• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Budget upgrade

Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,528 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#51
Let's disect this for a second:

  • In terms of raw power, the x2 has the edge over a single 7850 in theory but,it's not that clear cut.
  • The x2 won't do DX11
  • It won't do well at 1080p> as it only has a 1GB frame buffer
  • It uses twice the power of the 7850
  • It's not as good in modern games
  • It's more liable to die on you due to it being 4 year old tech as opposed to being <2years
  • It will be noisy
  • It will likely have crossfire issues, some games will only utlilise 1GPU etc etc
  • The list goes on.

In short the 7850 is a much better all round choice, will it give you better frames on Crysis3 than a x2? maybe or maybe not, either lower the settings, the res or shell out for a better card if you are debating either card.
I would have to disagree. I went from a 4870/4850 CF setup to a 5870 and I have to say both setups perform about the same in ideal conditions for both.
1GB frame buffer should be okay for 1080p, albeit only just.
Power usage on the 4000 series cards is horrendous, yes, and inherently have a noisy fan because of it.
Crossfire issues aren't guaranteed.

I ran it on a dual core athlon X2, 4850, 4GB DDR2. Everything low/medium/low settings about 25FPS @ 1440x900. Still looked beautiful. It took many upgrades to break ultra settings until I upgraded to the Athlon II X4 and crossfired my 4850 (didnt have my 5850 at the time) by then Crysis 1 was old news.
Similar thing for me. Phenom II X2, single 4850, low settings, ran in the 20-30 FPS range for me. Don't remember what resolution the monitor was, maybe 1680x1050?

Getting one of what? Dont you already have a 6970 and the choice was between another or a single more powerful card?
For the daughter's computer.

Like I said, The best bang for your buck is actually getting an upgrade for yourself and give her your 6970. You are buying 1 card but upgrading 2 systems. A 7950 is much cheaper and can easily perform the same as the 7970. The extra shaders made little to no difference in performance.

Or if your budget is a fixed amount rather than amount per system then you should just get her a 7850 1 GB. It will play any game on high except metro and crysis 3. If you look at the reviews, by the time the card needs more than 1 GB, it is already unplayable. The gpu will bottleneck before the memory in almost all cases. If you plan to go above 1080p or duels/triples then get the 2GB.
I don't think "bang for your buck" is how I'd describe a 7950 when used cards are an option. If she doesn't mind medium settings, I'd try that 6970 (which is roughly the same performance as a 5870) or a 5870. Those cards still cost a bit (~$150-200 USD), but their HD XX50 counterparts would save you a couple shillings with a minimal hit in performance.

The HD 4000 series cards are mostly useless considering their lack of DirectX 10 support. I loved mine, but 200-300 watts per card and lack of DX10/OpenCL pushed me to upgrade.

Why don't you just give her your 6970 and buy yourself a 7970? Nothing is wasted and problem is solved.
I had thought on getting a 7970 for myself but it's a bit to expensive plus my 6970 is enough for me.
No one said it was a wise option, but it is the most awesome option. :laugh:
I actually would like to +1 this, though. The hand-me-down upgrade model isn't a particularly bad one.


Edit: I just realized I was disagreeing with a moderator about the 6970 vs 7950 debate, but I think I'll hold my ground. Mindweaver, perhaps you're thinking of the 7850? The 7950 is $300 on a good day whereas the 6970 seems to go for $200-ish.
Also, the 5870 and 5970 are within striking distance of each other, but the 6970 is generally priced quite a bit higher.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#52
Do you know microsoft has any partnership with schools in UK ? They have/had some programs called '' academic '' or similiar and you could get microsoft software from your school/college free/very cheap for students/teachers iirc

my daughter is running Win 7 ultimate 32bit, I have Win 7 premium 64bit can I buy another serial so I can install it on her new system when I put it together if so where can I get it.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
928 (0.24/day)
Likes
124
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K Unlocked Coffee Lake OEM CPU/Processor
Motherboard ASUS ROG Intel Z370 MAXIMUS X HERO Coffee Lake ATX Motherboard
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz Memory
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#53
Hi as I cannot afford a new card for myself my daughter is going to stick with the 4870 x 2 until she can save up for a better card thanks for all the help and advice, one last thing I noticed on the mobo I am giving her that it has •Integrated ATI Radeon HD 4290 graphics (DirectX10.1)

