computer sometimes just goes to a black screen and I have to do a hard shutdown. Annoyingly enough, when I power up again, I sometimes have to do a hard shutdown multiple times because I just get the "No Signal" thing.

Recently, I had a "BAD POOL CALLER" BSOD, whocrashed and bluescreenview say that it's ntoskrnl.exe and dxgmms1.sys.

Now, I know it might be the drivers, but how can I tell which one it is?
Is your bios up to date or been updated recently? reason I ask is that I have suffered with similar BSOD/black screens for the best part of 6 months since upgrading my bios to Gigabytes F**KING SHITTY hybrid UEFI bios from an award bios, I had used a tool to revert to legacy (award) bios though it would always crash on me after a while and somehow revert back to the UEFI bios (since found an official GB tool that looks to have done the trick and reverted me back to award bios for good and BSOD's/other issues have gone) anyway I digress.

I know you have an AMD board and it doesn't support UEFI though it doesn't mean the bios might not be the cause of your issues, if you have recently upgraded it maybe try and revert to your last good one or if you haven't then try upgrading it if there is a newer one.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
Hi

"BAD POOL CALLER" BSOD, whocrashed and bluescreenview say that it's ntoskrnl.exe and dxgmms1.sys. Now, I know it might be the drivers, but how can I tell which one it is?
If you are looking at drivers, uninstall the vga card drivers and deap clean

- However if the system specs are correct to the left of the post and the motherboard is fitted with 12 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27? [this configuration of triple channel memory is not supported]
Example:
GA-870A-UD3.jpg

Source - http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3423#manual

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#9
try dual channel yes, or even just 1 stick, have to reduce the variables

cpu speeds & volts are auto?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#10
Yup, no overclocking, I was gonna save that for when I install the water cooling.

I have 4 ram sticks (exact same ones) in there. I thought MemTest tries all of them separately or is that not the case?

Anyway, I'll try single sticks for now and see how that goes. Is there any possibility it could be the mobo, PSU, or GPU?

As for the BIOS, I've not flashed it, I was going to update it but I previously had not had any problems with it and since I'm not familiar with flashing the BIOS, I decided against it.

The hardware is the same since I bought it about a year or so ago, the problems are only recent.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#11
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#12
Righto, so I changed the RAM to what my specs say (it was old OCZ 667mhz ram I used to have). I tested both sticks with memtest + windows mem test. Both sticks passed singly and together.

I've got the ram on slots 3 and 4 since they've got a large heat spreader and the heatsink for my CPU prevents me from popping it into slots 1 and 2.

I also updated to the latest stable graphics driver. Last night I was able to play for quite a while (I also tried loading up multiple things at once while playing, music, movie, browser with 3 youtube videos) without a single problem, in fact nothing notable happened last night.

This morning, I was gonna try to get in an hour of gaming before work but not even 15 minutes into borderlands 2 (What I was playing last night for about 2-3 hours), the computer goes black (as though it's about to restart) though the signal lights are on. The reset button doesn't work and I have to hard shutdown. Ran memtest again and is all came up fine.

I did a startup repair (using the windows disc) but all that really did was make me have to re-authenticate steam, corrupt my AV databases (I had to basically reinstall the AV), and roll back my graphics drivers to 310.x (Nvidia).

Additionally, I've installed the drivers for my Razer Naga mouse (I didn't install them after formatting as I was told they could cause issues, I was having BSOD issues before formatting).

I'm now wondering if it's drivers (doubt it's the HDDs, I've run multiple tests and they're all good) but I don't know which ones. I've got Windows up to date, the motherboard drivers are the latest ones on Gigabyte, I've got no peripherals installed other than the mouse and keyboard (attaching anything else doesn't seem to matter but I've not attached anything until I sort this out).
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,636
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
What test did you run on your hard drive? SATA cable maybe
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,282 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,192
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#14
Is that the OCZ Vendetta or OCZ Vendetta 2?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#15
Sorry mate, no idea. All I know is that it was huge. It doesn't say which model it is on the sink itself.

(EDIT) I believe it's the Vendetta 2

(EDIT 2) I'm thinking of using http://www.uniblue.com/cm/liutilities/driverscanner/generic/download/ to see if my drivers are up to date (I know the Windows 7 ones are, I've already tried force updating). Any feedback on that program? I know it'll only tell me which drivers are out of date but I figure it'll be easy enough to find the right ones.

