• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Budget upgrade

Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#26
no she is running 1280 x800
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#27
no she is running 1280 x800
About the same amount of pixels as my 1440x900. I did a test 2 days ago that shows Crysis 2 (not 3) using almost 8GB of RAM (7.26GB) http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2878258&postcount=28

I think before dropping any money. Swap out the ATI 6970 from your rig into your daughter's and test Crysis 3. If it plays well, drop £146 on a new one for her.

If it doesn't play well (it should) you know there is bottlenecking due to CPU, RAM capacity, and RAM bandwidth.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#28
I have ran Crysis 1, Crysis add on for 1 and Crysis 2 up full with my 6970 with no problems on my old system which is lying in a box doing nothing.

Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H (rev 2.0) motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Deneb Core, S AM3, 3.8GHz
8gb Crucial Ballistic DDR3 1333mhz/PC3-10600 (7-7-7-24) 1.65v

yes your right I should give her that as well.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#29
While the issue was great to hear about and see some concrete values on it, the reality is most time you dont even know its happening and once AMD fixes it, all that fancy equipment everyone bought to review this will be all for not. We arent jumping on the bandwagon. Its much ado about nothing, especially post AMD fix. Its microstuttering, its on both camps, but AMD is worse. It just depends. I always say get a single card in the first place unless you are at 2560x1600 or multiple monitors. I dont like SLI/Crossfire and this blown out of proportion issue wouldnt stop me from getting either camp in a multi GPU config personally.
I wouldn't say it was blown out of proportions at all. Difference between what's FRAPS measures and what's observed is huge. Crossfire is broken, AMD admitted it.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#30
Im with guru3d... :p

Stuttering, measuring anomalies... isn't everybody overreacting? Well yes and no. Small anomalies rendered and which you can experience on screen always have been a part of a graphics card and your overall game experience. For years now we have had that, for years now most of you have not been bothered by it. Aside from a small group enthusiast end-users and analysts, that is the primary context you need to keep in mind when it comes to FCAT measurements, really.
So it is more a question of what can we accept when analyzing anomalies and what not, because some people will totally freak out if they see a couple of latency spikes in a chart. Realistically you'll be hard-pressed to notice it, heck one big massive scary spike in a chart could even something as simple as a game scene change.
Again I like to make the following statement strong, stutters always have been part of graphics cards. So I do plea... how important is it really? How much are you bothered by something you probably hardly even notice? I mean if you play a game and every now and then you see a small glitch, a stutter for a fraction of a second... does that ruin your game experience? We think not, and as such the stutter/glitches issues are a bit blown out of proportion with everybody jumping onto it. For multi-GPU gaming it is different though, if you pay attention to micro-stuttering, you can see it. But the question again remains the same, how many of you are actually bothered by it. Sure, if you raise enough awareness then people will revolt and address the issue continuously. But we do like to ask you to look at things in perspective.
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/fcat_benchmarking_review,9.html

When this is fixed in two months, I bet all the dust kicked up will settle.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#31
When this is fixed in two months, I bet all the dust kicked up will settle.
I hope so.
The issue does seem fixable in drivers in two months.
There are lots of inconsistencies though, if you ask me.
Many reviews are trying to lessen the blow for the sake of the healthy market (and I support that) saying that frame rate spikes are common with multi gpu solutions.
Problem is we only have nvidia as competitor and since SLI is working fine we can't say anymore micro stuttering is common issue with multi gpu setup.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#32
Many reviews are trying to lessen the blow for the sake of the healthy market (and I support that) saying that frame rate spikes are common with multi gpu solutions.
Lessen the blow? Its the truth. I still think this whole thing is blown out of proportion and have been saying that since prior to that Guru3D article even..:rockout:

I think the inverse in that some sites are making a mountain out of a molehill on this one.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#33
I still think this whole thing is blown out of proportion
So you do. I also see that you run both SLI and Crossfire on your setups. Basically what you are saying is that you don't see difference in your experience. In that case you should contact AMD immediately, your hardware configuration may be the clue for them how to fix it.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#34
LOL... No. I just used it and read enough to know some are making more out of this than there really is. I have used 7770/7870/7950, and 7970 CFX solutions and in the titles I play (BF3, Dirt 3, Batman:AC, AvP, Civ V, Metro2033), I don't notice any micorstuttering. Perhaps I'm just not sensitive enough? I dont know. I also currently have a 690, and ran 680's in SLI as well and currently have a pair of 650 Ti Boosts on the test bench. So yes, I have seen both sides of the fence with the same games in fact.

