1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Build for a Buddy, 300$ !?!? Help

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Gjohnst4, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,292 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Here's playing on a 19' monitor. 256mb will be plenty and maybe in the future he could use the 8800gt as a physx card. I'd go with the 8800gt and save some money on the mobo.
     
  2. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Hmm + 1 on savong money on a non crossfire board
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,998 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    vermont
    be careful ordering open box m8, I have ordered 3 open box items and all three came dead, 2 came with physical defects on the parts, when I asked newegg how they can sell an item with a defec like that ( i mean brun marks on the mosfets missing caps etc) they straight up stated they DO NOT check or test open box items they simply restock and relist them. whats the point in ordering a whole system and taking a chance with a board that may or may not work, thus having to wait even longer if it doesnt.
     
  4. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    281
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    If you live anywhere near a Microcenter, they are now offering a free 785G motherboard with the purchase of X2 250 and X4 630, priced at $65 and $90, respectively. You really can't even come close to beating that, even open box deals.
     
  5. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    How about this
    AMD AII x2 250
    MSI 785gm p-35
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500gb
    Nvidia 9800
    BFG tech 450w
    dvd burner
    4gb ddr3 1333

    For $335

    Microcenter
    has really good deals going on right now
    You can get a AII 250 and an 785 AM3 board for $63 (mobo is free) an F3 spinpoint for $45
    a 9800 for $67 4gb OCZ 1333 for $89
    BFG PSU for $40 DVD burner for $20
    and there is a microcenter near you
    http://www.microcenter.com/specials/promotions/0727_AMDbundle.html

    and you would also get $30 in MIR
     
  6. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,292 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN

    In those charts it shows F.E.A.R. as a benchmark. I am playing that now. I've been wanting to play it forever, but living in Taiwan makes it hard to get English games sometimes. What a great game. Any game that gives me goosebumps I love!

    Gjohnst4, your buddies system is turning out to be not so bad...:toast:
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I'm running a AII x4 635 and a MSI 785 I got from Microcenter yesterday...Can't beat it for $120
     
  8. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    For $300 you can build a PC but it will be a low-end PC so better sell the 2600XTs and save a little more and go for a $400 buck rig like this :D :-

    [​IMG]
    Total cost : $410

    You can always go for 2nd hand used parts or open box parts because your friend won't be satisfied with his build after spending $300 and not being able to play StarCraft II :p
     
  9. Gjohnst4

    Gjohnst4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    223 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Batavia IL
    Great review,thanks for the link. The 256mb scares me but I guess it matters what screen size and resolution he ends up at. I will probably end up testing both with fraps and see where it goes, but for now the 8800gt seems the clear choice. Im sure drivers will also make a difference
     
  10. Gjohnst4

    Gjohnst4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    223 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Batavia IL
    The micro center build isnt bad!
     
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    The memory shouldnt scare you, remember a computer has an infinite amount of memory (almost), when the video memory is depleted it will borrow from the main memory (RAM) and once the ram is running low it can borrow virtual memory from the hard disk drive.

    However with the X1600XT the GPU is just too slow, sure it has 512MBs but what good is the memory is the GPU is not strong enough to render the scenes to begin with.
     
  12. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Beleave me 2x2600xt can use 512mb no problem, I remember looking at reviews before i bot the 2600xt, the 512mb version did much better then the 256mb version. I also had a 3850 256mb and the x2600xt 512 was on par with the HD 3850 256mb in crysis.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    You could probably get a lot more bang for the buck if you put up a WTB thread for all of the parts that you need.
     
    mjkmike says thanks.
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,669 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    04578
    get a sempron 140 single core and unlock it to a dualcore to hold him over there around $30 if u can snag oem versions with a 770 or 785g board and 4 gigs generic DDR3 1066 is more then enough

    AMD Sempron 140 Sargas 2.7GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket ...

    BIOSTAR TA785G3 AM3 AMD 785G Micro ATX AMD Motherb...

