• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Budget board for an AMD 6000

Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
488 (0.13/day)
Likes
47
System Name HAL_9017
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI z270 Gaming M7
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory GSkill 32GB DDR4-3000 Trident-Z RGB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080GTX FE w/ EVGA Hybrid Water Cooler
Storage Samsung EVO 960 M.2 SSD 500Gb
Display(s) Dell U2713
Case In Win 805i
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair Strafe MX Silent RGB
#1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138106
BIOSTAR A770 A2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128014
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

So I got a 6000 for 75bucks NIB. Yay for me. So I am looking for the budget build, and looking for a decent mobo. I cam across these 2, and wondering what you all think.

Also, if you have any recommendation of other boards, I am well open to those as well. THis is my first AMD build, so not really all that knowledgable of what lies outside the realm of Intel.

And before it starts, I have the CPU already. PLEASE No Intel pursuation. Then agian, its bound to happen.

Thanks TPU,
-Andrew
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
The BIOSTAR for sure! they make some quality stuff!
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#4

Sly.P.I.

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
56 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
I'm after the same help!!

Hi All.

I have a technical question and have searched high and low for an answer but
can't find one hence my email.

I'm looking to build a new system (upgrading from opteron 165 on asus 3200 xfire board)
and have a 5000+ BE and hd3850 gpu.

I'm not fussed about multiple gpu's so initially thought i'd go for the 770 north bridge.


BUT i'm now thinking 780g north bridge in the hope that it will off load some of the jobs from the gpu
namely physx processing.

Is this true?

I know hd3850 will not work with hybrid crossfire (which is a real shame since the card is nearly new!)

So will the 780g do anything when I've plugged my hd3850 in??

Will it in XP or is that reserved for the great Vista!!



Next quick question..

I was going to settle for the sb600 but upon reading reviews it seems sata and USB performance is slow.
So now I'm thinking sb700, which is already paired with most 780g and now paired with 770 on a few boards.

So is the sb700 much better than sb600 when implemented with 770nb or the 780g?

Or should I wait (and for how long?) for the sb710/750?

Some manufacturers have already got pictures of these boards but I have no idea when they'll be out?


Please reply asap as I really want to get 3.4ghz from my new processor!!

PS I will prob do it just using multiplier... I'm sick to death of cmos resets after high fsb non-reboots!!!
Sly.P.I. is online now Report Post Thanks Edit/Delete Message
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#6
it is better if try amd 780g gigabyte mobo
 

Sly.P.I.

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
56 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
So just a couple of questions.

I like the thought of low power consumption by dissabling the Graphics card for normal use then firing it up for 3d action.

So much so I'd even use Vista, prob 32bit since I only have 2x1gb of ram and 64bit is heavy on ram....I think??

So will this feature work with 780g sb700 with later drivers, or never??

Will it only work on 790gx sb700?

Thanks to all for your replies!

Ste
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
661 (0.19/day)
Likes
73
#8
Some Answers:

Vista (64) is heavy on RAM because it uses roughly 1GB sitting idle, but 2GB will work just fine if you don't do any heavy gaming. And to my knowledge, Hybrid CrossFire only works with Vista (32 or 64 Bit).

Anyways, new Radeons do not consume much power to begin with (excluding 4870, 3870X2) and once you enable PowerPlay, the graphics card will clock down when not in heavy use to save energy.
 

Sly.P.I.

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
56 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Damn this is frustrating!
There's an msi 790x board on ebay for £30.
Maybe a good choice for now!
I'm sick of waiting!

I would have liked the 770 + sb700 from biostar, foxconn or jetway but no reviews.

according to kenkickr sb700 not so good for games!

sb600 not so good for usb and sata performance

So I'm stuck...

Just have a 5000+ BE and some g-skill ram sitting here waiting!

Can someone save save me??

Cheers, Steve