I think what you are not understanding is that not in every title, with every driver (especially the newest ones), in every set of games, will this problem occur to a NOTICEABLE extent. I have conceeded that AMDs frame time is worse, but like a tree falling in the forest, if there is nobody there to hear it (notice the frame time spikes/problems) does it make a noise (is it a problem)? Understand this problem not everyone can see. If it was everyone there would be A LOT more complaints across forums than you see now.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,572 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#36
The 7950 seems to be the best bang for your buck right now. I'd get a 7950 before I bought a 6970 if you can pick up a 7950 around the same price as the 6970. But the 6970 is still a solid card and would be a great upgrade to a 4870x2. :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#37
Hi daughters PC is coming down tomorrow and I will put the new AM3 mobo and the 8gb DDR3 ram in but she cannot afford to upgrade her win 7 32bit Ultimate will that still be okay to run.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#38
It will be ok, but what is the point considering a 32bit OS can only allocate 4GB. You wont be able to see/utilize the other 4GB...
 
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Indonesia
System Name Ephraim
Processor i5-3470
Motherboard Asus H61
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 8 GB Team DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX960 Tiger Edition
#39
EDIT: i was going to suggest to buy new mobo and ram.

Really, i'm using a A8 3870K on resolution like your daughter use., and it's not that bad for me.

to get it to med/high setting, you'll just need a 7850 1 GB i think if it's the limit of ur budget.if not, 7870 is even better.
Don't really mind your CPU bottleneck. it's just 5 FPS differents at most on most occasion, and isn't worth hundreds of poundsterlings, tho it'll give you a better upgrade path for next 5 year.

I've seen people who play games and so sensitive to smoothness. some of them even use athlon II x4, with decent GPU of course, and never have i see them complain.

i myself used a deneb @3.6 daily, and it was great for gpu bound gaming.

and that 4GB ddr3 is already OK if it's for non-3Drender/for gaming only.
CMIIW
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#40
It was 4gb DDR2 she was using so I suppose I could just put in the 4gb DDR3 1333mhz it would be an improvement.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#41
Her board in the first post uses DDR2. DDR3 will not fit.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#42
That was an AM2 I will be putting in my last mobo which was an AM3 and that supports DDR3.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
742 (0.32/day)
Likes
331
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#43
Anybody recommended the new 650ti? Or does it HAVE to be amd?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#44
Yes I think so but she would prefer an AMD.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#45
Would it be it be a good move getting one for myself rather than going for a 7970
Why don't you just give her your 6970 and buy yourself a 7970? Nothing is wasted and problem is solved.
 
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Indonesia
System Name Ephraim
Processor i5-3470
Motherboard Asus H61
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 8 GB Team DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX960 Tiger Edition
#46
Why don't you just give her your 6970 and buy yourself a 7970? Nothing is wasted and problem is solved.
the title is budget upgrade. :)
well 7970 is a bit cheaper now.but still it's not a budget card.

and it is indeed improvement from ddr2 to ddr3, tho you may won't notice it.
650ti is indeed great. but 7870 or even 7850 is enough for her display reso.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#47
I had thought on getting a 7970 for myself but it's a bit to expensive plus my 6970 is enough for me.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#48
my daughter is running Win 7 ultimate 32bit, I have Win 7 premium 64bit can I buy another serial so I can install it on her new system when I put it together if so where can I get it.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#49
Yes.

Microsoft.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#50
I had thought on getting a 7970 for myself but it's a bit to expensive plus my 6970 is enough for me.
Like I said, The best bang for your buck is actually getting an upgrade for yourself and give her your 6970. You are buying 1 card but upgrading 2 systems. A 7950 is much cheaper and can easily perform the same as the 7970. The extra shaders made little to no difference in performance.

Or if your budget is a fixed amount rather than amount per system then you should just get her a 7850 1 GB. It will play any game on high except metro and crysis 3. If you look at the reviews, by the time the card needs more than 1 GB, it is already unplayable. The gpu will bottleneck before the memory in almost all cases. If you plan to go above 1080p or duels/triples then get the 2GB.