    G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333...

    sempron 140 + 785g above + 4 gigs g skill = $180

    CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Cert...

    add in a corsair 450w psu = 230 after rebate

    Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Com...

    rosewill challenger case for $40 = $270

    add the rest yourself :toast: hope that helps he can always add a better CPU used from off of tpu later on :toast: same with gpu
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
  15. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Part quality isn't bad on this, nice psu. $330 after shipping, rebate, and this code EMCYVNV26. Bump that cpu to 3.2 pretty easily and you'll do a lot better in games than with amd.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    $300 is asking too much I mean it can be done but the computer wont be good. Maybe for surfing the net but gaming thats tough. This is what I came up with.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    ^
    DDR3 and a DDR2 Board...
     
  18. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Frankly, if someone comes at me with a $300 budget, I tell them to either go buy something used or save up until they can afford to be serious about buying a computer.

    Scraping away at the bottom of the barrel gets you ... well, bottom-of-the-barrel stuff.

    My experience has been that investing in a better system than you can get for $300 provides greater bang for the buck in the long run. I frequently hear from customers that they regret purchasing cheap computers in the past and that's why they've come to me.
     
    drdaver, coljarcker and zithe say thanks.
  19. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Back before ram prices went to shit this used to be my specialty. You'd be surprised at how decent the cheap parts can be. I could get a 3+ GHz intel plus 9600 GSO rig for $300-$330 easy in a nice looking case. Price varied day to day from combos, codes, and rebates. I worked that shit good. Can't do it now not just cause of the prices but because everyone insists on more than 2 GBs of ram even though they don't need it. People got spoiled by these 4 GB ram laptops from when ram was dirt cheap. Now it has to be 4 GB for everyone so it's 4x the price.
     
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I still think I got the nicest build for the price on this page...
    But then again I am perfect LuLzzz.
     
  21. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    499 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    [​IMG]

    Lots of comments already on the topic already, but buying a mobo and PSU that can actually handle CF is a waste of money just to be future proof. There's really no such thing as future proof, take the best deal you can at the time of purchase. I'd just use a single 2600, the 8800 you mentioned or get a used 4770 off eBay. I sold my 4770 for around $50 a few months ago and that would be a great card for a casual gamer, more than capable of running SC2 with decent quality with the Athlon II X3.
     
  22. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    The reason behind that was it has Onboard Video Chipset: ATI Radeon HD 4200 :D Not the best but would do pretty good in most games and can be overclocked.
     
  23. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,157 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
  24. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    I think up to 4GB is needed these days, maybe not the entire 4 GB but atleast 3 GBs of ram. In Vista or Windows 7 launch a new or intensive game at high detaill and resolution like Battlefield BC2, GTA IV etc and monitor the memory usage over a 30min period and you'd see more than 2 GBs of ram is being utilised.


    Not a good move, the HD 4200 is piss poor and it will struggle to play games even at low resolution and detail. Unless Valve games are being played I wouldnt go this route, Starcraft 2 is out of the question with it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
  25. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    For under $300 he wont be able to run the better games I could have made one under 300 but it would be crap. I don't think he is expecting too much for 300 bucks not sure though.

    StarCraft 2
    PC Minimum System Requirements*:

    Windows® XP/Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 (Updated with the latest Service Packs) with DirectX® 9.0c
    2.6 GHz Pentium® IV or equivalent AMD Athlon® processor
    128 MB PCIe NVIDIA® GeForce® 6600 GT or ATI Radeon® 9800 PRO video card or better
    12 GB available HD space
    1 GB RAM (1.5 GB required for Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 users)
    DVD-ROM drive
    Broadband Internet connection
    1024X720 minimum display resolution

    PC Recommended Specifications:

    Windows Vista®/Windows® 7
    Dual Core 2.4Ghz Processor
    2 GB RAM
    512 MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8800 GTX or ATI Radeon® HD 3870 or better
    *Note: Due to potential programming changes, the Minimum System Requirements for this game may change over time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)