ATI Hybrid Graphics is a technology umbrella brand encompassing several technologies, such as ATI Hybrid CrossFireX™, ATI SurroundView™, ATI PowerPlay™, etc. that allow both an AMD integrated graphics processor and a discrete graphics processor to work co-operatively on an AMD based system to provide enhanced gaming performance, productivity and platform efficiency to the mainstream PC.

can this be tied into the 4870x2.
 

Geekoid

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
24
Location
UK
#54
As has already been mentioned, that 32-bit Windows 7 will really hold you back. 32-Bit Windows 7 can only access a maximum of 4 GB (you'll see around 3.25 GB in real terms with minimum hardware). So you'll be very limited indeed memory wise if you get a graphics card that has 1 or 2 GB on it! Also, if your existing Windows licence is an OEM one, then you can't transfer it to a new motherboard. Windows 7 OEM licences live and die on the motherboard they came with. Thankfully they've changed this with Windows 8 Personal System Builder, allowing you to do things like change the motherboard. If you're going to be changing things like this often, I'd suggest Windows 8 64-bit thanks to the "personal use" allowance.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,499 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,035
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#55
Hi my daughter has just realised she cannot play Crysis 3, with the rest of the system she has what graphics card can she upgrade to so she can play it; budget very minimum and also an AMD card.

NZXT Lexa
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P (rev 1.0) mobo
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Deneb Core, S AM3, 3.4GHz
4gb ddr2 6400 800mhz ram
XFX HD 4870 X2, PCI-E 2.0, 3600MHz GDDR5, GPU
Seagate Baracuda 500gb, 32mb cache
Corsair 650 PSU
Liteon DVD Writer
Windows 7 32bit
Is it that Crysis 3 is only a DX11 game? because that set up I would think should run it ok ish with some settings turned down?

I ran Crysis 2 maxed out on my old system with a Stock Phenom II 965 and quadfire 4870X2 and would get up to 110FPS in that game, and i only had 4GB of RAM at that time.

Either its realy bad driver support for the card, or your hitting the RAM limit? something doesnt seem right to me.

Ignore that. Those specifications wouldn't even run Crysis 1 let alone 3.

Game developers make money from selling games. They quote under spec'd requirements to get noobs to buy the game. That is the requirements to get the game to "load" and for the opening cinematics to run. At best a choppy experience at low settings and resolution.
I ran Crysis 1 on a FX-57, 2GB of RAM, Windows XP and a 3850 at max medium settings at 20-30FPS. 1280*1024
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
928 (0.24/day)
Likes
124
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K Unlocked Coffee Lake OEM CPU/Processor
Motherboard ASUS ROG Intel Z370 MAXIMUS X HERO Coffee Lake ATX Motherboard
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz Memory
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#56
Hi she knows that she can't play directX 11 games until she can upgrade Windows and graphics card,all I want to know is can I tie in the onboard graphics to the 4870x2 just to give it a boost in directtX 10.1 games.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,499 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,035
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#57
She can still play DX11 games with that card they just wont run in DX11 they will run in dx10 or 9.

And no you cant do that sorry.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#58
A Phenom II X4 955 with NB overclocked to 2600 MHz(hits easily) or more and equipped with DDR3 will never bottleneck a 7850 or even a 7870 much.
So if you are concerned about budget, get a good DDR3 AM3+ mobo(AM3+ for the future) and atleast 4GB RAM(preferably dual channel) and hook a 7850 with it and you are good enough. :)