On a side note, the drivers for the sound, USB, NIC, etc, the bits and bobs that come from the Mobo, I've downloaded the latest drivers from the Gigabyte website (for the proper revision of my mobo). I had to do this in the beginning since I lost the CD for the Mobo. I imagine it's important that I download the drivers specific to my Mobo revision right? So if I have Rev 2.0, I shouldn't touch Rev 3 right?

Also, do HDDs have updated drivers? I was under the impression they auto update with Windows.

(EDIT 3) Urrgh, why do I keep forgetting to add the thing I wanted to ask... If I tested the HDD (I was using the Seagate Tools), would it have errors if the SATA cable was frakked? Because all tests (there were 4 or so I could run) came back with the HDD being fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#16
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#17
Revision is important for Bios ,you can use and download drivers from somewhere else ,i download and load my sound/lan drivers from realtek for long time ,just be sure you are downloading correct driver for your hardware .
I looked your mobo You can download and load sound/lan driver from realtek , usb 3.0 drivers from NEC (iirc nec sold/merged this division and it is renesas now ) ,chipset drivers from AMD ,it is absolutly fine .Just choose correct hardware /OS while downloading


On a side note, the drivers for the sound, USB, NIC, etc, the bits and bobs that come from the Mobo, I've downloaded the latest drivers from the Gigabyte website (for the proper revision of my mobo). I had to do this in the beginning since I lost the CD for the Mobo. I imagine it's important that I download the drivers specific to my Mobo revision right? So if I have Rev 2.0, I shouldn't touch Rev 3 right?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#18
RE: the VGA driver, I've done the uninstall + install latest drivers for it.

RE: the mobo drivers, I originally had the Realtek Audio + LAN drivers installed, the Gigabyte Sata 2 drivers (not the raid ones as I don't plan setting up raid), and the NEC USB drivers. I only recently installed the AMD chipset drivers (I previously didn't install it as it seemed to have been for the VGA).

So far the PC is running fine but I'm not hoping for too much, it often will run without problems for a couple of days then just go insane.

In the event it's the HDDs (2 of the drives are about 4 years old), I've ordered an SSD (Samsung 840 Pro, 128gb) for the OS, and 2 x 2TB Seagate drives for data.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#19
Ok, so I had a BSOD and WhoCrashed tells me it was caused by ktrn1fs.sys or something, a driver from Kaspersky. So I update the program to version 2.0 (the one with the CD was 1.9 I think) and it worked fine last night. This morning, while watching a movie from on of my HDDs (I also had a game running in the background and Kaspersky doing a scan) it BSODs on me with kt1.sys (again, don't recall the specific name).

So, as per suggestions for similar issues in the Win 7 Forums, I uninstall Kaspersky (using the dedicated uninstaller) and do a reboot and install MSE instead.

After MSE was installed, it updated and did its usual thing after being first installed. Again, I'm watching a movie but this time had nothing else on. About 20 minutes or so after it had been updated and running fine, MSE then gives up a red flag saying it's both inactive and out of date. I go in, tell it to update but then it BSODs with "Special pool detected memory corruption".

I test my ram using Memtest, 5 passes later, it says it's all good. I checked WhoCrashed when I finally booted up but this time, it doesn't know which driver caused the crash, just that it was a third party one.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 Rev2
Cooling OCZ Vendetta w/Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM Fan
Memory 8 gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 1280MB Overclocked V2
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) 22" Samsung LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 620W
Software Windows 7
#20
So, in a fit of rage (I had a multitude of black screens and BSODs), I decided to format the PC and reinstall Windows.

After reinstalling, I installed the graphics drivers and that was all. Seems that Win7 auto installed everything else for the mobo's drivers.

Everything's working now, no BSODs or black screens. I think I'll leave the drivers as they are since they're all working properly. Annoying thing is, I'm going to need to format the PC again since my hard drives arrive either today or tomorrow (gonna use an SSD for my OS drive).

Anyway, thanks everyone for your help, I know I took the easy way out (formatting) but everything you've said has help me narrow down the causes.