1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building First SLI System, Need Advice

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by OrbitzXT, May 10, 2007.

1. OrbitzXT

OrbitzXT New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi everyone, I just wanted to say thanks in advance for the advice I'll get, this site has helped me make some great purchases and saved me trouble buying something I shouldn't. Anyway in another thread I finally figured out what video cards I wanted to go with. I've never built an SLI system before but am very excited. I decided to buy two of these Foxconn 8800 GTS 640MB, they seem like a great value for the money.

As for motherboards most of my experience is with Gigabyte, I've had nothing but highquality products over the years, the system I'm using now is a DS3. But I think, unless someone here suggests otherwise, that I'll be going with "EVGA 122-CK-NF67-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i LT SLI ATX Intel Motherboard" From what I've read it can overclock extremely well, which I need because I'll likely be buying the E6420 and overclocking to 400MHz FSB, for 3.2GHz.

I have a question about RAM though, on NewEgg, the motherboard says the memory stand is 800MHz, could I use this though? "CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail" I'd like to have faster RAM to OC even more, I've heard the motherboard I picked out can hit 500FSB, so I don't want to spend money on PC2-6400 RAM and limit my OC'ing ability.

Lastly, will any PCI slots be available with 2 GTS's plugged in? I was hoping I'd have at least one for a sound card. As for power supplies I'm going with "OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply" assuming this is powerful enough to handle 2 GTS's? I'm using it in my system now and like the product, so if it can handle it I'd like to use it again.

10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Wile E

Wile E Power User